We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Via Carota

Claimed
Save
Share
MICHELIN 2020
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Location and contact

Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
0.6 km from Greenwich Village
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Occasionally, predictability can be a beautiful thing, especially when it comes to rave-worthy Italian cooking. Via Carota is not so much robotically p...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Comfortable restaurant
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Italian, Mediterranean, Tuscan, Central-Italian
FEATURES
Gift Cards Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
199
47
21
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
199
47
21
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cacio e pepe grilled artichoke wild boar ragu polpette zabaione radicchio sardines green salad salt cod pasta dishes bread crab tiramisu penne fries meyer lemon pale ale
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed April 12, 2020

My step-daughter recommended this establishment, although she did warn us that they did not accept reservations and there would be a wait. We got there for an early dinner and had to wait for almost an hour. We were then given the choice to share...a table with another party, or continue to wait for an unspecified time. Needless to say we shared, Since the other party was making wedding plans, we had little interaction with them. We each ordered a pasta dish, and shared them. The food was excellent as was the service. However as I said in the title, I am not sure it was worth the wait. If you have time to kill, go, but otherwise there are many Italian restaurants in New York with equally good food.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 26, 2020

I regularly visit NYC but we struggled to find a reservation at a good place on a thursday night. However we were accomodated and seated and warmly cheerfully checked on with all the lovely staff who seemed busy but efficiently and merrily attended to all...everyone all night. Our waiter was great, The delicious food swiftly flowed and i cant cease to mention how often our water was topped up and the napkins were refolded:) I believe their floor manager Zo? if i caught her name correctly was the saving grace and star of the show. Our experience was everything and each one of the charming cheerful staff made a huge impact on this Gem of an establishment! I cant wait to return! Its definitely worth the wait and the carpaccio, MeatBalls and the Pork Belly was Decadent and Scrumptious!!!!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 24, 2020

My wife and I visited for a weekday lunch. We arrived about noon and were promptly seated. The service and food were both exceptional. By the time we finished the restaurant was filled. Warning...Reservations are not accepted so you must go early for dinner. We...arrived about 5:30 on a Saturday, and were turned away as they were full for the night.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 16, 2020 via mobile

I love this place - The blood oranges starter was so effortlessly spectacular that it made me rethink what an orange can be - sweet and contradictory; fresh and light and absolutely delicious. The main course was almost as perfect - tagliatelle cheesed up with...prosciutto on top - rich as Donald Trump but much more tasteful. Great vibes, great food, great staff.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 9, 2020 via mobile

Outstanding food and service- arrived after theatre so despite other reviews we had no wait. Great waiter who explained the menu and made some great suggestions. Will certainly return.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 9, 2020

We waited until 7:30 on a weekend night and never found a table. Via Carota offers delivery and so we had a wonderful dinner. The following day I stopped in for a late lunch and found a seat at the bar, lunch was terrific.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 6, 2020

Highly recommend this place. There is usually a long wait, but it is definitely worth it. Great meals!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 15, 2020

We ate here on a recommendation from the person we were visiting. The meal was great and the same for the drinks. We did have to wait a really long time but it was not not a problem. It simply was the most memorable part...of the meal was how they took names for seats by writing with chalk on a pipe. Again, I'm sorry I can not remember more about the meal but it was great.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

There are no reservations, so be prepared to wait for a table. And sit in the main room or at the bar, it’s quite sad in the back and the other room. The food is good, but very far from excellent. The green salad is...great, the pasta, fish and meat are just OK. Caccio e pepe was actually quite bad, the cheese was not tasty and it was made with grounded pepper, which was just horrible.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 29, 2019

This is a very successful business, we had to wait 45 minutes and when we left there were crowds waiting for a table. The place is understaffed so the waitress kept running from one table to the other as a result of which service was...under par. The salted cod with chickpeas had not been unsalted enough as a result of which it was practically inedible. The pasta suffered by comparison with that at Rezdora, where we had been the night before. The zabaglione with berries was very goodMore

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
CitizenM New York Bowery
733 reviews
1.63 km away
Greenwich Hotel
614 reviews
1.56 km away
Hotel 17
1,354 reviews
1.62 km away
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
2,479 reviews
1.36 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Boucherie West Village
1,005 reviews
.05 km away
Buvette Gastrotheque
926 reviews
.06 km away
Big Gay Ice Cream Shop
273 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Stonewall National Monument
37 reviews
.10 km away
Barrow Street Theatre
37 reviews
.08 km away
Father Demo Square
9 reviews
.05 km away
49 Grove
8 reviews
.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Helena220455
June 4, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from skyjoe | Reviewed this property |
for sure
0
Votes
Melo550
May 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Melissa F | Reviewed this property |
It depends on the day of the week. You're probably better-suited though, generally speaking, to go towards 2pm, after the lunch-rush.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing