We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Fri., 09-25
20:00
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$15 - US$30
CUISINES
American

Location and contact

Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
0.6 km from The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

This eponymous restaurant is dark, sexy and attracts an endless stream of downtown denizens. Abundant candles produce more atmosphere than light for th...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Comfortable restaurant
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
215
75
30
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
215
75
30
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews halibut chilli chicken tasting menu bread sushi new york by the glass chef dish appetizers nyc bite egg
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed February 24, 2020

We were a group of 6. We ordered the special chef's menu Food with exception of 1st course was plentiful. Steak was both tough and tasted blah Chicken was ok and plentiful. The other dishes were fair. Long wait between courses. Meal believe it or...not came to over $350.00 a couple. Definitely not worth it. No one from our group will return to this restaurant.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 23, 2020

Very, very expensive even for a special event, very, very noisey and trying too hard to serve UNIQUE food. Our table was cold as we were seated by the door. Without drinking much in alcohol, our 3 couple party paid $350 a couple for a...dinner that tasted uninspired. The Hiramasa appetizer was wonderful as were the rolls. They tried very hard to accommodate my own very unique and restricted diet. I also had the very best vanilla ice cream I have ever had besides my own recipe. However the other 5 diners in our party complained of uninspired seasoned food and tough steak. There was a large quantity of food however our leftovers were packed incorrectly and some disappeared never to reappear. Service was accommodating but slooooowMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 26, 2020

Great restaurant, but god forbid you have a food intolerance, they won't accommodate even though the waiter asked us if we have any intolerances or allergies. My wife is also pregnant and wanted a mocktail, but they only have one choice which was a jalapeno...infused drink, not ideal. Their solution was juice and sparkling water, which was a bit shocking for such a high end restaurant.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

There are no words to describe how wonderful and special you made my daughter’s wedding dinner. The food was amazing, the service impeccable and the attention to detail was spectacular. You helped to make this special day even more memorable. Thank you, thank you, thank...youMore

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 10, 2019

I would describe the decor of the restaurant as charmingly rustic. The food and service were fabulous. The wait staff was ready and willing to meet your needs but also left you alone to enjoy your meal. We had the truffle ravioli, sushi and shared...chicken. All were good but I would not order the ravioli again as it is a small portion size for a $49 price tag. The other dishes were outstanding and a good amount of food for the money. The bar area is large and was very crowded on the Wednesday night when we were dining. You will need a reservation.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 15, 2019

The ambiance was more rustic than expected, though still comfortable, and not indicative of the refined, sophisticated food and excellent service. We enjoyed the tasting menu for $129, which consisted of at least 8 courses including 2 dessert courses, plus an extra bite of Laotian...sushi that was not listed but that we definitely were hoping to try. The accompanying wine paring was fairly priced although we did not partake. The three outstanding dishes were the hiramasa, a squid ink pasta and the egg dessert, each of which had multiple layers of taste and texture and visually impressive. The service throughout was never less than outstanding; it was paced so that we were not rushed but we also never waited more than 5 mins between courses. We were offered an explanation as each dish was served as to its ingredients and/or how the chef intended it be consumed, and our water and wine glasses were never empty before someone came to fill or inquire. The wines by the glass were served with a generous pour at the table, unlike some corporate places that measure out 6 or 9 oz exactly and not a drop more. We enjoyed our experience here and will absolutely return.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 4, 2019

Went here on the recommendation of my sister. The service was amazing and we were presented with some delicious bread and butter and other small nibbles throughout the meal. These were all amazing. We ordered the lobster chili and their special of mussels as apps...and then shared their 28-Day Dry Aged Porterhouse (it's meant to share). The mussels were underwhelming, the lobster chili wasn't really a chili, more of a spicy sauce with lobster and some bread. It was actually delicious but much spicier than I would have anticipated. But the star of the meal was the porterhouse, which we agreed was the best steak we have ever had. It did NOT run cheap (almost $200 US for just the steak), but again, it was an amazing steak and it came with some side dishes, which were also pretty good, though nothing spectacular. We had dessert, which was their daily donut and was good, again nothing to write home about. If I'm being honest, I am happy to have gone to the restaurant, but I'm not sure I feel the need to return. I'd check out something different first, but that steak was fantastic and made the meal memorable.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 20, 2019

My third trip to Marc Forgione did not disappoint. The service was attentive without being obtrusive and the suggestions were spot on. My duck was superb and the freshly caught Halibut was so fresh. We love the atmosphere and feel that it is neither stuffy...nor overly casual. The family style service available on Sundays is a feast! One of our favourite places to eat while In NYC.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 3, 2019

Worth every dime we spent! Beautiful place. The restaurant itself sets you up for a great dining experience, it gorgeous! The service is top notch! From beginning to end! The lobster chili is fantastic! Try it! I almost ordered it again!! We had several things...on the menu, including dessert, after meal coffee's, wine....we just could not get enough! We dined late on a Saturday evening...the place was not crowded at all! We felt well taken care of! Can not wait to go back, if anything to sit at the bar!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 24, 2019

We enjoyed our dining experience at Marc Forgione. Since it was our first time at the restaurant, we chose to go with the tasting menu - a seemingly endless series of small dishes to sample, each one delicious and unique. The meal lasted two and...a half hours. The restaurant was very attractive and the service was excellent. I highly recommend a visit and hope to return in the future.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
599 reviews
1.23 km away
The Leon Hotel
470 reviews
1.20 km away
U.S. Pacific Hotel
82 reviews
1.21 km away
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
1,995 reviews
1.22 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Scalini Fedeli
427 reviews
.09 km away
Zucker's Bagels & Smoked Fish
455 reviews
.07 km away
Khe-Yo
173 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Duane Park
8 reviews
.05 km away
Tribeca Art Factory
5 reviews
.23 km away
The Mysterious Bookshop
24 reviews
.18 km away
Patriot Saloon
6 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
355timp
December 5, 2019|
Answer
Response from Henry_Saurborn | Reviewed this property |
Approximately US $120.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing