We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
1.1 km from Union Square
Improve this listing
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Lebanese, Middle Eastern, Mediterranean
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Table Service, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
96
29
9
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
96
29
9
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shawarma hummus mixed grill platter lamb fried cauliflower fries middle eastern food lebanese food table side cute place birthday dinner main dish an early dinner amazing food saturday night an appetizer new york
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 21, 2020 via mobile

One of the best restaurant that I had ever visited. Waiter was very friendly, and nice. Very welcoming staff and atmosphere. Food is super delicious and delight. The individual shawarma skewer is a must. It serves three to four people, so be ready to eat!

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

The house special is table side shawarma and it is amazing. It is enough to feed 4-5 people and order hummus for an appetizer...so good! My taste buds were exploding with flavor. The slow roasted meat, the hand cut French fries, the hummus and the...homemade pitas were just fantastic. Service was perfect as well! Make a reservation.... you will not regret it!!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 4, 2020

What an amazing gem ! Exceptional service from Elona. Very professional, polite and friendly? Strongly recommend Au Za’atar. Thank you for your amazing service Elona.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

The Food was absolutely amazing and had such a different taste than other middle eastern food I’ve ever tried. The customer serve was amazing and our waitress Klisara Made our experience here even better! She was so kind and really cared about us enjoying our...time there.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

Klisara was our waitress and she was so sweet! Her hospitality was amazing. I truly would come back because the food was delicious & the service was amazing.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

The food spectacular! Any of the family sized platters do not disappoint it was excellent! Our server KLISARA made our night one to remember! She was so kind and sweet the nicest person honestly! Thank you so much KLISARA we will definitely be back just...because of you !More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 15, 2019 via mobile

We ordered shish Tawouk and were impressed with the plate and mostly the flavor ! Very tasty thank you Timothy for your help and wonderful service . Great atmosphere ! Will come again . Shokran

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 5, 2019 via mobile

Au Za’atar is one of the best restaurants in New York. The restaurant is beautifully decorated inside and everything we ordered from the menu was delicious. Will def be returning. Linda and Rachid served us and they were both so kind and friendly.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 4, 2019 via mobile

Great experience and looking forward to a return visit. My father and I visited for an early dinner and the place was not busy. Our server, Rachid, was very helpful. He gave us menu suggestions and was attentive. We had the Fattoush Salad, Arnabeet Bi...Tarator (amazing!), and the mixed grill platter. The food was great and fresh. We ended up having a little bit of extra food leftover, but not much. I’d like to go back with a larger group to try the tableside schwarma. The restaurant is fairly small but typical for NYC. Wish the tables were a little larger. Clean and a nice atmosphere.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 26, 2019 via mobile

So yummy! Love all of the sauces, dips, and dishes. My friends didn't love their egg dishes, so I'd recommend you stick with the regular, non-breakfast food. That garlic dip is addicting. Thank goodness I found some at TJ's too. Must go!

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Soho Loft
26 reviews
1.73 km away
The Broome
632 reviews
1.71 km away
World Hotel
431 reviews
1.71 km away
Royalton Park Avenue
3,133 reviews
1.68 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Tompkins Square Bagels
204 reviews
.10 km away
Raclette
423 reviews
.06 km away
Westville East
76 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Obscura Antiques & Oddities
85 reviews
.06 km away
Phoenix Bar
6 reviews
.11 km away
Russian & Turkish Baths
60 reviews
.20 km away
ABC Food Tours
6 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
RaptorSam
June 20, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Chris D | Reviewed this property |
you're best off trying to find street parking...the parking lots are ridiculously expensive. Just be sure to feed to meters, if necessary (depends on time you arrive)
0
Votes
Janine L
August 5, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 766alexandriav | Reviewed this property |
I can't really remember exact price but I did ask and I know it was more than the platter we ordered so I'm definitely comfortable saying $50-55.
0
Votes
866daniyalk
June 3, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Allansha | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure. And did not see anything. That stated this fact. Never thought about this issue, I am sorry that I do not know but you should contact them directly and adk them.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing