We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Korean-born Simon Kim opened Cote as a joyful celebration of his home country’s love for beef allied with his admiration for the great American steakho...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
One MICHELIN Star: High quality cooking, worth a stop!
Comfortable restaurant
About
COTE, the carnivorous vision of proprietor Simon Kim, blends the dining experience of Korean Barbeque together with the hallmarks of a classic American Steakhouse. The result is a unique, convivial and interactive atmosphere, accompanied by the highest quality USDA Prime beef, an impeccable 1200+ label wine list, and a suite of classic-but-creative cocktails Smokeless grills in every table, combined with cuts from our in-house dry aging room, ensure that every morsel of steak is hot, fresh, and caramelized every bite. COTE is NEW YORK CITY'S first Korean Steakhouse.
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Steakhouse, International, Barbecue, Asian, Korean
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Table Service, Street Parking, Family style
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
75
35
12
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
75
35
12
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kimchi paella beef egg souffle american wagyu kalbi dry aged ribeye crudites lettuce wraps hanger steak omakase rice soups tasting menu short ribs ice cream oysters
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed April 9, 2020

During the pandemic, we had to hastily rearrange our wedding. We couldn't have our family or friends at the wedding, but we decided that we could look for amazing food. Enter Cote - they sent us the best meal that we've had this year, and...portion enough that we'll be eating it all weekend. They even included a lovely note and present. Amazing. If only I could give 6 stars....More

Date of visit: April 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 17, 2020

A great experience for anyone who loves Korean food. The restaurant is very trendy and the welcome was warm. The food was really tasty with decent portions; we went for the steak tartare and Korean bacon to start, followed by the Butcher's Feast. Wine prices...were OK, especially for New York. Overall, it wasn’t your traditional fine-dining experience. I did feel like we were a little rushed. One of the servers was also the most miserable man alive! Quite difficult when it's such an intimate service, with him cooking the meat in total silence as you sit awkwardly.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 10, 2020

We visited Cote together with some friends and to say I was excited before the visit would be an understatement. We arrived and started with a couple of drinks in the bar, they were all well presented and tasty, I also appreciated the bartenders willingness...to accommodate changes to the cocktails. Once seated we opted for the Butcher's feast and also added the A5 Wagyu. All in all, the food was amazing. Depending on your palet you will enjoy some meats more than others obviously but the flavors were there and it was all cooked to perfection by our waitress. We also had the scallops which were on the specials and those were fantastic! We rounded of the evening with a cocktail in the bar downstairs which we would have completely missed if it wasn't for our waitress recommending it when she overheard our conversation about where to go for a last drink. We will be back on our next visit to NYC for sure!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 9, 2020

We didn't have a reservation, for 2 of us, but they fit us in. If you've never had Korean BBQ this place is a fun and great place to start. They are very attentive and the food is delicious.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

Unfortunately, quite far off from the Michelin star experience we expected. Firstly, when ordering restaurant is rather inflexible with allergies (primarily seafood allergies as there are prawns in majority of dishes). We had the Butcher’s Feast plus some extras and the meat itself was okay...- definitely wasn’t the nicest we’ve had but not horrific. The service was decent they came over and cooked the food for you although when different servers are rotating it sometimes led to the meat being overcooked. The worst part - we both left feeling unwell stuck on the toilet and given the queue for the restrooms at the restaurant I don’t think we were the only ones. Very unhappy with this experience as we expected a nice meal to finish off our holiday in NY.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 15, 2019 via mobile

Great restaurant overall. Attentive and well educated staff, great feel/ambiance and most importantly great food.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed December 4, 2019 via mobile

Really good place with the best service and great food. Booking is kind of difficult and I can imagine why. It is so popular. I really enjoyed the experience. Get 100% attention all the time from the waiters. Top notch

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 18, 2019

We visited Cote for my husband's birthday and it was overall an enjoyable experience. We made sure to make reservations and since it's a party of 2, the only options were 5:30pm and 10pm (I believe). Book early because it fills up quickly. We went...for 5:30 so we could go for a walk afterwards. We were running a bit late and they had a grace period of 15 mins which we just made. We were seated at a large booth which was very spacious. Our server came by shortly to welcome us to Cote asked if it was our first time there (and it was). We weren't super hungry so we wanted to make sure we didn't get large portions. Even after stating this, the server still recommended we get some appetizers which we did. We ended up get the shrimp app with the Butcher's Feast as our main. Along with that, there were many side dishes, rice, soup etc that came with the meal. The appetizer wasn't needed. The cooking itself was done by the server and she would go around from table to table and cook for all the customers. She was friendly enough but didn't seem like she really wanted to be there (just my opinion). She would explain the cut of the meat and cook in front of us. We were given a bunch of sides before the cooking started and about 1/2 way through the Butcher Feast, a bunch more sides came out. Everything was good and authentic, however we were pretty stuffed at this point and wasn't really enjoying the meal as much as we would like. Definitely come hungry and perhaps skip ordering any additional apps since the sides they provide are plentiful! We were given complimentary ice cream which was very yummy but they did not provide any additional complimentary dessert for my husband's birthday (which was fine since we were stuffed).More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 18, 2019

The ambiance, the service, and the swift service were all amazing! The butchers feast allows you to try all the different cuts but the portions could be better.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 17, 2019

Cote is a great NYC spot with a great vibe and trendy, but not pretentious feel. The decor, the modern booths, the center bar along with the feel of a more traditional Korean BBQ venue makes it worth checking out. That being said, there are...some major flaws that have to be figured out to make the dining experience match the environment. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly, but you don't get a server, you get a squad of 4-5 of them. Therefore, each server is unaware of when the last one came over to refill a water, ask if everything is ok or flip the meat. That's right, you don't do the cooking, they do it for you. So if you were expecting to cook yourself as is with Korean BBQ, you will not be doing the majority of it. If you are a casual diner, no problem, but if you know meat, you have to trust a non chef/cook to make your food to perfection which did not happen for me. Medium rare was often rare and I'd have to put it back on the grill. More troubling was that the quality of the meat was excellent but it was only lightly seasoned with salt. That type of grill is perfect for their marinated short rib cut but the salt will fall right off the steak cuts leaving you with tender but bland meat, which is sad. The butcher's feast for $54 was the way to go for a first visit and they do give you a ton of sides, soups and other tasty items. We ordered their "paella" which is a poor name but tasty wagyu beef/rice dish, they also had a creative egg souffle and soft serve ice cream. The secret may be the wedge salad which was special and the pork belly appetizer was solid. Overall worth a look for sure. Not be as tasty as a top NYC steakhouse or as hands on as a Korean BBQ. Still enjoyable and a fun setting with quality ingredients.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Flatiron District
Offering many of city’s best restaurants and shops set
amid classic New York architecture, the Flatiron
District is no longer under the tourist radar. At 23rd
Street is the famous triangular Flatiron Building,
which makes a good picture no matter what angle you
photograph it from. Be sure to look up at the elegant
architecture as you stroll the streets- much of this
neighborhood is part of a historic district that was
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Avalon Hotel
2,337 reviews
.80 km away
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
1,114 reviews
.80 km away
Seafarers & International House
325 reviews
.79 km away
Oakwood Residence Sixth Avenue
60 reviews
.79 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Eisenberg's Sandwich Shop
575 reviews
.11 km away
Zero Otto Nove
261 reviews
.06 km away
Deep Indian Kitchen
128 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Flatiron Building
3,403 reviews
.13 km away
Grand Masonic Lodge of New York
25 reviews
.20 km away
Tiffany Street Clock at 5th Ave.
17 reviews
.17 km away
Metropolitan Room
39 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Korce
July 25, 2019|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Choirmasterhk | Reviewed this property |
Casual!
0
Votes
mimi_tea
August 23, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from arisgysel | Reviewed this property |
30 Days
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing