We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Fri., 09-25
20:00

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$31 - US$80

Location and contact

West Village
0.8 km from Greenwich Village
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Even a good chunk of years into its charmed existence, it’s still the case that one feels very lucky to score a table at Graydon Carter’s Waverly Inn—t...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Comfortable restaurant; one of our most delightful places.
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
114
83
34
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
114
83
34
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch amish chicken burger sea bass eggs benedict potatoes filet mignon donald trump our waiter new york wine list bloody mary large party west graydon brownstone manhattan
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed July 11, 2020

Met up with friends for some pre-dinner drinks and snacks. Great spot, perfect wine and sharing plates. Pleasant and attentive service. On the pricey side, but worth it

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 27, 2020

I had not been here in over ten years. I was a bit worried because the reviews indicated that the hosts and wait staff were rude and ungrateful for your business. I must have picked the right day because this was not my experience. Carolyn...was our waitress and she was very nice and attentive. The food is still great and the decor really holds all the charm as when this was THE place to be. I would encourage people to continue to frequent this restaurant and enjoy all of the nuances that made it great to start with.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 17, 2020 via mobile

Disappointing food and service. Had the burger for $22. Not too different from a burguer at Five Guys or JG Melon for half of the price.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 30, 2020

Five of us went for New Years Even early evening dinner and left before midnight to go home and wait for the New Year. It had been a long time since I'd been there. We went because it was one of the few places that...didn't' force a prix fix on you. It's an interesting place because it is truly lovely, cosy, historic, the staff was very accommodating and quite nice. The food was good, solid just all around good but I couldn't tell you what I ate, nothing sticks out where you say I'm coming back to have this or that dish. That being said I would go back for something special, out of town guests etc. I feel the exact same way about One if by Land.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 3, 2020

As the title suggests, wonderful evening with colleagues and friends. Would highly recommend booking early to avoid disappointment.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 2, 2020

I recently returned here again after many years. I had dined here several times before and always enjoyed the quaint setting. Unfortunately, the service was a bit unfriendly, but the steak made up for it. I'd consider visiting again to see if the service improves.?

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 9, 2019

Unique little place in the basement of a brownstone. Bar out front and dining room behind. Book a window seat. Food and service are very good. Bar clears out early, so sit there for your after dinner drink.

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 7, 2019

Bad service, filthy restroom, below average food. The antipathy of staff was overwhelming. The waitress was extremely rude, nearly as revolting as the host. Upon waiting for our table, no amenities nor drinks were offered.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed September 28, 2019

There were three of us for brunch. We had been before, but this time the food was not so great. Our friend said the burger was great, I had the arugula beet salad and I could not believe how small it was for $21. Must...have just been a handful of arugula, which is totally ridiculous for a restaurant of this standing. The eggs Benedict was lukewarm. Service was nice, but they need to really upscale the food and portions.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 12, 2019

Have been here many times with locals and always was treated wonderfully. Went with five tourist friends who were visiting New York and I was, sad to say, embarrassed at how they were treated with mild contempt by the waitress. For example, if they stumbled...over the pronunciation of a menu item, she corrected them firmly and quite unnecessarily.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
West Village
Stretching from Sixth Avenue to the Hudson River, the
West Village is one of the city’s most coveted
addresses. Full of trendy shops, historic taverns, and
cozy restaurants set amid 19th century architecture,
this neighbourhood has a unique old-world feel. You
won’t find a more picturesque location in Manhattan.
Without the traditional city grid layout, it’s easy to
get lost here, but that’s part of the fun as you
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Arlo SoHo
2,035 reviews
1.48 km away
The Evelyn
463 reviews
1.49 km away
Soho 54
1,962 reviews
1.48 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
1,016 reviews
1.40 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Taim West Village
263 reviews
.11 km away
The Meatball Shop
198 reviews
.15 km away
Mighty Quinn's Barbeque
177 reviews
.10 km away
St Tropez West Village
57 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
New York City Aids Memorial
6 reviews
.08 km away
Li-lac Chocolates
81 reviews
.08 km away
David Bowie Walking Tour New York City
13 reviews
.11 km away
The Village Vanguard
430 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
HillaryNewYork
March 13, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Laurence D | Reviewed this property |
Sorry i am from London and i always get there by Uber
0
Votes
SHS333
January 7, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from WiggyManhattan | Reviewed this property |
Christopher Street subway
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing