We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Asian, Thai
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options

Location and contact

Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
1.2 km from SoHo
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Tucked along the fringes of Alphabet City, a little taste of authentic Isaan Thai awaits. Originally based out of Bangkok, the New York outpost of Somt...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
Bib Gourmand: good quality, good value cooking
Simple restaurant
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
35
33
9
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
35
33
9
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews papaya salad thai food som tam larb pork skewers shrimp thai place great dishes nice cocktails new york communal table east village spicy michelin spiciness medium
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Food is consistently tasty; that said, service could be slow at times. Good back up in your back pocket.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

Super delicious Thai Isan food. I’m Thai and I really feel the real Thai taste in every dish. Really recommend their papaya salad and fried chicken.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 7, 2019 via mobile

Went here with my wife and a friend. All of their drinks are delicious. I recommend the Thai ice tea with milk and their ice coffee. The food was very flavorful, but quite spicy! If you’re someone who can’t handle spice, I’d say medium spice...is quite hot. Ordered the mackerel with coconut rice dish with medium spice and you definitely feel the heat. All their food was delicious. Hip and trendy atmosphere.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?25  
Reviewed November 4, 2019

We went for my sister's birthday lunch. The food is amazing. The severs are friendly and help customize the menu for dietary requirements.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 3, 2019

The taste is pretty good (in that, unlike your standard Thai restaurants in the US, the flavors are strong). The ambiance is great. The portions are somewhat insufficient, which is a bit of a disappointment. I'd characterize these as tapas rather than proper entrees.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed June 13, 2019 via mobile

Simple decor, a few individual tables along with longer ones, like picnic tables. The cuisine has tones from Laos, not the standard Thai found across this country. For example Red Ants are in season (no joke) and they were offered on a salad. Only live...once, go for it. It was fantastic and in some regards great when sampled side by side with the Papaya Salad with salted eggs. For main course, personally not a Fried Chicken fan but this stiff was heavenly. Wow. Tender, crunchy and full of flavor. The Grilled Beef Skewers were simple and tasty. The Fried Noodles; aka Pad Thai were great; simple filling and tasty. Tried to up sell us but this was plenty of food. Full bar. Limited wine list; South African wine was good and a value propositionMore

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 11, 2019

Small Thai place although not too tiny by NY standards. Not easy to notice, only a small unobtrusive little wooden plaque sign outside, kind of have to know that it's there to find it. Inside decor is fairly simple but quite attractive, dimly lit with...basket shade lights in the ceilings. Seating includes narrow bar on one side, narrow counter in front facing the window, communal tables with benches in the middle and regular tables along the wall. Big mirror wall in back making the place look much bigger. Spacing is pretty tight although standard by NY standards. Place accepts reservations which is a big plus. We first tried going there on a Saturday around 8 and it was packed with wait over an hour. So we gave up and went again the following day, a Sunday, and this time made a reservation. Around 7 the place was still packed but not as bad and with the reservation we were seated right away at the communal table. I can't say I was too impressed by the menu, which seemed not to have most of the dishes I'm used to seeing in Thai restaurants elsewhere, although the nice realistic photos were helpful. Maybe it's NY style since the week before I was at a Thai place on Long Island and It was similar. You can order most of the dishes in varying degrees of spiciness like mild, medium etc. Anyway we had the larb minced pork salad, which was excellent, pad Thai with crabmeat - a bit gimmicky and not actually better than the more usual with shrimps, a beef dish - nue rong hai flavorful but quite tough, another rice noodle dish - pad ki mao pork, which was ok, in retrospect better than the pad Thai, and yam grill mushroom which was not that interesting. Overall not bad, bit above average, and not inexpensive ($35/pp before tip with one drink each). My friends however seem to like the place more so all is good, since it's more important that they do because they live here and are more likely to come back.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 9, 2019

Most Thai restaurants in the US emphasize central Thai cuisine. As much as I love that food, Isan Thai food brings in some Laotian overtones and a more complex palate. I think it is especially noticeable if you are Pescatarian. Not atmospheric, but great food...and some nice cocktails.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

It is now a second visit at Somtum Der (first was in 2017). The experience is still fantastic. Thai food at its best. The Green Papaye is a must do. Prices are extremely reasonably. The restaurant had a one star Michelin in 2016 and lost...it (bit is still recommended) since then. A true culinary experience. The place is busy so come early or reserve a tableMore

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

Quite authentic Thai taste. However, I think there are better options such as Fish Cheek or Wondee. Still solid tho!

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Madison LES Hotel
230 reviews
1.61 km away
SIXTY SoHo
1,401 reviews
1.61 km away
11 Howard
769 reviews
1.49 km away
CITY ROOMS NYC SoHo
160 reviews
1.56 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Buenos Aires
432 reviews
.09 km away
Death & Co
210 reviews
.07 km away
Takahachi
60 reviews
.01 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Avital Food Tours
98 reviews
.13 km away
Sing Sing Karaoke
5 reviews
.02 km away
The Pyramid Club
18 reviews
.07 km away
Atelier Sucre
17 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Somtum Der staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing