We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Seafood, Asian, Thai
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Table Service
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
31
14
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
31
14
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crab fried rice pork cheeks curry thai food wings manila clams coconut ice cream oysters tom yum tiger prawns branzino salad white fish thai place bond st including vegetarian non spicy
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed May 31, 2020 via mobile

I just ordered two items; the chicken wings and the crab fried rice. Might be the most delicious things I've tasted!

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 15, 2020

Amazing Thai cuisine. Cozy space, efficient service. We loved most dishes, while avoiding the too spicy ones ! Manila Clams. Tom Yum. Crab Aob woonsen. Tiger Prawn karee. Yum Hed Yaang. Plenty of food for our group. Definitely worth the visit!

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 20, 2020

Visited from London and keen to try this very popular Thai place relatively near our hotel. Booked in advance, and glad we did. Had a great tequila based spicy cocktail. Shared dishes of zarb wings, one of the specials, crab curry and cabbage side dish....All super good. Decent portion sizes and GREAT service. Would highly recommend.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 19, 2020

Possibly my favorite restaurant we ate at during my last NYC trip, and seeing there were some top 50 and Michelin starred restaurants in there it says a lot. We did one of the menus for two, and everything was excellent. The corn salad that...seemed like filler, was one of our favorite things. So much flavor, so much spice. The service was lacking, but the food was so good it didn't matter.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 17, 2020

Having just spent a week in Bangkok immersed in the food scene here, I was delighted to join friends here who heard how great Fish Cheeks was. It delivered. We loved (!) every single dish . . . ones that you will not find on...the menus of every other Thai restaurant around. Morning glory, big hunks of crab in a spicy coconut sauce, fried fish topped with chopped delights in a bright sauce. If you are a Thai fan and want something genuinely special, this is the pace to go.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 22, 2020 via mobile

Fish cheeks is awesome although impossible to get a reservation. We decided to walk in and wait and it was well worth the effort. We started with some awesome fried chicken that had an amazing sauce on it. Then we ordered some pork cheeks which...were simply amazing and i would come here and wait in line just for them. We also had tiger prawn karee which were delicious. Crab fried rice which was also amazing and steamed fish. It was all delicious but i would be neglectful if i did not include a comment about the service which was excellent. This was a crowded lively restaurant but was neither too loud nor too rushed. It was absolutely perfect Thai food and we will certainly be back to try more of their food!!! I think fish cheeks far surpasses uncle boons and somtum der. This is my go to Thai place!!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

Located right in NoHo my friend from NY recommend this spot. Also on of Chrissy Tiegens fav Thai spots. My friend and I shared some cocktails, grilled pork cheeks, zabb wings, coconut crab curry with a side of greens. This was plenty of food for...2 people. The craft cocktails were delicious. The pork cheeks were cooked and cut perfectly. The right amount of salt and each bite was packed with flavor. The zabb wings are a must order. They came out piping hot. The Thai chilis, lime and mint added some great flavor. The coconut crab curry is a must order if you love seafood and curry. Rich Southern style broth with a little heat. A fan favorite and the crab was plentiful. Fish cheeks is a really small location, but they do feature seats for large parties. Service here is great and the food comes out quickly. It's best to make reservations prior. If you want authentic Thai this is your placeMore

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 27, 2019

The food is spectacular. No complaints. Husband and I got the happy hour oysters served Thai style + drinks to start. We then did the two person set seafood menu. I don’t eat meat so we substituted the wings for the pomelo salad. The corn...salad came first. My husband said, “if this is a preview of what’s to come I can’t wait for the rest of the meal”. They did not disappoint. Every dish was unique and mouth watering. The staff were very warm and friendly, too! The woman behind the bar remained cheerful and attentive even when they were slammed. The spot itself is very cute. I loved the wall paper, lanterns, and colorful tables. Note: If you can’t handle your spice I recommend letting the waiters know as the crab curry was just teasing the edge of being too spicy for my husband (was perfect for me). I would also recommend making a reservation as it can get busy. We will definitely be going back. Can’t wait to try the branzino and the herb wraps. ????yum! One of my new favorite places in NYC.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 30, 2019 via mobile

My partner and I arrived at the end of happy hour, in time to order a dozen of the happy hour priced oysters. We both really enjoyed topping the oysters with the herby mignonette and crispy onions - something I would like to recreate at...home. We ordered one off the pre fixe options which may have been our downfall. The food started coming out really quickly. Not yet done with the oysters and the runner was trying to put the two app plates on the table. Once we barely settled into the apps, the mains were brought out and the table got uncomfortably overfilled. We still enjoyed our food, but we certainly would have preferred a less ruched pace.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 12, 2019 via mobile

We came here as a group of 7, and ordered lots of items. The chicken wing appetizers were great, spicy. The curry was favored by most of us, as well as the fish (both types) and soup. We were less excited about the prawns, and...the crab fried rice was kind of bland. Cabbage side was good, nothing out of the ordinary but good. Our table was so full we had to keep eating and passing to get platters off the table to give room. Enjoyable family night out.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel 17
1,354 reviews
1.21 km away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
1,775 reviews
1.21 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
1,086 reviews
1.14 km away
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
2,479 reviews
1.14 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Saxon and Parole
312 reviews
.08 km away
il Buco Alimentari
426 reviews
.08 km away
Il Buco
520 reviews
.03 km away
Gemma
445 reviews
.07 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Joey Ramone Place
19 reviews
.05 km away
Sheen Center
9 reviews
.08 km away
New York Marble Cemetery
6 reviews
.13 km away
Bowery Poetry Club
8 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Fish Cheeks staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing