We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hometown Bar-B-Que

Unclaimed
Save
Share
MICHELIN 2020
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Red Hook
2.9 km from Statue of Liberty
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

In this age of uncertainty who wouldn’t travel some distance for food that’s almost absurdly comforting? Here, in a converted warehouse in Red Hook, th...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
Bib Gourmand: good quality, good value cooking
Simple restaurant
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
149
68
21
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
149
68
21
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb belly cornbread spare ribs mac cheese sticky ribs collard greens pit beans queso pastrami spicy wings burnt ends smoked meat sandwiches red hook bbq place great brisket half pound
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed April 10, 2020

This is the America I love: original, not pretentious, and high-quality. The meat was astonishing, each type was cooked perfectly and each had a proper garnishment. Price are definitely affordable and the atmosphere is very friendly and located in one of the oldest part of...NY. I do eat meat rarely, and only if I find it reasonable: that dinner was definitely more-than-reasonable.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 11, 2020 via mobile

Overpriced bbq. Prices listed on line are all much higher when you arrive there. Nothing special average bbq establishment. None of the food was hot you were lucky if it was warm even the food that was brought to the table was just warm.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 4, 2020 via mobile

We arrived Sunday around 2pm and the queue was across 3 sides of the room. Good first impression, as people obviously like the food. We grabbed a table and a few beers whilst a friend queued. In fact he queued for over an hour. Just...one person serving main cuts and one serving sides. It’s been said on here a few times... it’s hard to know how much it’ll cost. We went for brisket, pork, 5 spare ribs, sausage and pit beans.. €115... we thought €100 max incl tip but we were well out. Add drinks (x 3 each because of the wait) and we were €260 all in... €50 a head is too much. But with queues that long and the tills ringing, I guess they don’t care. Lovely food, I must say that! NYC is overpriced but this topped it off.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 31, 2020 via mobile

Outstanding barbarque. Everything was good, we had the potato salad and beans which were outstanding. And then some of the BBQ and brisket, it was so nicely smoked I couldn't believe it. But it was a bit expensive think we paid $60 for two people...but that's how it goes in New York City. Then to Sunny's for NC Bluegrass! Felt right at home.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 20, 2020

We visited Hometown Bar-B-Que in January 2020 after a long and exhausting trip all the way from Australia. We don’t travel all that often, but I knew I couldn’t leave the States without making every effort to get to a best-of-the-best American barbecue joint. After...plenty of research (and the timely appearance of a video on Bon Appetit’s YouTube channel), one place stood out as the undefeated champion of smoky, meaty goodness in NY: Hometown Bar-B-Que. In the months leading up to our trip, this became one of the things I was most excited about - how good must it be for people to be singing its praises from every corner of the internet?! To reiterate: I wanted so, so badly to be blown away by this food. We shared a half-pound each of brisket and spare ribs, plus sides of queso mac & cheese (“cheese mac & cheese”?), and whiskey sour pickles. The menu price: US$40, or about AU$57. “Ok, seems steep, but we spent half the day getting here from the Upper West Side... So not the biggest deal in the world, right?” Here’s where things started to get surprising for us silly, naive foreigners: Every restaurant I’ve ever seen maintains a degree of estimation when it comes to units of weight associated with menu items. If you order a $25 400g steak, it’s not going to be a precise measurement, and that’s ok: one day, it might be 380g, and another it might be 430g. It’s still $25, though, which is, to many people, the most important thing. Being able to accurately estimate your financial ability to enjoy a nice meal with friends is a big deal, and it’s just as important for the people preparing the food to have confidence in their ability to “eyeball it”. At Hometown, though, you will pay for every tiny drop of fat that happens to land on the scale as your food is meticulously weighed in front of your face. By the time you know the “real” price of your food, it’s already been placed on your tray, so good luck backing out. The actual cost of our (shared) US$40 meal? US$57. That’s about 82 Australian dollars in January 2020, or more than we would have spent at a local barbecue restaurant if we’d ordered our own separate meals AND taken a few friends along. Not to mention: the guy cutting and weighing the meat was pretty rude and actually made fun of the customer in front of us for requesting the burnt ends of the brisket (come on, really?). As we sat down with our tray of food and began to mentally convert currencies, my heart started to sink a little - but not enough to get rid of my appetite. Surely, for this many people to be sitting around us, for us to have just spent almost a hundred dollars, the food must be incredible! The brisket was... Fine. As was the mac & cheese. Looking back, this was probably a bit of wishful thinking: I just don’t remember enjoying anything. I do remember picking bits of dry meat out of my teeth later that night, and I remember my heart sinking even more as I bit into a spare rib and realised it was nothing more than a thin layer of meat stretched to its limits over a hunk of gristle and bone. The pickles were passable enough for us to put a lid on the container and take back to our accommodation, only to relive our disappointment later that night and throw them away because of a sour taste in our mouths that had very little to do with the brine. We got Wendy’s on the way back, and it breaks my heart that I remember more about the taste of my burger than I do about a single bite I took at Hometown. I’m leaving this review for two reasons: To air my frustrations about a crushing disappointment in what was otherwise an incredible stay in NYC, and as a caution to any Australian visitors thinking of visiting Hometown. Is this worth $82? Maybe. Not to us, though. By all means, go and eat there - this is just one opinion, but unfortunately the logistics make it impossible for us to give them a second chance.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

This place was a lovely find. A very vibrant atmosphere and hubbub, the BBQ smells are wafting which is delicious and the portions are measured by weight. It worked out a bit expensive as we wanted to try a lot but there were only two...of us, but in a bigger group splitting the bill would be peachy.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 19, 2019

Atmosphere/layout: the smoker was parked outside; older building with original interior structure, lights strung up in ceiling, refurbished neon signs and arrows; one room has the counter where the food is served plus a bar and tables while a second room has a bar, tables...and a stage for live music Food: Ordered 1/2 lb of brisket (delicious), 1/4 lb of homemade sausage (distinct pepper flavor but also good), Texas queso mac 'n cheese (OK had tomato mixed in), and whiskey sour pickles (good) with a Miller High LifeMore

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 16, 2019

Everything served at Hometown BBQ is outstanding from the Mac n Cheese to the Lamb Belly. The restaurant is fairly large but it becomes more crowded as 5:00 p.m. approaches. There is a listing of food displayed prior to ordering at the counter. The food...is ordered by the quarter and half pound or any combination. The order is delivered to your table. We ordered the brisket, pastrami bacon, ribs, and the lamb belly as entrees. For sides we ordered collard greens and mac n cheese. Everything was outstanding but the lamb belly and pastrami were fantastic. The brisket is very tender and was cooked in a tasty sauce. The ribs were exceptionally large and meaty. The pastrami bacon had the right amount of fat to add to the outstanding taste. The lamb belly was outstanding. The collard greens were very good and the mac n cheese, as advertised, was superior. There is a large selection of draft beer. Being that I did not know which beer or ale would compliment these great tastes of the meats, I asked the bar tender to recommend a beer or ale. His choice was a great taste to compliment the meats. We thoroughly enjoyed the food, beer, and atmosphere. We highly recommend the restaurant if you enjoy BBQ.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 15, 2019 via mobile

Thought we would try this place,well we came we ate now cam say I’ve been here the service is great setting is great restaurant. It’s is better than most places I have been to but it’s a had to try it once it was good.... Head the Mac and cheese the menu states quest style but come on anyone can pour velveta cheese over noodles but like said it was good but not over the top or anything like that . It’s not dry I’ll give em that very moist but everything could have been warmer in temp not spice but we were there off peak timeMore

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 12, 2019

We were excited to eat here since we had heard it is the best bar-b-que in Brooklyn. WELL, it is NOT the best in Miami. We were a party of three and over ordered to try and taste everything. We had beef rib (expensive -...1 rib) , pork rib, chicken, brisket sandwich ,etc. Everything was just O.K. We won't be running back. Too bad, ambiance is excellent as well as the service.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
242 reviews
3.74 km away
Lyric at 70 Pine
864 reviews
3.57 km away
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
2,024 reviews
3.72 km away
Four Points by Sheraton New York Downtown
481 reviews
3.71 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ample Hills Creamery
7 reviews
.07 km away
Brooklyn Crab
280 reviews
.06 km away
Steve's Authentic Key Lime Pies
98 reviews
.35 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Widow Jane
9 reviews
.28 km away
Other Half Brewing Company
94 reviews
1.45 km away
Carroll Gardens
125 reviews
1.53 km away
Jalopy Theatre Company
12 reviews
1.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
USParkLover
July 12, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Laurie D | Reviewed this property |
We went on a weekday right when they opened and were 3rd in line. About 25 people behind us
1
Vote
Daniel S
November 12, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 394bw | Reviewed this property |
No idea, sorry
0
Votes
Jason S
June 8, 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Flyer582006 | Reviewed this property |
They accept cash and or cards.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing