We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Thu., 09-24
20:00
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Details

CUISINES
Japanese, Asian, Soups

Location and contact

Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
1.0 km from St. Patrick's Old Cathedral
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

This delicious little ramen-ya couldn’t have landed on a more fitting spot. It may appear rough around the edges, but the ultra-hip ‘hood and its affin...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Simple restaurant
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
183
80
37
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
183
80
37
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ramen noodles chicken dashi roasted tomatoes red chilli katsu soup triple pork chef's table new york sat at the bar east village netflix hainan mazemen slurp
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

I have seen Ivan's story on Chef's Table so did have some high expectations. I have had a lot of ramen off over the place, including in this city. It's one of my favorite things to try in a city that I visit when I...can find it. I sat at the bar, as I was eating on my own. Unlike some reviews that I read, I have good personalized service and wasn't rushed. Chatted with the bartender/server and some other patrons. The place is super busy and has a cool and fun atmosphere. The real issue I had was that the ramen did not live up to my expectations. I have had better in NYC and worse in NYC and elsewhere. Much too salty, as I have seen in other reviews. The broth was not as flavorful as I was expecting, which might be diminished by the salt. The options were interesting, but did not wow me in any way. I would go back, but only if others I was with wanted to go. I have another preferred place in this city and others to still try.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 16, 2020

Had lunch on a Saturday. Made reservation and was seated in the lovely outdoor patio at the back. The food was WORTH. EVERY. CALORIE. Loved the crispy on the outside yet moist on the inside eggplant. Fought for the last piece. The Tokyo Shio and...Mazeman were unique and so tasty. Not your typical ramen. We finished every thing in the bowl. Ended the meal with soft serve ice cream - black sesame and sweet cream - both were good. Service was very friendly and we didn't feel hurried to finish our meal even with the constant flow of customers coming in. If you are a big eater, you may find the portion sizes to be on the petite side.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 10, 2020 via mobile

Sooooo worth the visit, Food, Atmosphere and Service are all on point....and to boot, an incredible beer selection. Definitely coming back!

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 1, 2020 via mobile

The only thing as good as the food was the service. I miss crispy eggplant the minute I left. Arigato!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 28, 2020 via mobile

My friend and I had a table booked for 6pm. Ordering was fine but one of the members of staff kept on hovering over us to see how near to finishing we were. We had hardly been eating for about 20 minutes. My friend had...finished her ramen before me and I was nearing the end of mine but there he was waiting for me to finish, going away at some point our bowls were swiftly whisked away and the bill plonked in front of us before we could order anything further. Not a great experience and I won’t be returning. It’s a shame when bad service overpowers the memory of the food.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 24, 2020

Celebrating another adventure in NYC with our daughter we filled ourselves with some amazing ramen before heading back to MA. Super friendly and knowledgable staff (Thanks, Nadia), we were seated before our 4:15 reservation time (and it was already crowded so HIGHLY recommend reservations) in...the cute booth right in front by the window, an extra treat! Our water was always full, and the food came out super fast and piping hot. We started with an order of steamed pork buns (delicious) and then tried the Chicken Paitan, the spicy Red Chili ramen and the Tokyo Shio ramen, all of which hit the mark. Loved that for $5 I was able to try sake, something I've always shied away from before, but for five bucks, why not?? Oh, and did I mention the huge beer selection?More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 16, 2020

We had to wait for a table but it was very organised, I’m a vegetarian and the crispy eggplant was amazing and the vegan ramen which was yummy. My boyfriend eats meat and loved his too. The service was great I really enjoyed my experience...here and would definitely go back.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 10, 2020 via mobile

We went to Broadway to see Aladdin, after the show grabbed a “Uber” and got there around 4pm on Sunday Afternoon. We made reservations and our Table was waiting for us. They were busy, we Sat down and we were very impressed with our Server,...very knowledgeable of the Menu ( as he should be ) He was polite and Easy to talk to. The Food, On another Level. We know all the “Ramen” restaurants on the Island, Ivan got it Exactly Right. delicious to say the least, if we could of “Licked the plate” we would of LOL. I don’t give a “10” to any Restaurants, This place would be very close to being perfect. We are planning our trip to come back already. Great job! Keep up the good work.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 5, 2020

This place was recommended by a friend for good Americanized ramen and we weren't disappointed. Its a small NYC joint, but the service is great and the food is excellent.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 10, 2020

We have been waiting to go here as a family for a long time so a weekend in NYC was the perfect time to visit. Book in advance otherwise you might be waiting for a table (it will be worth the wait though). For starters...we shared a portion of the Japanese Fried Chicken and the Steamed Pork Buns. Both were exceptional but the Pork Buns tipped the balance and were amazing! Both starters we could have eaten multiple times they were that delicious. For mains, I went for the Triple Pork Triple Garlic. OMG! It was so good. The broth was delicious and, being the only one in the family not keen on too much broth, this was perfect. Thick enough to coat the noodles the flavour was just amazing. Fantastic service, good price and even got some merchandise. This is on our list of must go back to. Can't say enough good things. Thank you!!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Inn at Irving Place
103 reviews
1.73 km away
The James New York SoHo
2,057 reviews
1.72 km away
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
1,610 reviews
1.72 km away
SIXTY SoHo
1,401 reviews
1.62 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Clinton St. Baking Company & Restaurant
1,462 reviews
.10 km away
Pause Cafe
63 reviews
.08 km away
Balvanera
88 reviews
.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Sara D Roosevelt Park
12 reviews
.12 km away
The Lowline Lab
12 reviews
.22 km away
Statue of Lenin
13 reviews
.12 km away
Koneko Cat Cafe
47 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
NapMasterFresh
June 28, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Certiorari1 | Reviewed this property |
I definitely booked day before!
1
Vote
NapMasterFresh
June 28, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from arisgysel | Reviewed this property |
30 days
1
Vote
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing