We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$25 - US$40
CUISINES
Middle Eastern

Location and contact

Bayridge
1.9 km from New York Harbor
Improve this listing
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
92
32
7
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
92
32
7
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hummus brussel sprouts cakes middle eastern fare run of the mill new york dishes knafeh mezze mhammara flavoring manhattan avenue
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed July 30, 2020 via mobile

We had a reservation, came in early and we were seated. Waiter took our order and seemed in a rush. We were eating and the waiter was ready to remove our dishes before we were done. We weren’t lingering at all. He kept watching over...us and coming by to pulls plates. Needless to say we were uncomfortable. We ordered dessert and within 5-7 min of receiving our dessert our waiter was gawking at us and walking back and forth to the table. Honestly, I regretted leaving a 20% tip like I always do. Had it not been for that fact that I was meeting a new family member for the first time at this dinner, I would have spoken to the owner or manager about our service. I haven’t been back, not sure if I’m willing to go back soon either.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 21, 2020

We have been dining at Tanoreen for many years. Since before they moved across 3rd Avenue to her 'new' much more elegant surroundings. But it is not really the decor but the amazingly consistent world-class middle eastern fare that Rawia, a justifiably famous chef, and...her crew create every day. Yes, she has literally written the book! Or maybe two by now. But her offerings stay at such a consistently high level! We experienced this just this week when we picked up a wide variety of 'take-out'. We have had a mixed experience with other restaurants during the shut-down here in New York. Not Tanoreen! Everything was at their culinary best! The Mezze - unbelievable as always! The Cauliflower, Brussel Sprouts, Mhammara even the 'standard' Hummus and Baba were extraordinary. We drove from Manhattan to Bay Ridge to pick up our food. And will do it again very soon!More

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 2, 2020

The food is beyond amazing and what you expect from home cooking with the fam! The staff and owners are warm hearted and make your dining experience feel as if you are apart of their extended family! Making Tanoreen a continuous goto for us! Pictures...are over several visits in 2019!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 1, 2019

First time at this restaurant. Everyone was friendly and the food was delicious. Wanted to try everything on the menu. Had the Fatoush salad and the baked Mediterranean Eggplant. Both were very good with flavorings I had not experienced before. The cheese knafeh for dessert...was out of this world. Takes 15 minutes to prepare. In the scheme of things, not a long time and its well worth the wait.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 23, 2019

We dine here often and it never fails to live up to its reputation. The staff is attentive and the food is like eating homemade dishes. For those familiar with Middle Eastern restaurants, you will not only find the run of the mill staples that...you will find in any such restaurant, but lots of dishes that are unique to the chef and owner which are always worth trying. The knafeh for dessert is not to be missed.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 23, 2019

I have been to this restaurant several times and truly enjoy the meal and the experience every time I have dinner there. Excellent food and service!

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 14, 2019

This place has credentials, so we tried it, We'll be back, but unfortunately we had the brunch offerings. We wanted the maloukia with meat, but ended up with foul mudammus and the hummus with meat, both too citrusy for our tastes, but on the brunch...menu. The foul was not bad, just not enough to make a substantial meal. The hummus was excellent, creamy, but too sour (skin of chick peas removed but overly lemoned). Malloukia is just a green that most Egyptians eat, but has proven remarkably elusive, even in Egypt, at least to average restaurant goers. Brunch is not a good arbiter of a meal, so we will return to try other items on the menu.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

Truly one of the best restaurants in all of New York City, thanks to the culinary genius of the omnipresent chef, Madame Rawia. Delectable Middle Eastern/Palestinian flavors in perfectly cooked dishes. Can’t recommend a dish because they are all great! Go with friends and share...many appetizers and a few larger-than-life entrees.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 21, 2018

The cuisine at Tanoreen is unique in quality and quantity. Haven't been there in decades, so we went with a group for my daughter's birthday. She ordered a large number of different dishes which were an adventure in good dining. Flavors were not what you...would find in American or Italian restaurants. Flavors were unique and others sweet. I go for the sweet. Service was Good. Setting was comfortable. Prices were reasonable. We all enjoyed the cuisine and the company. If you are looking for a culinary adventure, Tanoreen would be a good choice.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed November 15, 2018

My friends and I were happily impressed with the décor, service and food at Tanoreen. We will go back soon!

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
1,164 reviews
8.40 km away
The Wall Street Inn
633 reviews
8.35 km away
The Brooklyn
393 reviews
8.39 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
3,136 reviews
8.23 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Vesuvio Restaurant & Pizzeria
74 reviews
.20 km away
Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant
49 reviews
.18 km away
Salty Dog Restaurant
45 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Fort Hamilton
18 reviews
.87 km away
The Family Store
14 reviews
.54 km away
Bay Ridge Alpine Cinemas
18 reviews
.68 km away
The League of Kitchens
128 reviews
.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tanoreen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing