We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Asian, Thai
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly

Location and contact

Midtown West
0.6 km from Times Square
Improve this listing
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
20
7
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
20
7
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jasmine rice thai food butterfish tom yum soup curry chicken string beans fries family style holy basil fantastic thai morning glory sister restaurant hell's kitchen turmeric dishes sauce spicier
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed February 5, 2020

With about thirty Thai restaurants in the neighborhood, competition is tough, but this one ranks high. Our chicken larb was highly flavored with holy basil leaves and peppers. Our go-to dish, Penang curry, was simple with tender, and not slimy, beef. It was not loaded...with too many vegetables that don’t always go with the sauce, which was thick and flavorful. A dish of pork belly with string beans was rich, though a bit too salty. The room has a country cabin look with long picnic tables and benches to share. It’s not particularly comfortable but sort of fun. Service was good.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed November 20, 2019

This place is great. Came with coworkers during lunch, in-and-out in 1 hr. The food was delicious and fresh. I like that you can choose 2 lunch dishes for a set rate $16. It's a lunch room set-up which was cool and different. We were...seated right away. My only negative comment is the lettuce bowl that came on the side was not washed thoroughly. Some of the pieces had dirt. Otherwise we will be going back. Good service and food!More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed November 1, 2019

I am a big foodie and always in search of a good Thai meal, this establishment had some great food but some odd rules I personally could not come to terms with. I don't think restaurants should put rules forth that don't allow their customers...to share food. We were a group of 3 and wanted to share the 2 pick and mix meals and grab some rounds of sake but were not allowed to do so. It really bothered me because it wasn't like we didn't order drinks as well. I haven't had an experience like this in any NYC restaurant. The food was definitely great and so was the ambiance. I felt like I was in a cafeteria in Bangkok. If you like good thai food and being told what to do- this is the place for you.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 27, 2019

I love Thai and have been to lots of restaurants, but this place had dishes I hadn’t seen or tried before. Dining is family style where sharing is encouraged. For starters we had the shrimp & crab dumplings (very light and flavourful), the spring rolls...(nice and crispy), and the vegetable dumplings (wrapped in green dough, these were outstanding, with a slight peanut flavor; wish I could eat those right now!). We did the pick & share which came with four cups of rice (2 white and 2 red): The Green Curry Chicken was a huge hit, as well as the Five Spices Pork Belly with hard boiled eggs and some tofu in a wonderful broth. Another standout was the Fried Butterfish which was served simply with no sauce but moist and full of flavor. The Crabmeat Tom Turmeric was good, spicy, with a light coconut based sauce. Everything tasted very fresh, and one can see the kitchen preparing these dishes in large steaming earthenware pots. We also had the only dessert they offered: sweet/salty sticky rice with longan fruit and coconut cream. Oh, boy, soooo good. I’ve had it before but this version was packed with flavor and they had added shaved coconut to the rice giving it a great texture. Even the person on our table who hates rice pudding couldn’t stop eating it. Next time in the city, I’m heading to Taladwat!More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 19, 2019

Went for lunch and companion was vegetarian so took set lunch (for $16) and ordered sauteed asian greens, wok chayote squash and red curry tofu. All the dishes lacked flavour,very watery and made in advance so didn't taste like fresh from the wok. the red...curry was watery most of it leafy vegetables which doesn't go well with a already watery sauce The 4th dish of turmeric chicken was good (meat taste was excellent) but it was still a run of the mill sauce. haven't tried all things on menu but would avoid veg and just get meat dishes.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 13, 2019 via mobile

Unpretentious place, friendly courteous service, warm down to earth decor and FRESH tasty food. A definite must for foodies.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

Great any-two-dish-for-$20 menu, so you can easily try many different dishes in one go! Food wise, it's labeled as countryside Thai food, which simply means the preparation and ingredients are never too complex. This, however, does not mean that the food is tasteless. On my...first visit, I tried some of my usual Thai picks: pad prik king (wok fried pork with string bean), fried mackerel, the crab curry, and morning glory. On the whole, the food is quite authentic and definitely hit the spot for me as someone who loves Thai food. I am, however, a bit disappointed that the taste is a bit toned down to accommodate a broad range of audience and would have preferred the flavor to be bolder and stronger. For anyone who is wishing to try a different type of Thai food that you probably won't find in the heart of BKK, I would still recommend Taladwat.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 10, 2019

It's communal seating but don't let that discourage you from eating here. The food is amazing. We got the combo plate which is you get 3 small sizes dishes for 1 order. THis allows you to share lots of different things. There were 3 of...us so we got to try 9 different things which was fun. THere wasn't anything that wasn't delicious. Try it all! You can't go wrong!More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

One of the best Thai I ever had. Smooth flavour good prices cosy home atmosphere. It worth a visit Will have again.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed June 14, 2019

Limited but authentic Thai menu with reasonable prices & an eclectic mix of drinks. The sauces on the the side are much spicier than expected, so ask for a glass of water as well! Friendly, polite service. One caveat: the picnic table-style seating, which seems...awkward in that you have a share a space with someone, & if they move on the bench, it's a bit unbalanced/uncomfortable. Why not just have separate tables?More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Hilton Club - New York
891 reviews
.71 km away
Carnegie Hotel
258 reviews
.69 km away
Sanctuary Hotel New York Times Square
4,630 reviews
.71 km away
The Westin New York at Times Square
3,824 reviews
.68 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
B Side Pizzeria
500 reviews
.03 km away
Hell's Kitchen
382 reviews
.04 km away
Briciola
263 reviews
.04 km away
Arriba Arriba Mexican Restaurant
340 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
New World Stages
342 reviews
.12 km away
Friday Spa
6 reviews
.08 km away
Posh
39 reviews
.09 km away
Gossip Bar NYC
22 reviews
.10 km away
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing