We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pastis

Claimed
Save
Share
MICHELIN 2020
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Mentioned in

Location and contact

West Village
0.2 km from Ground Zero Museum Workshop
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Manhattan hot spots come and go (even more rapidly in the trendy Meatpacking District) but Pastis 2. 0 is one watering hole that still glows anew. Keit...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Comfortable restaurant
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
French, European
FEATURES
Gift Cards Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Table Service
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
27
12
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
27
12
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch onion soup steak sandwich cheese plate tartare trout almondine eggs benedict duck oysters meatpacking district french meal the meat packing district food was wonderful the high line new york last night balthazar
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 16, 2020 via mobile

Thanks a lot for a fantastic dinner in Meatpacking, last night before closing down Manhattan! This was a in many ways a special night in shadow of corona. For us the best dinner ever in NYC! Pastis is back and will very soon be number...one ranked. A broad brasserie menu, with for us a perfect mixt of cold entree's like oysters, tuna and a fantastic tartare and meat an fish and everything was so well done... new Pastis is a top restaurant in global competition. Thanks Mikel for the service and to do a memorable night for us ??????????????More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 14, 2020 via mobile

Gorgeous restaurant that captures the mood of Paris. Went for breakfast and the Avocado and eggs were delicious. Great service and location good for a walk on the High Line and Ground Zero.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 5, 2020

We had a brunch there on a Saturday in February and it was PACKED!!! We chose to eat on the "heated" patio. The food was delicious. The service good and the venue great! Highly recommend!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 3, 2020

The place was packed when we arrived, so had a couple of beers at the bar before a table came free (fair enough, tells you they must be getting a lot right). In short, very lively and noisy (in a good way) and the food...was wonderful. Would definitely return (nb: might not be the place you'd go if you're looking for a quiet romantic dinner for 2, but if you're looking for a place to go to meet mates for a few bevvies, a catch-up, a few laughs and some great food, this is the place).More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 21, 2020 via mobile

Situated very close to our hotel at the end of the high line. We walked in from a quiet street into a buzzing restaurant. Great atmosphere and food. Nothing more to add but would certainly return.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 17, 2020

I found this restaurant by accident in January. I loved it so much I came back a few weeks later and this is now my "go to" stop, while in NYC. The mussels and Frites are amazing. Truly a culinary experience. We also had the...steak sandwich. I am not exaggerating when I say this is the best, I've ever had. Love the service and the wine list is great. Perfect accompaniment to the mussels and fries........If you are there for brunch try the eggs benedict. Wow......The french onion soup is also a meal on it's own. I honestly can't say enough great things about this brasserie........More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 16, 2020 via mobile

When my husband and I lived in the city, we went to Pastis all the time. And then they closed but now they’re back. And what better way to celebrate Valentine’s Day the lunch at Pastis. We shared the salmon tartare. I had to get...the croque madame while my husband got seafood bouillabaisse. The flavors were a wonderful and so fresh. We also shared the Bahama Rum cake and Toffee cake and both were amazing. Overall glad they’re back and we’re definitely coming back.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 9, 2020

Excellent. Love how they have carefully preserved h]the feel of the old establishment and dropped it into a new location without losing any of the charm. Has a French feel, although I go to Paris too often, so this is definitely the New Yorker version....That said, for Francophiles a long way from home, and for those wishing France a little closer, this hits the mark. Book, book, book!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 28, 2020 via mobile

Great ambience. Wonderful staff. Brunch food so good. Arrived early and the staff were so welcoming. Always loved Pastis - used to come here often- so glad they reopened. Did not feel rushed.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 20, 2020

I went with about 10 other colleagues for a business dinner and was really looking forward to this meal. It's VERY loud - even by Manhattan standards, but that did not bother me. My friends are "foodies", so pretty much anywhere they pick is really...outstanding. They are both live in Manhattan. First of all the ambiance, decorations and service were top notch. Pastis is one of the hotter restaurants (Dec 2019) in Manhattan so I was happy to go. I ordered the special - the Cassoulet and it was so bland that the mustard/pickles that accompanied the dish didn't begin to help it. One other colleague ordered the Cassoulet and I was wondering if it was just my dish since it looked like they were prepared in individual dishes. She said hers was really bad. Nothing rotten about them - just tasteless. I will say, that everyone else loved their dishes and I did try the butter poached lobster roll and it was out of this world. I've never had better lobster (only one bite) in my life. I would go back just for this one dish. The appetizers of Lobster Ravioli, artichoke and steak tartar were all really goodMore

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
West Village
Stretching from Sixth Avenue to the Hudson River, the
West Village is one of the city’s most coveted
addresses. Full of trendy shops, historic taverns, and
cozy restaurants set amid 19th century architecture,
this neighbourhood has a unique old-world feel. You
won’t find a more picturesque location in Manhattan.
Without the traditional city grid layout, it’s easy to
get lost here, but that’s part of the fun as you
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Soho 54
1,962 reviews
1.72 km away
The NoMad Hotel New York
1,022 reviews
1.69 km away
The Inn at Irving Place
103 reviews
1.71 km away
W New York - Union Square
1,665 reviews
1.55 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bubby's High Line
1,064 reviews
.08 km away
Untitled at the Whitney
444 reviews
.13 km away
Santina
479 reviews
.10 km away
STK Downtown
862 reviews
.07 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The High Line
62,316 reviews
.11 km away
Whitney Museum of American Art
3,143 reviews
.18 km away
Samsung 837
17 reviews
.16 km away
Subrosa
11 reviews
.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Meghan C
October 11, 2019|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from patrician98 | Reviewed this property |
Whatever makes you happy.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing