We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Eastern European, Armenian, Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
142
45
15
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
142
45
15
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lentil soup bronzini lamb bell peppers lebanese manhattan mouth
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed May 7, 2019

My Niece is a very good judge of restaurants. No surprise that when I went with her to Almyass it was incredible. Great food, great service and a very nice atmosphere. Comfortable seating. It's just great.

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 23, 2019

Visited this restaurant while on Holiday and could not have been more pleased. Great atmosphere, great choices on middle eastern wines and terrific food. The owner made the rounds and spoke to tables. Outstanding - make the visit and you will not be sorry.

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

We had lunch in Almayass recently as a family of 4 adults and a child. We are on holiday here and I stumbled upon Almayass while searching for a vegetarian friendly restaurant near the Empire State Building for lunch. As we entered , I was...impressed with the decor and we were promptly seated . The menu was very interesting with vegetarian dishes clearly marked. We chose to start with the lentil soup, hummus and pita bread. We then had falafel , cheese bereg and jingle bell peppers. For dessert we had atayef.. Lebanese pancakes with cream and pistachios. All the dishes were good but none of them exceptional. We did not think the high cost justified the food but then this is Manhattan and I guess the prices reflect that. The service was excellent and our overall experience was good.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 13, 2019

The food and service here are outstanding. I went with several Armenian colleagues so the food was authentic, fresh and beautifully presented.

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 16, 2019

The whole experience of fine dining in this restaurant was wonderful. The food was exquisite and the service attentive. The ambience was cosy with nice lighting - a lovely place for dinner with friends. My husband and I took a friend of ours and had...a fabulous dinner here. The stuffed boneless lamb leg with rice is superb and enough for two. My husband had the bronzini and said it was delicious and plenty of fish. Our friend had the Kafka he said was fine. You must try the Ossmalieli Almayass dessert which is like angel hair which melts in your mouth (again enough for two). However, we all thought the restaurant was overpriced coming in at £270 for 3 with only 2 courses and 2 bottles of wine (over $50 a bottle - outrageous!! No need for these prices for wine!). If you do go here, just order one dish between two if you order the lamb and the ossmalieli. You would probably get away with just over $100 if you share incl wine.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 26, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I came upon this restaurant by pure luck and we will go back again! We have a 4 hour drive to the city and we will drive specifically for an overnight to have dinner here again. We sat at the bar, which...from owner to bartender all apologized we had to eat at the bar...had to eat at the bar?? We didn’t care, the service and food was outstanding, it doesn’t matter where you sit! There is a bar side with a few tables and then a larger dining room, same menu regardless. Wine list was impressive, cocktails were fun to watch being a made (we did wine only) and the food was mouthwatering. Casual to dressy, you are a fit for this restaurant. Can’t express my happiness with our dinner choice. Thank you for a dining experience that made my weekend!More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 17, 2019

Almayass grabbed us as soon as we walked in the door. It's charming and artsy and rustic and totally inviting. Our server greeted us with a series of recommendations and we took most of them. It was a great choice - the food was uniformly...delicious. The Almayass Delight and the Mantee (spinach) were standouts. And the desserts... wow!More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 29, 2019

Since it was our first time, we had a lot of questions about the food. Our server was very warm and accommodating. He answered all our questions and made recommendations. Hummus with soujuk was the best I've ever had! We enjoyed the Mixed Grill (Filet...Mignon cubed, Chicken Taouk, Kafta & Baby Lamb Chops) cooked to perfection. Their baklava was legit! For coffee lovers, I recommend trying Armenian coffee. It's very rich and bold. Overall it was a great Armenian dining experience!More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed January 28, 2019 via mobile

Their hummus soujuk is the best one I’ve tasted. The texture is just right with the perfect blend of sweetness and saltiness. The meat was also grilled to perfection and very easy to chew. Their desserts are highly recommended — especially the baklava. Staff is...very friendly and proactive. I like that they check on us from time to time. Almayass is a perfect place to bond with family and friends. Great value for money!More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 14, 2019 via mobile

A perfect place for a nice dinner with a friend, middle east flavour and delicious food, superbous meat! Great attention to details, warming welcome.

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Flatiron District
Offering many of city’s best restaurants and shops set
amid classic New York architecture, the Flatiron
District is no longer under the tourist radar. At 23rd
Street is the famous triangular Flatiron Building,
which makes a good picture no matter what angle you
photograph it from. Be sure to look up at the elegant
architecture as you stroll the streets- much of this
neighborhood is part of a historic district that was
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
LUXE Life Hotel
280 reviews
.87 km away
Hyatt Herald Square New York
1,363 reviews
.87 km away
HGU New York
529 reviews
.87 km away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
2,451 reviews
.81 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Gramercy Tavern
3,687 reviews
.11 km away
Beecher's Handmade Cheese
277 reviews
.08 km away
Giorgio's of Gramercy
257 reviews
.03 km away
Mari Vanna
342 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Flatiron Building
3,401 reviews
.19 km away
Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site
221 reviews
.09 km away
ABC Carpet & Home
102 reviews
.16 km away
Fotografiska New York
16 reviews
.18 km away
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing