We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Location and contact

Carroll Gardens
2.2 km from Brooklyn Heights Promenade
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Named "ugly" to avoid tempting fate, this Thai baby is in fact bright and cheery. Warm smiles and a convivial vibe dominate the room, decked out with c...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
Bib Gourmand: good quality, good value cooking
Simple restaurant
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
8
8
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
8
8
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pad thai great neighborhood spicy hip dishes
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

If you’re in the mood for spicy Thai food, this is definitely the place. We love their Larb Ped, Grilled Beef and their extensive wine list. The ambience is very casual and fun.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

This is a loud small hip casual restaurant serving absolutely amazing Thai, and my wife was a peace corps volunteer there. The dishes were creative interpretations of various regional dishes and the flavors were just amazing. Also they had good Rieslings which always go with...Thai and Indian. Have fun!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 14, 2019

Amazing flavorful food and accommodating wait staff. Explained all of the dishes and ingredients used as well as provided great recommendations and dish combinations.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 2, 2019 via mobile

Spicy aficionados will love it. Heat intolerant will like it. The tastes are like nothing you'll find at any local pad thai place. Worth the sweat beads.

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed March 25, 2019

Wonderful dishes. If you are not keen on spicy, this may not be the place for you! There are a few dishes that are low on the spice level, but be sure to ask!

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 7, 2019 via mobile

Ugly Baby 28 December There is nothing ugly about this Thai restaurant in Carroll Gardens. They don’t take reservations but we managed to get in after “just” an hour wait: luckily there is a coffee-shop turning wine bar after dusk, conveniently located next-door where you...can merrily kill time. The service can be snappy, but in an efficient way, and the server walking you through the delicious menu is very cheerful and gives good advice that you better abide to. This is a place where they mean business when they say something is spicy, so better to err on the side of caution. We got the“mildly” spicy squid and shrimps (Khoong Muk), which was to die for, along with the signature dish, the Khao Sou Nuer, a noodle soup with beef and the Tue Ka Ko, little coconut milk cakes. Everything tasted great and the spices lingered on my tastebuds for days forging pleasurable memories. Definitely Some of the best and most original Thai dishes I have eaten in New York!More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 23, 2018

We arrived around 7pm on a Tuesday night, and grabbed the last available table for two; we had to share a six person table with another party. Seating here is extremely cramped. If you are annoyed by extreme proximity to strangers, this is not the...restaurant for you. The decor is brightly painted swirls on the wall, an open kitchen, and people cramped as much as the space holds. Expect to wait to be seated if arriving later than 7pm. The menu is a list of about twenty dishes, written on a sheet of paper, with limited explanation of ingredients. Servers are eager to explain dishes but all servers here are Thai and some have thick accents that can be difficult to understand. The variety of dishes here will satisfy most tastes. The service is prompt and water glasses are refilled frequently, and attentively, which is a must as most dishes are very spicy. We ordered the spicy curry egg noodles which came with served with pork rinds which were light and crispy and chunks of savory meat and pickled chunks of vegetables. This dish was hot and served with extra chili paste on the side, which we found unnecessary. We ordered the turmeric sea bream, which was served as a whole fish and covered by crunchy, tasty bits, resembling bread crumbs. The fish was tasty but a tad dry and perfect for two people to share. Lastly, we also ordered the sweet little coconut cakes which resembled a more tasty version of dense nutty muffins, served with Thai sweet chili sauces and covered in cilantro. The coconut cakes were simply delicious. Unfortunately, it's not possible to request the order of the dishes ordered. We had wanted our cakes served as appetizers and the fish and noodles served together as entrees. We were served the noodles first, followed by the fish and then the coconut cakes. The haphazard service of dishes didn't ruin the meal but it certainly didn't enhance it. All in all, the quality of food here is great, and the price tag of $70 for two for dinner, including tax and tip is decent. But service could improve and dishes should be served in an order that customers want, not as the kitchen wills it.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed October 20, 2018

Had a meal here recently. Small venue not well signposted on Smith St. Once you get there however the food is excellent. Beware most dishes are hot. One you know your hot limits you will enjoy. Will definitely go Back.

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Being Thai who also love to cook and taught cooking classes for a period of time in the early 2000’s because the lacklustered and uninspired dishes being offered on the menus of the many pedestrian Thai restaurants in NY; having Ugly Baby opened around the...corner from my home is exciting. The dises on its menu are made to the specifications of the recipes not modified to appeal to the sweet tooth of the diners who aren’t familiar with the balanced of the 5-flavors of theThai cuisine. Ugly Baby is unapologetically real and those who come to dine here aren’t expect to order Pad Thai. But go ahead and explore - be bold and your palette will thank-you. Enjoy!More

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 16, 2018

Just happened to be Brooklyn with no dinner plans. Earlier in the week, I had heard that this restaurant had been rated very highly. So, I convinced others to accompany me there on a week night. Unfortunately, many of the items advertised on line were...not available. Further, most items were extremely spicey. We had two school age young people with us who were totally turned off by the spiceness of the food. I was disappointed that none of the chicken items were available. Having traveled far and wide, I can take the heat but young people are sensitive. There was no alternative or antidote such as ice cream or a milky dish. However, the whole fish which I ordered to go proved to be a winner. It was advertised as a meal but was not accompanied by rice or anything. Warning, this is a very small restaurant and they do not accept reservations.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Four Points by Sheraton New York Downtown
481 reviews
3.39 km away
Kings Hotel
132 reviews
3.48 km away
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
599 reviews
3.19 km away
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
3 reviews
3.36 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Frankies 457 Spuntino
223 reviews
.18 km away
Prime Meats
138 reviews
.21 km away
Avlee Greek Kitchen
54 reviews
.23 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Other Half Brewing Company
94 reviews
.54 km away
Carroll Gardens
125 reviews
.32 km away
Smith Street
88 reviews
.27 km away
The Bell House
15 reviews
.61 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
272linda
November 28, 2017|
Answer
Response from Martin E | Reviewed this property |
Hi, thanks for the query. I don’t know if they take reservations, but they pick up the phone when I rang them... so I suggest you give them a call
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing