We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Frankies 457 Spuntino

Unclaimed
Save
Share
MICHELIN 2020
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$21 - US$30
CUISINES
Italian

Location and contact

Carroll Gardens
2.2 km from Brooklyn Heights Promenade
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Frank Castronovo and Frank Falcinelli (collectively known as the Franks) have built a small empire for themselves based on delicious, seasonal Italian ...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
Bib Gourmand: good quality, good value cooking
Simple restaurant
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
123
61
15
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
123
61
15
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch gnocchi salad chocolate tart blt pork antipasti bread clams celery root a busy saturday night carroll gardens nyc
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 10, 2020 via mobile

What a great find. Wanted to get out of Manhattan for the day. Came across this gem in Brooklyn. Food was sublime. Staff so good. Helping with suggestions, not just about food choices but what to do in the area. Unfortunately the courtyard was booked...out, as it was a beautiful spring day and would have been lovely to sit there and enjoy such delicious offerings. But no wonder. So happy we had the opportunity to experience the generosity of Frankies 457.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

Frankie’s 457 offers a delightful lunch and dinner at not-crazy prices. The BLT at lunch is perfect. The celery root salad is the best. No pizza here but other wonderful pasta dishes. Service is courteous. The setting is plain, not fancy. Dress in jeans. Come...for the food.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 18, 2019

I had high expectations for our dinner at Frankie's. There are some definite highs and lows. Highs: --The meatball appetizer is a treat. The meatball recipe includes raisins and pine nuts. Not typically made this way. The appetizer includes three nice size meatballs- enough to...share. Very good. --The squash, grape, and nut salad is unusual and is delicious. I tried it almost as a lark because it was so different. I really liked it. The flavors go surprisingly well together. --Kudos for there being so many housemade pastas. Housemade pasta is always a treat. Low --The prices for single glasses of wine is ridiculously high. Mid-high teens. That is probably more than the restuarnt paid for the bottle. --Choose your housemade pasta carefully. The spaghetti with clam sauce was very bland. Lots of pasta, few clams, and the sauce was nearly non-existent. The tagliatelli with pork sauce was fine, but nothing special. --The restaurant is very noisy. When we first arrived, we were offered a table underneath one of the sound system speaker. I asked for a table not underneath the speaker and we were moved to the other side of the townhouse sized room. Even with that, the music was very loud. We had to lean forward and raise our voices to have a conversation. We were staying in Manhattan and took the subway to go to Frankies Spuntino 457. I would not make the trip again. There are far better Italian restaurants all over NYC.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 17, 2019

We went to Frankies after reading a good review in the Michelin guide. The antipasti were served without any style, even when they were called Frank's antipasti. The prosciutto was ok, the champignons and the cauliflower were tasteless. We had then spaghetti with mussels and...gnocchi, both really tasteless. The mussels were probably not fresh, but canned food. The gnocchi was super soft, mushy, like baby food. I simply do not understand why this restaurant was so busy with this quality of the food.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 20, 2019 via mobile

Can be crowded so leave some wait time, but this is a reliable and tasty place in Carroll Gardens. Especially nice when the weather is good and you can sit outside.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed June 30, 2019

Altogether a very pleasant evening with good service, amiable atmosphere, excellent food, good table wine.

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

No waiting at Frankies anymore. With an expansion and reservations available on RESY, you too can enjoy the full menu (plus a wknd brunch menu) at Frankies. I must admit that I jumped at the chance to see what all the Frankies mystique was about...when they started accepting reservations and we went for brunch. With the regular menu plus a brunch menu available we 5 had a wonderful time, lots of food and a bill that was $36/person with tax and tip. Obviously the very reasonable prices contributed to the long waiting times for a table before expansion. Did it live up to its hype? For the most part, yes! The food is delish, the service is excellent and the new dining room is comfortable. I look forward to trying more pasta dishes etc. on future trips via RESY. Kudos to Frankies for serving a “healthier” eggplant parmigiana with no breading.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 28, 2019

Had dinner there with my daughter, it had been recommended by a friend of hers. and it was everything we expect in fine Italian restaurant. Extensive wine list, a great selection of fresh pasta dishes. We started with two different crostini then had the gnocchi...with marinara sauce and ricotta and chestnut pappardelle with mushrooms. Excellent choices and would purchase again. We also split the chocolate tart. Service was a little slow but it was a busy Saturday night so to be expected. We did have to ask for bread (had to sop up the good sauces) but servers were all friendly and gracious.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 7, 2019

We got a recommendation for this restaurant from a bartender we had met in a bar in Manhattan. Best pasta I have ever had! From the moment we walked in the smell of the food had us drooling. Such a lovely calm setting and the...staff were top notch! Melinda our server was so sweet and informative. My only regret was eating my pasta too fast (it was that good) I wish I had of savored it for a bit longer!! the dish I had was the tagatelli pork bolognaise (don’t think I spelled that right but you get the idea!) highly recommendMore

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 19, 2019

WE had my son's rehearsal dinner and Frankie's in September. Everything was PERFECT!!!!! Food was delicious and the service amazing!

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Gild Hall A Thompson Hotel
2,329 reviews
3.48 km away
Four Points by Sheraton New York Downtown
481 reviews
3.43 km away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn
188 reviews
3.46 km away
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
599 reviews
3.23 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Buttermilk Channel
268 reviews
.19 km away
Prime Meats
138 reviews
.03 km away
Le Petit Cafe
90 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Other Half Brewing Company
94 reviews
.40 km away
Carroll Gardens
125 reviews
.28 km away
Smith Street
88 reviews
.42 km away
Jalopy Theatre Company
12 reviews
.70 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
if661
May 15, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Beth I | Reviewed this property |
Casual - jeans and tee shirts are fine.
0
Votes
KBGS
June 29, 2016|
Answer
Response from pepperspal34 | Reviewed this property |
We were there for a wedding in June. There was some street parking, however, it was pretty limited. We took an Uber. It was so much easier than trying to navigate around the people, cars, construction, etc. It is a very... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing