We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$20 - US$25
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
131
65
21
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
131
65
21
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters lobster roll corn fritters chowder fresh seafood tacos french fries oyster happy hour mermaid inn love love love this place bloody mary east village new york an appetizer nyc entrees city
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed February 10, 2020 via mobile

Definitely a dependable Happy Hour meal. Pleased as always with an outstanding value. Good selection of items.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 1, 2020 via mobile

My husband and I ate at the Mermaid Oyster Bar on a Saturday night in January. We had made reservations in advance and were seated at a nice table in the back of the restaurant which was really nice as the front room was the...bar area and noisy. They had a decent beer selection and the diners around us were enjoying wine and cocktails. We definitely wanted oysters and we were in time to get in on the happy hour oyster special which is half-price. We were unsure how many to order as an appetizer and asked our server how many we should order for an appetizer for two people and was disappointed when she shrugged and said she didn’t know, she we ordered 6 and ended up placing a second order for 6 more. Seems like this would be something that a server in an oyster bar should be able to guide customers on. Anyway, the oysters were very good, really fresh and probably could have eaten more but I wanted a main dish as well. The Mermaid Oyster Bar is known for its lobster roll which is what I chose for my main. Really good, lots of large chunks of lobster on a really nice roll. By this time I was really full so no dessert for me tonight. I would definitely return here especially for the oysters.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 22, 2020 via mobile

I travel for business and stay in the area at least once a month. Each time I stop by Mermaid Oyster Bar. Their staff is remarkably accommodating and friendly and their food is simply amazing! I'd recommend this spot to anyone who loves seafood. And...if your cost concious, be sure to get there for Happy Hour or go on Monday (Happy Hour All Day) for sending great deals on food and alcoholic beverages.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

Love love love this place. The food is amazing, especially the chowder, lobster roll, and scallops. Oh, and I can’t forget the delicious oysters! The service is exceptional and this is become one of our favorite regular dining experiences whenever we go to New York.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed December 27, 2019 via mobile

The service was great. And the food was also great. Great ambiance. Definitely get the oysters. We got plenty of side dishes as well to go with the oysters. Enjoy!

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 26, 2019

This is a cute little restaurant. The service is excellant, however there are not a lot of choices. There were only two kinds of oysters available when we ate there. They only serve beer and wine. We had the scallops and the mussels and they...were excellant. I wanted a array of oyster choices with a martini and that is not available here.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 22, 2019

I had the pleasure of eating at Mermaid Oyster Bar recently, and it was delicious. The spot is perfect for couples or groups no larger than four. I ate solo and had an excellent meal. For my meal, I had happy hour raw oysters, tuna...tartar tacos, a mug of clam chowder, and seared calamari. The oysters were exceedingly fresh and perfectly briny. The tuna tacos were tasty with a slick kick that added some good flavor. The clam chowder was warm, filling, and comforting on the rainy night I went. And finally the squid was paired with mushrooms and other savory bits that made the dish delightful to eat. To top it all off, the service was splendid. I'll definitely be back in the future, especially for the happy hour oysters.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 15, 2019 via mobile

Greenwich Hot Spot We travelled to New York City for a quick 60-hour trip and only had time for two dinners. In a city known for its wonderful cuisine from great pizza to fine dining (and everything in between), we knew narrowing it down to...just two places would be ridiculously hard. So to direct our search we put in oysters, seafood and fun happy hours. The Mermaid Oyster Bar (TMOB) popped up to the top of the search parameters, and after we read reviews on several sites we thought we were in store for a winner. We were not disappointed! TMOB is part of a small group of restaurants all named The Mermaid Inn, except for, well, this one. Located in the East Village, on a street of many little eateries, we entered the restaurant just after 5 p.m. We picked this time because we needed to get back to Midtown for a show at 8 p.m. The place was basically empty except for a few tables. Instead of a two top mid-way back the restaurant we chose a spot by the window to people watch. Less than 15 minutes later the place was packed, they were on about a 30-minute wait, and people were three deep at the bar. Andrew the manager came to our table to get us our drinks and an appetizer, while our server Cameron prepared a bottle of champagne for a couple behind us. When you get online to check out their menu, start with looking at the happy hour (5-7 pm T-F, Sat and Sun 4-7 pm and Mon All Night) choices. All wines were $8.50 a glass, and they have some incredible food specials too. We tried the oysters ($1.50 each), the crab & spinach dip ($8) the mini-lobster rolls ($9) and the mini fish tacos ($3). I recommend all the items, but if you must eliminate one dump the tacos, the others were a better value. Note: Mini means small for those of you that don’t know it (seriously look it up). Cameron provided unbelievable service despite being crushed with a lot of tables, Andrew was helping everywhere from the front door, to running drinks and food to greeting guests at the front door. We found out both had a connection to Ohio and they treated us to a serving of the lobster & corn fritters served with a maple-truffle honey ($12). Quick Thoughts: 1. Try the Mermaid Mary (Bloody Mary) - Also the Aperol Spritz (Both $8.50 at Happy Hour) 2. Bottles of wine regularly cost $40-70. Apps are in the $ teens, Entrees in the upper $20s. 3. They have Old Bay French fries. If you have to ask why this matters, you make me sad. TMOB is in the casual dining market segment. Wooden tables perfectly fit into the Village Vibe. Noise is medium (come on the place was packed). I would suggest if you are going for the first time try Happy Hour on Monday as it is offered all night and will give you a real “flavor” for how the place operates. Good Eats!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

We both love seafood and since we’re from the Midwest we don’t really get the freshest stuff so we decided to try oysters in NYC. Mermaid Oyster Bar was great, the atmosphere is really quaint and cozy and the service was great! The oysters were...delicious, our server suggested the east coast to start with and then had us try some west cost. In addition to the oysters I had the lobster roll that included the biggest pieces of lobster meat I’ve ever had and she had the fish and clips which were also tasty. Wish we could go back!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful charming place, lovely service - GREAT food. The lobster corn fritters are outstanding and worth every single calorie - really loved it all but would make a special trip just for those!

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Greenwich Village
Commonly known as “the Village” to New Yorkers, it was
here in Greenwich Village that both 1960’s counter
culture and the LGBT movement were born. Famous for
its bohemian past, head to Washington Square Park to
get a feel for this diverse and energetic
neighbourhood. You’ll find NYU students, street
performers, skateboarders, kids frolicking in the
fountain, and locals relaxing and playing chess.
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
1,995 reviews
1.41 km away
Orchard Street Hotel
331 reviews
1.38 km away
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
1,210 reviews
1.40 km away
U.S. Pacific Hotel
82 reviews
1.32 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Song E Napule
367 reviews
.09 km away
by CHLOE. - West Village
400 reviews
.07 km away
Porto Rico Importing Co.
79 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Players Theatre
40 reviews
.18 km away
Minetta Lane Theatre
23 reviews
.19 km away
Abigail's Kitchen Cooking Classes & Dinners in the Dark (Camaje Bistro)
8 reviews
.02 km away
Greenwich Village Comedy Club
45 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Mermaid Oyster Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing