We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
American
Meals
Dinner

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

There’s little resembling the Chumley’s of old, save the name, door, and framed book jackets of writers who apparently found their muse in a glass here...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Comfortable restaurant
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
25
12
7
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
25
12
7
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pastrami new york speakeasy rez apps
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 16, 2019 via mobile

The room feels like an old speakeasy. The cocktails are creative and very good. The food options are limited and expensive. However, they are delicious. The pastrami short ribs are outstanding and perhaps a reason to return. The staff is attentive.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 12, 2019

This is a dark, hidden, speakeasy. It speaks class and history. The dim lights add to the effect. Great spot for a cocktail before dinner in the area. It is small and gets packed later in the evening

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 6, 2019

Such a unique and amazing place steeped with history. Our meal was delicious and service was great. One of the highlights of our visit to New York!

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 23, 2019

Had drinks and apps. Good food, fun atmosphere with a lot of history.....ask about 86 and the prohibition

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Friendly staff, hidden speakeasy, great history AND phenomenal food and cocktails. We made dinner reservations for this place and loved it. I highly recommend checking this place out. The bartenders make a great old fashion and the gnocchi special knocked my socks off. I enjoyed...every bite.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 24, 2019

Made a same day rez on a Thursday early evening for myself and a friend. We were greeted warmly at the door and seated immediately to a cozy 2 top. The restaurant is dimly lit and is warm and inviting. The waitress was professional, personable,...and on top of everything during the entire meal. We had lovely drinks and a fabulous meal. I devoured my burger & fries!!! DELICIOUS!!! I HIGHLY recommend a FAB experience here!More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 19, 2019

This is the place where the term "86" originated. An old speakeasy from the 1920's and it retains its charm and atmosphere. We stopped for drinks while doing an audio tour of Greenwich Village. Learned a lot and had a blast. Definitely stop in and...enjoy a slice of history as well.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 22, 2019 via mobile

Came here with friends while away on business. Would highly recommend Great burger. Pastrami starter also good and desert worth staying for. Will return !

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 28, 2018

We were on a staycation and doing our best to visit some of the historical bars, taverns, inns and speakeasy establishments in NYC. Chumley's was on our list and in the neighborhood we were visiting this particular day. There is really no sign indicating the...entrance to this establishment, so you better know where you are going. We walked in and were pleasantly surprised. The staff was gracious and directed us to the bar where we were greeted by a pleasant barmaid. We chose some cocktails and some bar appetizers for our visit. The barmaid was pleasant and told us what she knew of the 1922 Speakeasy and it's history with writers, such as F. Scott Fitzgerald. She informed us that a local historian is a regular and we should visit when he was in house if we wanted to know more. Charming historical interior with a nice menu and full bar. A place we will certainly revisit.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed December 23, 2018

Forget the old vs the new Chumley's. The restaurant we eat in today is what matters. And today Chumleys is just another overpriced Village eatery, although an attractive and fun place, to be sure. Everyone raves about the burgers. Except me. I just don't think...huge fat content equals great flavor. I love bone marrow. It's part of this burger. So what? It doesn't make it tastier; neither does the slab of what seems to be American cheese inserted between the unremarkable buns. Fries are equally meh. I'm not crazy about the menu; maybe the limited offerings are what draw folks to the burgers. The service is friendly and knowledgeable, although the hostess and the gent taking our reservation were on the cranky side. All in all, it's an experience. Experience it, and move on.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
West Village
Stretching from Sixth Avenue to the Hudson River, the
West Village is one of the city’s most coveted
addresses. Full of trendy shops, historic taverns, and
cozy restaurants set amid 19th century architecture,
this neighbourhood has a unique old-world feel. You
won’t find a more picturesque location in Manhattan.
Without the traditional city grid layout, it’s easy to
get lost here, but that’s part of the fun as you
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
138 Bowery
18 reviews
1.69 km away
The Inn at Irving Place
103 reviews
1.58 km away
The Ridge Hotel
615 reviews
1.67 km away
Seafarers & International House
325 reviews
1.46 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Little Owl
1,247 reviews
.05 km away
Buvette Gastrotheque
926 reviews
.12 km away
Sushi Nakazawa
280 reviews
.05 km away
A.O.C. L'aile ou la Cuisse
355 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Friends Building
418 reviews
.07 km away
Cherry Lane Theatre
43 reviews
.08 km away
Barrow Street Theatre
37 reviews
.16 km away
Lucille Lortel Theatre
20 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
michaelrR1235JB
January 20, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BalhamBoy100 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure if there’s a dress code TBH. We turned up late afternoon just for a few drinks, didn’t book in advance and were greeted in the best possible way! The young lady at the front desk even gave us a table and we chatted... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing