We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat., 09-26
20:00

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly

Location and contact

Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
0.6 km from Chinatown
Improve this listing
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
9
2
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
9
2
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed August 17, 2019

This place has great atmosphere and of course, if you didn't already know, is an awesome place to see films. This however was the first time I'd actually had a full meal there and I have to admit I was a tad disappointed. The menu...is nicely varied but it's one of those places where you kind of play roulette with whether the main dishes require sides or not. As it turned out, my partner's King Salmon was ample but my deconstructed Moussaka was a ham-steak size slab of Moussaka in sauce and that's it. Complicating this further, the sides are interesting (the Shishito Peppers were delicious) but they don't easily pair with the mains and I ended up having the Cauliflower Cakes with my Moussaka which was tasty but not a great combo ... the wait staff like many in New York are not exactly helpful when it comes to these decisions which is why I rated it the whole experience Average and not Very Good. The flavours were solid but the meal was a bit of a jumble.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 30, 2018

Watched the "Muffet's Christmas" while in for Christmas,my daughter goes often so mentioned it to us & was a winner.A sure classic was very much enjoyed.

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed March 1, 2018 via mobile

Enjoy the art house films in a setting where there is a reverence for film. Be ready to choose your seats before entering the theatre. A great date spot; enjoy the dinner inspired by the canteens of 1940s Hollywood, with excellent waitstaff! The cocktails are...enthusiastically shaken behind a very authentic bar. This is the Metrograph's second birthday, and I hope this experience will be available for a long time to come!More

Date of visit: March 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed May 12, 2017 via mobile

Great place, nice atmosphere, helpful and discreet staff, very good food and fantastic pancakes! One of my favorite places in NYC.

Date of visit: May 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed March 19, 2017

Gorgeous dining room, great service, and the best steak tartare dish I have had in ages. The lamb with mint skordalia was heavenly and the lavender cocktail was perfect. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: March 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed March 13, 2017

My daughter and I met with a local friend for brunch (as you can book a table). Lovely bright space, excellent bloody Mary and good plate of smoked salmon.

Date of visit: March 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed January 17, 2017

We are one of the lucky ones to have a restaurant/movie theatre walking distance from our home. Thanks to the owners for saving this old building and turning it into a nice venue. We arrived promptly at 9am for breakfast and we were the only...ones during the whole time we were there. I had the egg sandwich and it was one of the best breakfast sandwiches I've ever had. I would have warmed up the feta cheese in it if it was me. The espresso drinks were so good that we both had seconds. Nice atmosphere, quiet, good value. Thank you.More

Date of visit: January 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

The cafe is quiet in the late am, which I give high marks at the start. The food is great, service gracious and friendly which means alot in a crowded place like NYC. I've not seen a film yet there, but their selections are fantastic,...often with Q &A's from independent film directors and actors. Love the restaurant and their food is really unique. I went to brunch. It's a new venue,More

Date of visit: January 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed December 19, 2016

A friend recommended this and it was a real disappointment. It was loud, the food expensive and mediocre and what ticked me off the most was expensive wine served in tumblers. There is a reason for stemware....but they have not figured that out. The waitstaff...looks like schoolgirls who forgot to put on their plaid skirt and are not well trained. Not going back.More

Date of visit: December 2016
Helpful?
Reviewed December 11, 2016

Metrograph Commisary is definitely worthwhile for pre or post movie dining. The staff is wonderful, especially Gabrielle. We arrived way short of time due to subway difficulties, but they still managed to serve us delicious food before our movie began. The pumpkin soup with hibiscus...and bee pollen was delicious & the mac and cheese side creamy and just the right size. The Jack Lemmon salad and side of sweet potatoes were right on as well. We will be back, next time with plenty of time to have a full meal.More

Date of visit: December 2016
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Moxy NYC Downtown
311 reviews
1.51 km away
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
1,164 reviews
1.49 km away
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
1,610 reviews
1.26 km away
Aloft Manhattan Downtown Financial - District
344 reviews
1.42 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Fat Radish
252 reviews
.09 km away
Kiki’s
157 reviews
.10 km away
Bacaro
96 reviews
.09 km away
Dimes
71 reviews
.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Museum at Eldridge Street
457 reviews
.21 km away
Hester Street Fair
31 reviews
.15 km away
C.W. Pencil Enterprise
12 reviews
.07 km away
Meow Parlour
74 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Metrograph Commissary staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing