We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Fri., 09-25
20:00

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Buzzy and beloved since day one, Chef Andrew Carmellini’s The Dutch quickly became a major hit and SoHo institution. Its primo corner windows open on t...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Comfortable restaurant
About
The Dutch is an American Restaurant, Bar and Oyster Room inspired by local cafés, country inns, corner taverns, neighborhood bistros, seaside shacks, roadside joints, old school dining halls and the same mix of cultural influences that make New York City great. Our menu features choice meats, fish and shellfish, local produce and the best of what's around.
PRICE RANGE
US$31 - US$50
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Seafood, American, Contemporary
FEATURES
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveller rating
257
292
74
33
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
257
292
74
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch fried chicken oysters hanger steak cornbread pie burrata donuts salad oyster bar new york wine list bloody mary soho nyc appetizers neighborhood
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 15, 2020

Three of us went here last night. For the most part it was very good. Service was good, attentive and friendly. The biggest disappointment was the Jumbo Shrimp Cocktail. we got 4 medium sized (at best) shrimps for about $25! Very chincy for this restaurant...and they should improve that. In the meantime I'd avoid that appetizer. The Honey Fried Chicken was very good and a very large portion - I wished that I had shared it! Another dish that was had was the Duck Breast which also got 2 thumbs up! Great atmosphere in a great location. I'd go again.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 4, 2020 via mobile

We called in when passing, without a reservation, and were lucky enough to get 2 seats at the oyster bar. This was a treat on our last night in New York. The hostess was friendly and welcoming and our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. There...was a great buzzy atmosphere on a Saturday night. Yes the food is expensive but the T bone steaks were amazing and certainly lived up to expectations. Also thoroughly enjoyed the cocktails and NY cheesecake. All up we had a fantastic and relaxed evening and would definitely recommend for a treat or special occasion.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 11, 2020

Wonderful cocktails, great vibe. Still top notch. The fried oyster "sliders" were amazing. Brussel sprouts amazing

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 31, 2020

We went here for all the high recommendations, and it's nice, but it didn't live up to the hype for us. The food was ok, it didn't rock my world, the service was average, quite slow, but then couldn't wait to get us out of...there, though the atmosphere was decent, none of it seemed worth the price tag, lots of other great places to eat in NY.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed January 20, 2020

We came with a small group of friends on a Sunday morning. The service was impeccable and the food was delicious. Would definitely stop by here again.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

We heard about this place after a request from a clerk about where they would eat. This has a cool vibe to it Oyster Bar, hipster and Gen X hangout. We sat at the oyster bar and will say the service is the only thing...we found lacking. We had a server but the initial round of drinks took 20 minutes to arrive, once the drinks did arrive the pace picked up. We shared the duck entree and the lobster pasta. Pasta was is fresh the duck was seared perfectly a decent cocktail and beer list. We are glad we asked as about this place.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 10, 2020

We went here on Christmas Day for brunch and we couldn't have been happier. The food was simply wonderful - oysters, lobster and steak & egg with kimchi rice, all washed down with a couple of excellent Bloody Marys and some Prosecco. The service was...excellent and the restaurant had a great buzz.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 6, 2020

We have friends in town for the Holidays and I always wanted to try out The Dutch - So ,booked a table for brunch and were greeted nicely and got a corner table so the start was great and the Ladies at the door, very...cheerful! We were in a great spirit and excited just to brutally taken down our excitement quite a bit - A very vacant server greeted us with no enthusiasm and also, later to be found, not really any knowledge about food and drinks AND for sure, no knowledge about Service what-so-ever! We had ordered drinks which we paid for and left - My friend even paid tip to the guy for no reason! I get sad to see the lack of Service and the Vacancy people can have on-duty and even worse, that the management doesn't train there staff better!!! I really wouldn't be able to recommend this establishment to anyone and will certainly not go back! Sorry for the negative review here but remember, NYC is filled with lovely places to have a great time & food with friends - We ended up at the lovely Mercer Kitchen which was the complete opposite in terms of Service - Food was great at Mercer and always has been!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 1, 2020

Over the years I have eaten at this restaurant many times. However, on the last trip a few years ago the meal was disappointed. Having gone back recently for New Year's Eve dinner, I am happy to report that the cooking has vastly improved. Broccoli...soup with black truffles and cheddar frico was wonderful. Lobster Fettuccine, Spicy Vodka Sauce, Bacon, Garlic, Basil was terrific. Rack of lamb was very good as was the stripped bass. The only dish that was was not worth the $25 was the hamburger which I understand is a house specialty. Perhaps last night was an off night since it was fairly ordinary. Service was good and efficient. The drink menu was interesting. Whatever concerns I had in the past are no longer concerns.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed December 25, 2019

We dined at The Dutch on Christmas Eve. We were with our adult children and friends. At the time I booked the reservation I wrote a request as to the type of table we preferred. When we arrived at the restaurant we were sat at...a lovely table and the hostess referenced the request I had made on our reservation. It was such a nice effort on the restaurants part, on a busy holiday night. This level of service is hard to find these days. It was greatly appreciated and made the night that much more special. Oh, and btw, the food, drink and service the entire night was delicious and perfect. Thank you The Dutch - we'll be back!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Allen Hotel
128 reviews
1.35 km away
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
1,210 reviews
1.31 km away
The Frederick Hotel
2,534 reviews
1.34 km away
Hotel Mulberry
696 reviews
1.27 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Piccola Cucina
984 reviews
.02 km away
Cocotte
289 reviews
.08 km away
Blue Ribbon Sushi
1,020 reviews
.04 km away
Raoul's
391 reviews
.02 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Riverside Drive
25 reviews
.03 km away
Greg Walks NYC
457 reviews
.13 km away
Happy Socks
9 reviews
.13 km away
Silver Lining Opticians
14 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ben T
January 15, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from fotograf17 | Reviewed this property |
Hi - it′s not my restaurant - You will have to contact the restaurant to get an answer to your question. Sorry I couldn't help you.
0
Votes
doronf47
November 4, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from kathietower | Reviewed this property |
yes
0
Votes
doronf47
November 4, 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Vickie T | Reviewed this property |
The Dutch does take reservations, but we were able to walk up and get a table without one on our trip to NYC.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing