We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Emmy Squared

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: This restaurant is only available for takeaway or delivery at this time.
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Mentioned in

Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
20
11
4
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
20
11
4
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger fries sandwiches detroit style pizza new york okonomi williamsburg sauce cheese toppings
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

At Emmy Square, at Grand Street, Brooklyn, we find ourselves sitting outside in the first coolish air of the season. Our last time here, pre-pre Corona 19’s appearance, we noshed on the delicious varieties of pizza and roasted cauliflower, both tantalizing, as we do again...this September evening. This time, though, we respite at comfortable tables, sans patio umbrellas, with an open view every direction. Remember, we’re in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, so few buildings obscure our vision. What do we see? Of course, route 278, also known as the BQE, passes nearby but it’s far enough away not to bring noise and skinny enough not to block our curious meandering gazes. Given perhaps subsiding fear of Mr./Ms. Corona 19 lots of personas move past, the majority in couple format. Their masks on, we rarely see faces—or the full faces that is. We do, however, see the upbeat fashion, though, keen fluttering dresses and both close cut and looser fit slacks for women, more subdued fashion for the men. Each minute sees hasty passers by, so hasty and confident as to suggest they either live here or visit here frequently enough to know where they will or need to go. As the sun descends, it is 6:30 now and sunset is 7:30, the whirring passers by diminish only a bit. We nosh on, stop at three pizza pieces each, share our early evening thoughts, much further away from anyone than a mere six feet. Our lean, friendly waitress sincerely wanted us to have a safe, delicious visit. So do visit to experience the fashion show, the nearby water flow, the friendly Brooklyn crowd, and to deny Thomas Wolfe his contention. No, Asheville Tommy, not only the dead know Brooklyn. No! And, yes, one can go to Emmy Squared and enjoy it again and again. Do so.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed the pizza but the prices are ridiculous. I’m a big fan of Detroit style pizza and the pizza was good but I cannot justify going back because the prices were just too high. Ordered some appetizers and sandwiches too and they were good...quality but again very expensive.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 8, 2020 via mobile

This was the first time at this location. I’ve only been to Emily’s in West Village and I love that place. This place was good although pricey and not as good as Emily’s. Service is forgettable. Drinks were not that good. We started with Okonomi...Fries. They were delish but very salty. For pizza, we had the Colony and the Quinn. Both were good. Still I would go to Emily’s vs Emmy Squared. As far as differences between the two I believe Emily’s menu is more expansive, with more pizza options. The service is more friendly at Emily’s also.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 27, 2020

I love this Detroit style pizza! It has the supper crispy crust without being as heavy as regular Detroit pizza. The topping combine to make a perfect pizza. I had Calabrian chili peppers with sausage and it was amazing!

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 11, 2019

I read good reviews about this place, so decided to give it a shot. I got here at around 6:15 PM, and I had to wait about 8 minutes to be seated as there was no host and 2 people were in front of me,...and a 4th one arrived after me too. I saw half of the tables empty but they said they were reserved, so I could only sit on the bar. They kept pushing people to the bar, and I had people sitting literally 5 inches from me. They took more time to approach me, and when they finally did, it was a lady with glasses. I politely asked this lady if I could order my food as it had taken time to get seated, she said OK and took my order. I wait and wait, and then noticed that people that arrived 10 minutes after me were getting their food, so I politely approached the same lady and asked "excuse me, is there a problem with my order?". Those were my literal words. This lady replied to me why I was asking. I explained I noticed people that arrived after me received their order already and I was still waiting. This seemed to infuriate this lady, and I am not sure why. Is it a sin to ask? It has happened to me many times that orders get mixed, forgotten, lost, you name it. Also, it is reasonable to ask when you see people that arrived after you getting their food, right? Well, this lady, notably upset, asked me "have you seen any burgers come out? no, right? other food is ready faster, that is why you see other food come out". So then I wondered, you are getting pizzas, pastas, lasagnas or similar plates, all coming out from orders after mine... and a medium burger takes longer than all those dishes? really? And if that is the case, do you need to get so upset, lady? Really??? Well, this ruined my experience. I am one of those people that go for food for the full experience, especially if I am visiting abroad. I didn't want to argue with this lady, so I just said OK and ignored her rant. When the food arrived at 720, the burger was average. I immediately asked for the check, ate 3 quarters of the burger, left all the fries, and walked away to another restaurant. Sorry lady, but I had to write NO TIP on the tip section. Just so you know, I gave double tip to the waitress of the next restaurant, who, by the way, was polite and treated people with dignity.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed June 26, 2019

I have been here several times and try to visit here whenever I go to New York, the food is great here(Burger is stuff of legends), but ever time I have gone here the staff give attitude when you don't have a reservation. Even when...the restaurant is empty... I recommend heading to the East Village emmy squared instead.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?2  
Reviewed March 31, 2019

The place was light and airy . The was decorated very nicely.The service was very god and very quick. The round pizza was done perfectly. The sause was sweet and cheese was freshly made

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 15, 2019 via mobile

Worth the trip to Williamsburg. Tried their Margarita And Penne/Vodka Detroit style pies. Both were Excellent, crust is similar to “Spumoni Gardens Square Pie”. Lighting is a little on the dark side, but the pizza And service were good!!

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 15, 2019

The pizza is unusual here; unlike any other. Crispy and tasty, and if considered as an individual pie, you'll be full when you leave.

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed January 8, 2019

Went with a group of friends recently. The apps we had were great: broccoli salad (amazing dressing), cheddar curds, & okonomi fries. As for the pizza, the chilies on the Roni Supreme made it too hot. Maybe you can get without? Otherwise, I would never...get again. A shame because the pepperoni and crust were excellent. Also tried the Hula Hog which was pretty good. The service was very good as was the setting. Will go back to try some other options on the menu.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
1,646 reviews
3.49 km away
The Nolitan Hotel
1,072 reviews
3.47 km away
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
1,617 reviews
3.40 km away
U.S. Pacific Hotel
82 reviews
3.42 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Caracas Arepa Bar
68 reviews
.19 km away
Zizi Limona
61 reviews
.13 km away
The Four Horsemen
41 reviews
.18 km away
Bozu
79 reviews
.19 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The City Reliquary
46 reviews
.21 km away
St. Mazie
25 reviews
.03 km away
Spuyten Duyvil
12 reviews
.23 km away
Rocka Rolla
9 reviews
.30 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Emmy Squared staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing