We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Meals
Dinner

Location and contact

Upper East Side
1.4 km from The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

After honing his skills at the New York outpost of O Ya, Chef Don Pham has made his way to this quiet residential stretch of the Upper East Side, where...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Comfortable restaurant
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
22
1
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
22
1
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews omakase truffle sushi tempura caviar new york chef courses city ingredients dish nyc
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed July 3, 2020

DURING THE VIRUS we just arrived in New York after 7 months in Palm Beach and immediately looked to see what kind of take out Sushi Ishikawa was doing. As I expected, it's thoughtful and excellent. I ordered, took a taxi up to them and...called when I was in front at the time requested. Anyh came out, gave me our bags and we were on our way. Of course, everything was perfect.............and fairly priceMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 11, 2020 via mobile

Just an amazing, fun, omakase experience using tons of truffles, caviar, and Uni! Always such a warm welcome from a stellar crew.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 29, 2019 via mobile

I had some family recommend this spot and knew it was a going to be a great place to dine at for a friend's bday. Chef Don is a true artist and definitely has passion in everything that he does. He told us stories of...his apprenticeship in Japan, thought process into building each dish and typical day in the life of a NYC sushi Chef. His rich history and charismatic personality definitely made our night. I booked the last table for 15 course omakase and it was worth every penny. Some of the highlights include the uni/ tuna filled hand roll, white caught yellow tail, torched toro with otoro and black sturgeon caviar and edible gold flakes, Ikura with uni/caviar/truffle on a piece of toast, fried zucchini blossom tempura topped uni/truffle salt/ black truffle, and the king salmon with Thai chill sauce. Each dish was very innovative, featured plenty of rich flavors and we were definitely on a culinary journey. Highly recommend this spot if you want some authentic Japanese cuisine and a great dining experience. I'll definitely be back for another omakase experience soon!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 3, 2019

Was in NYC for the weekend and wanted to treat my boyfriend with good sushi for his 30th birthday. We took the 12 piece omakase and were blown away by it. Everything was so great, it definitely ruined every other regular sushi for us! Also...the staff was amazing, very friendly, and even treated us to complimentary champagne when they learned it was my boyfriend's birthday. I would definitely recommend as this is one of the less expensive omakase in NYC and it is still quite amazing.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 23, 2019 via mobile

First time here. Got the dinner for $155 per person. Sushi was very different and only the very best ingredients were used. Lots of truffles and caviar. Omakase is a very different experience. Would definitely try it again.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 18, 2019 via mobile

Why go anywhere else when you’ve been to the best? If there is anything that I am a little bit of a brat about, it’s high end sushi. Since it’s pricey, I don’t go often. When I go, I want it to be an unforgettable...experience. Sushi Ishikawa is an unforgettable experience. We were lucky enough to score a reservation on a Friday night. We sat at the sushi bar, which I strongly recommend, especially here. Chef Pham is so personable. You would miss the opportunity to interact with him if you sat at a table. Everything every reviewer wrote before me about the menu is true. If you are a fan of truffle and uni, you will be happy with the amount that is served. Also, go big or don’t go. Get the 16 piece option. It’s not just a matter of the number of pieces. You get the highest end of fish they have. Even our sake selection was perfect. I can’t wait to go back!More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed June 27, 2019

We returned after 6 months in Florida and found that nothing has changed.....in this case, a good thing. Our 12 course dinner, each course one piece of sushi with spectacular flavors, was perfect. As before, we were beautifully treated. It's hard to explain the gestalt...of Sushi Ishikawa other than WONDERFUL. Yes, it's expensive.....call it about $150/person after taxes & tips. Yes, well worth it.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

Really nice little hidden gem. Romantic If you are sitting at the bar. The one on one chef experience is highly enjoyable and recommended. They like to explain the intricacies of fine sushi and how important quality is. Ishikawa is certainly one of my favorite...sushi places in the city - although - we don't go there too often as it is one of the higher priced spots. But it certainly is worth it for a special occasion.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

There are many really good omakase experiences in this neighborhood that serve larger portions of more refined fish.

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed April 7, 2019

Sushi Ishikawa is fabulous. Only 24 seats (12 at tables, 12 at the sushi bar). They only take reservations two weeks in advance, so you must plan ahead as they fill up quickly. There are two omakase dinners 12 courses and 15. The twelve is...ample, each course is one piece of sushi. They are very accommodating to personal preferences and allergies. They also have an extensive and affordable sake list. Sushi here is not what you might get at other comparable restaurants – the fish is wonderful, fresh and served with wonderful, complimentary sauces, flavors and herbs. Each piece has its own distinct flavor. I couldn’t wait until the next taste. It is expensive, but worth the price. Service is pleasant and efficient. I am in a wheelchair and they couldn’t have been more helpful and nice. Sushi Ishikawa will become our go-to high-end sushi restaurant. Can't wait to go back.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Upper East Side
Combining quiet residential neighbourhoods that have
easy access to Central Park with world-famous cultural
institutions, the Upper East Side is one of the most
livable places in the city. Along beautiful Fifth
Avenue, you’ll find Museum Mile, which houses many of
the nation's most famous attractions in a single
stretch, like The Metropolitan Museum of Art and the
Guggenheim Museum. Walk a few blocks into the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Quin Central Park by Hilton Club
3,607 reviews
2.03 km away
The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
109 reviews
2.02 km away
The Kimberly Hotel
2,579 reviews
2.02 km away
Double Tree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan New York City
6,794 reviews
1.97 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
2nd Avenue Deli and 2nd Floor Bar & Essen
146 reviews
.11 km away
Campagnola Restaurant
180 reviews
.07 km away
Sasabune
100 reviews
.10 km away
Delizia
65 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Sotheby's
31 reviews
.24 km away
Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Cathedral
7 reviews
.20 km away
The Sweet Shop NYC
13 reviews
.09 km away
NYC Adventure eBike Tours and Rentals
31 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sushi Ishikawa staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing