We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Taboon’s namesake brick-walled, wood-fired oven is burning a bit brighter these days since Chef Efi Nahon has returned to Hell’s Kitchen’s finest Middl...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Comfortable restaurant
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Middle Eastern, Mediterranean
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
205
118
24
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
205
118
24
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hummus branzino lamb kabob zucchini cakes pot pie sea bass shrimp mediterranean food hell's kitchen moroccan meatballs brick oven favorite restaurants great ambience excellent food and service new york trio silan
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 3, 2020 via mobile

I found Taboon through Ziggy Eats. I was looking for a pre theater place that would do a reservation for one. I was thrilled to be seated at a quiet two top instead of the bar. The atmosphere is modern, the service was friendly and...efficient, and the food was delicious. The focaccia is to die for. I ordered the trio of spreads and an entree. It was WAY too much food for one, regardless of what the waiter says!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 29, 2020 via mobile

Taboon is a great place for a family style shared meal. Food is excellent quality, rich tasting, and high in savoriness. The aromas are amazing, and so is the taste. For 8 people we ordered 6 appetizers, 4 mains, and 3 desserts-and were stuffed! Our...group has eaten a lot of Mediterranean food around the world, and we all felt this meal was one of the best, if not the very best! Branzino, sea bass, and lamb kebab “pot pie” were all amazing-we ate every teeny bit! Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed December 25, 2019 via mobile

Knowing that many restaurants are not open in NYC on Christmas Day, and wanting to book a special meal for our Christmas trip, I spent ages researching to find the best option. Eventually, we decided on Taboon and booked over six weeks in advance for...6pm on Christmas Day via the restaurant’s website. We received confirmation of our booking at the time and then reminders via messages, including one on Christmas Eve asking us to reconfirm, which we did immediately, and one thirty minutes in advance of our ‘booking’, in case we’d forgotten. Imagine our extreme disappointment and not a little angst when we walked up and down the street looking for the place, only to find it was closed, with a note on the door saying it would reopen on 26th! Thankfully, we found a Thai restaurant a few blocks away that could fit us in and where we had a lovely and excellent value meal - and for much less than we would have paid - but we could have spent a very miserable Christmas evening, thanks to the appalling reservation service used by Taboon.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed December 9, 2019

Four of us had a reservation on a recent Friday night. The place was jammed. The place is not huge. We're all snug as bugs in a rug. When you start ordering their really delicious food the table gets smaller and smaller. The service was...great which helps keep the table as neat/spacious as possible. It was 30 degrees out that night but hot inside. The downside to that is that our white wine had to be chilled over by the corner, not near us. Everything else was perfect, try this place!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 14, 2019

this was fast becoming one of my favorite restaurants with the best fish I've had in a long time until Tuesday night. Service did not exist, the salad as usual was great and after that everything was downhill. a drink order for red label –...no red label then requested Dewears – none in the house – we were told the blue label was $45 and agreed on black label which never came and after 25 minutes and several requests it arrived. The haddock was overcooked and sent back by the time they replaced it with dry roast chicken the other people at the table had finished dinner. Complaints to the manager a gentleman waIt'ith a beard resulted in no apologies or any other consideration for this horrible evening. They told me the owner would be in tomorrow and I requested a call since I would've liked to have given him the opportunity but never received a call. Never again.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed October 27, 2019 via mobile

Amazing food. Wonderful service. Great ambience. Our best meal to date in New York. A wonderful neighbourhood restaurant with a good vibe, and delicious food. So glad we heard about it.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 23, 2019

Had a bit of a rubbish first day in NY in the rain, found this place on trip advisor and had to walk quite far to get there from our hotel, passed many other restaurants on the way and wanted to stop at one but...decided to stick to the plan and it was the right decision! We ate at the bar and were entertained by the (very handsome, I might add) friendly bartender, the food was exquisite! Well worth the walk, highly recommend, would definitely revisit.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 20, 2019 via mobile

Wow!!! Amazing food amazing ambience amazing wine!!! Beautiful blend of flavors!!!! Great service!!!! Love it!!!

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 19, 2019

A very nice place serving excellent food but ... what a noisy place ... Please think about acoustic panels !!

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed October 7, 2019 via mobile

Really authentic Mediterranean food cooked in a Taboon oven in front. Best Octopus Perfectly Roasted Beets Lamb Kabob served in a deep dish bread crusted baked dish with lots of baby eggplants and other veggies Sublime

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Carnegie Hotel
258 reviews
.93 km away
Elk Hotel
4 reviews
.89 km away
Conrad New York Midtown
4,455 reviews
.92 km away
The Manhattan Club
1,892 reviews
.86 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
IL Melograno
316 reviews
.09 km away
Totto Ramen
163 reviews
.09 km away
Ardesia Wine Bar
54 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hell's Kitchen & Clinton Dog Run
25 reviews
.27 km away
Irish Arts Center
6 reviews
.22 km away
MANHATTAN PASSPORT
19 reviews
.05 km away
The Nightly Show with Larry Wilmore
8 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Arthur S
April 29, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Shoshana G | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure. However, I noticed they have a lively bar & since the restaurant has such an incredible selection of hot& cold appetizers it wouldn't surprise me if they did. You may just call and inquire. My experience & my... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing