We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
109
123
39
23
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
109
123
39
23
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burrata pasta dishes bread branzino greenwich village new york food is excellent worth the wait pieta
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 26, 2020

Everybody can cook pasta, there are over 1700 Italian restaurants in NY alone. However, in my own experience, I find that only a handful can cook GOOD pasta. Mostly you eat out and the pasta is overcooked and a bit flavourless. At Bar Pitti, I...know that when I order my pasta it will be al dente and it will smell of garlic or fresh parsley or tomatoes depending on the dish I choose. It is always fresh and delicious.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 20, 2019

Food was ok...though poorly presented and practically dropped on the table...sparkling water was $8 a bottle....bill is a hand written jumble with a pre-determined tip....made me feel very unsettled...would not go back.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed December 9, 2019 via mobile

Menu is traditional italien, the place is very simple and barely comfortable but feels like home. Staff could be a little more attentive and less rushed. Obviously always complicated to have to carry cash every time you go...

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 8, 2019

Lunch at Bar Pitti is very much like stepping into a Milan eatery, from the food to the atmosphere. The appetizers are not to be missed, especially the meatballs. Even the bread is great. The wine, by the bottle or glass is the real deal....And, just as delicious is the A-list regulars, which beckons photographers to hand out hopefully for a spotting. Pastas are wonderful and try the specials from the slate board.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 5, 2019 via mobile

Worst restaurant cafe bar ever and everywhere!bad service, bad tastes, recooked plates, expensive and no receipt given!a place to avoid choosing neither for lunch/dinner nor for coffee!

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 5, 2019

As soon as we finished our desert, one of the waiters asked us to leave so that other people can get sitted on our table. Too bad because the food was really good but they dont know what being polite and respectful to customers is.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 5, 2019

Very cute place to have a casual lunch or dinner. Food and service was good. If you are around the area, a must try.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 16, 2019

BRING CASH - I do think today it is a little ridiculous at this price point a restaurant does not take credit cards. It is inconvenient for customers. We did not have bad service, but you definitely will not get the attention of a server...at this price point of restaurant that you would somewhere else. Our food was good, no complaints, average size portions. It is always busy, you have to wait staring at the guests eating which is strange and uncomfortable. We just turned our backs to the restaurant while waiting.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

I chose this restaurant for a family dinner after reading about it. The food is excellent. I ordered the pesto spaghetti and it was great. It’s located in bustling Greenwich Village. The service is bad and rushed. The tables are simply too close. And the...restaurant doesn’t allow credit cards. It’s ridiculous!More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 7, 2019

Stopped by Bar Pitti this past weekend for lunch. Great food and attentive service from the team working the patio and floor. Good selection of wines and menu options. Loved the Eggplant Parm. Will definitely return. Would be nice if they accepted credit cards and...I did limit my wine selection based on the amount of cash I had on me.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Greenwich Village
Commonly known as “the Village” to New Yorkers, it was
here in Greenwich Village that both 1960’s counter
culture and the LGBT movement were born. Famous for
its bohemian past, head to Washington Square Park to
get a feel for this diverse and energetic
neighbourhood. You’ll find NYU students, street
performers, skateboarders, kids frolicking in the
fountain, and locals relaxing and playing chess.
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
World Hotel
431 reviews
1.46 km away
The Standard, High Line
4,189 reviews
1.39 km away
Orchard Street Hotel
331 reviews
1.45 km away
W New York - Union Square
1,665 reviews
1.38 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mermaid Oyster Bar
266 reviews
.08 km away
Porto Rico Importing Co.
79 reviews
.05 km away
Villa Mosconi
200 reviews
.09 km away
JG Melons
203 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Players Theatre
40 reviews
.18 km away
Minetta Lane Theatre
23 reviews
.16 km away
Our Lady of Pompeii
11 reviews
.12 km away
Abigail's Kitchen Cooking Classes & Dinners in the Dark (Camaje Bistro)
8 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Rick H
April 8, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Maripat B | Reviewed this property |
As other said, cash only. No credit, no checks.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing