We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Can’t fit in a trip to Thailand? No problem. This transporting little gem—compliments of talented husband-wife duo Matt Danzer and Ann Redding—brings t...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
One MICHELIN Star: High quality cooking, worth a stop!
Comfortable restaurant
About
Modern Thai
PRICE RANGE
US$12 - US$28
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Asian, Thai
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
138
64
19
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
138
64
19
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai food mango salad snails frog legs curry beef ribs roti baby octopus pig ears blood sausage sticky rice dorade sundae sea scallops crab white fish ice cream
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my second Michelin Star restaurant I've been to so I had my expectations pretty high for this one. It definitely lived up to the standards. I came here with a group of four where one of my friends got here early to put...us on the waitlist. This took about 45 minutes before a table cleared up for us, so we went to a bar nearby to hangout. We were promptly seated after battling through the crowd and arguing with a few that we were not cutting in front of them for seating. We essentially picked the first three entrees on the list. The Khao Soi Kaa Kai was a Northern Style golden curry with egg noodles, chicken leg, pickled mustard green, and turmeric. We mixed it up to get the curry to soak up everything before splitting it up amongst ourselves. The curry was what made this dish exceptionally good. The curry goes great with the jasmine rice. The second was the Kao Pat Puu which was essentially crabmeat fried rice. I'd recommend pouring some of that green sauce that comes with it to spice it up a little bit. The third was my favorite: Gaeng Som which is pork jowl with Thai herbs and tropical fruits in a light turmeric curry. What made this dish exceptionally great was how tender the pork jowl was and how easily it fell apart. Not to mention the taste of it when soaked in curry. After our entrees, the server presented us with two desserts which we ended up ordering both to try. There was the Sticky Rice Banana Pudding which was not super sweet for those that don't like sweet desserts. The other one was a Coconut Ice Cream which I liked better. There was a bone marrow dish I saw other tables ordered and I really wanted that, not knowing they served it here. Hopefully next time when I get the chance to dine here again in the future. Unfortunately, due to COVID-19, this restaurant has permanently closed.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 26, 2020

Delicious Asian plates to enjoy with a couple of friends or a large group. I went there with 6 friends. As most dishes are for sharing, it was perfect for our group.

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 2, 2020 via mobile

Really cool atmosphere with great food. This was our best restaurant experience in NYC. The food was very good authentic Thai cuisine. I would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 26, 2020 via mobile

I have been to this restaurant twice and both times I leave with the desire of coming back as soon as possible. This is by far the best Thai restaurant I have been to outside of Thailand. The freshness and flavors that explode in your...mouth are an unforgettable culinary experience. All the dishes I have tried are delicious. Go there with the mentality to be adventurous, I for example don’t eat lamb and I tried their lamb salad and it was amazing! Their escargot appetizer makes your taste buds go to heaven! Their mango salad which is their version of the traditional green papaya salad is so full of flavor is just spectacular. Everything I have tried is just excellent. A must go to and certainly one that will keep me coming back for years to come.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 23, 2020

I've eaten twice at Uncle Boon's (UB) and twice at Uncle Boon's Sister (UBS) over a three-year period of time. Every single dish I've had at each restaurant was spectacular, unquestionably the best Thai food I've ever eaten. Sometimes different dishes at Thai restaurants have...a somewhat similar taste. Not so at UB and UBS. Every dish has a totally unique and completely delicious flavor. On my most recent trip to UBS, a few days ago, I had roti with pumpkin curry, curried lamb pastry and Thai basil stir fry. Each dish was a knockout. UB and UBS both have a hipster vibe BUT, unlike some other restaurants with that vibe, the service is friendly and warm. Go! Your taste buds will love you.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

I'm sorry to see that not everyone has a great experience here. Ours was amazing and we'll worth the price. We started with the snails, lamb salad and chicken salad. All very good with the lamb a d chicken standouts for me. Large plates were...the chicken and egg noodles curry, beef short rib curry and the whole fish. The fish and chicken. We're to die for. Overall, the service was absolutely excellent and the atmosphere a bit loud but the food made the experience for us.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

Quite disappointed. First of all, it’s a fire trap. The guests couldn’t get out if there was a tragedy. There would be a committee established to determine the cause. No need, I know what the cause would be. Really surprised the city does nothing. As...for the food the baby octopus and the marrow presentation were quite good, the rest rather mediocre. They also have a terrible policy of bringing food out when it’s ready. Haphazard to say the least, and quite annoying to get the crab fried rice after all plates have been served. And it’s expensive with no justification. I definitely wouldn’t go again or recommend it.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

This is a very happening place with very nice ambience and service. The plating was amazing and made the food look delicious. However, as a Thai person, the food here doesn’t taste like Thai food at all. So don’t expect to have a Thai taste...dish here cuz you will disappoint. I don’t say it’s not delicious, the food tastes not bad at all, but just not Thai.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

A few New York friends recommended this place so I was expecting amazing things however it was massively disappointing. The one thing that rated high for me was the atmosphere. There is no doubt this place is bustling with people willing to wait over an...hour for a table, however after having grown up in Australia and New Zealand, fresh produce is something of a rarity in New York. The baby octopus was overcooked and powdery, and the charred bits consumed any other flavour. The rice that accompanied the duck was so drenched in duck liver it made the main duck too rich to eat. The ribs were fried and covered in salt when they really should have been slow cooked to let the really flavour melt in your mouth. Overall, things like charcoal, sugar, fat took over where the flavours of the core ingredients should have shone through. Freshness is key in Asian food and the dishes felt like anything but fresh...it was all overdone. You can get Asian food in Australia and New Zealand that’s a quarter of the price and much better quality.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed December 12, 2019 via mobile

Uncle Boons is a unique food experience. The plates are family style ~ so to be shared by all in your group. The food is fresh and the menu is tight. This place is packed so be ready to wait a LONG time for a...table ( we waited 2 hours for a 4 top on a Thursday night ) and the seating is almost European with tables so close together you can not get out without asking your neighbor for some space. Overall it was worth the wait and the ingredients and service were top level. Dress code is casual, not good for kids, no handicap access and no large groups. Thanks Uncle B ~ tasty food night!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Nolita
Despite being just off of busy Houston Street, Nolita
maintains a low-key vibe that makes it a pleasant
retreat in the heart of lower Manhattan. Short for
“North of Little Italy,” Nolita was once considered to
be part of Little Italy. Today, the neighbourhood is
popular with young fashionistas popping in and out of
the chic independent boutiques that line Mulberry,
Mott and Elizabeth Streets. In addition to shopping,
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Arlo SoHo
2,035 reviews
1.19 km away
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
649 reviews
1.18 km away
Madison LES Hotel
230 reviews
1.01 km away
Soho 54
1,963 reviews
.96 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Fiat Cafe
361 reviews
.09 km away
The Egg Shop
305 reviews
.09 km away
Peasant
371 reviews
.06 km away
Black Seed Bagels
212 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Williamsburg Bridge
187 reviews
.11 km away
Elizabeth Street Garden
34 reviews
.10 km away
Sweet and Vicious
20 reviews
.02 km away
Mozio - New York
5 reviews
.09 km away
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing