We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor: Temporarily closed

Le CouCou Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
MICHELIN 2020
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Mentioned in

Location and contact

Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
0.5 km from Chinatown
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Take one part Chef Daniel Rose, France’s favorite American expat, and add Philadelphia-based power restaurateur Stephen Starr, and you have Le Coucou, ...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
One MICHELIN Star: High quality cooking, worth a stop!
Very comfortable restaurant
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
French, European
FEATURES
Gift Cards Available, Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
296
80
47
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
296
80
47
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rabbit foie gras quenelle lapin halibut prime filet dover sole mousse avocado toast chicken prix fixe salad crepes ice cream fries open kitchen wine list
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed August 8, 2020

I made it difficult for Le Coucou. I went there on a Monday, generally a quiet evening, when the best cooks of a kitchen brigade tend to stay at home. I decided not to take their most popular dishes (pike quenelles, tout le lapin, bourride)....I brought my girlfriend, a hard-to-please diner. And the star Chef, Daniel Rose was not present. When the meal started, I was certain that I was going to corner the bird and accuse it of not living up to its hype. The oysters and anchovies were fine, but given the hype, they did not deliver the emotions we came for, therefore I was determined to “pluck the feathers” of the bird. But Le coucou fought back, and the bird went on cruising at exceptional altitudes. By the time the beef filet and carre d’agneau arrived at our table, the bird was out of reach, really high in the skies. Then the desserts were served, and I received a note, falling from the sky “coucou, I am not… I am actually a crowned eagle, ca te va? ” Crowned eagle, you are, buddy! Can’t agree more. Ca me va! Hype is always too much, oftently impossible to live up to, but Le Coucou deserves its reputation. It is, right now, a destination restaurant serving some of the very best French fares outside of France. And it happens to have an interior that is very easy on the eyes.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 20, 2020

The location is a bit out of the way in a nondescript part of the city however once you walk through their doors you find yourself in golden lit dining rooms with the comfortable buzz of conversations from the happy diners. The tone is casual...elegant so no sneaks expected but no jackets required, a nice comfortable balance. There is a nice selection of offerings to cover all food preferences and they are also accommodating to special dietary requests. My friend and I came in planning to do a sampling from the menu and our waiter, Travis, brought to our attention that a dinner option was a four course prix fixe that would provide us with all our planned choices and dessert as well, a great option if you are going for the full menu options. We started with oysters and leeks with hazelnuts. The oysters were clean and fresh tasting with a nice hint of the sea, the leeks lightly cooked in a very mild sauce with hazelnuts was a pleasant bite. We then moved on to the foie gras in a light but delicious jus, and the toasted bread that came with the dish was well appreciated to sop up every drop of the sauce. The foie gras was melt in your mouth wonderful. We also had the faux snails which were actually a layering of a mussel, turnip, and topped with sea urchin served in a snail dish. Again a little bread will serve you well to mop up the remaining sauce in the snail cuppings . For the main courses we tried the halibut over dakon , the fish was tender and the white sauce enhanced but didnt over power the taste, the mildly tart dakon was a nice counterpoint to the sweet fish. The prime filet was tender and it's accompanying side of oxtail under thinly sliced potatoes was a richly tasting meat lovers treat. I'd like to mention that portions are fairly generous and one could easily order less than we did and still have a very satisfying experience. Desserts were elegantly made and almost too beautiful to eat...almost but we enjoyed our Tarte Tatin, Chocolat Coucou, and a version of a classic Baked Alaskan. Wine and beer options are good and cover all price points and staff is knowledgeable to offer recommendations to fit your tastes and budget. While this is not an inexpensive restaurant, it is a good value restaurant when you consider the quality of the food, the excellent service, comfortable surroundings and that you will be enjoying your meal for a couple of hours at a nice leisurely pace. An enjoyable experience from beginning to end. A special thanks to our waiter Travis who was informative and helpful throughout our meal and truly made us feel welcome, it was a pleasure to have met you.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 17, 2020

Recommended! Tasty food, good staff, we enjoyed our evening there! Specil thanks to waiters, so professional!

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 14, 2020 via mobile

We celebrated our 12th anniversary at Le Coucou. I think they deserve much better recognition and accolades. Plain and simple. Their service, food and wine pairing are all head and shoulder above rest of their contemporaries!!

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 13, 2020 via mobile

Even though we just came back from France, we missed French food already. Le Coucou is an old-time classic French restaurant located in Chinatown in a hotel; a French restaurant that is half-staffed with Asians, ironically. The food is good. But good French food like...this is around every corner in Nice, France where we’ve just visited, at about a third of the price. This place is way, way overpriced for good but not spectacular food. I left wondering how they’ve earned one Michelin Star. In NYC, there are many one Michelin-started restaurants that have much much better value.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 3, 2020 via mobile

My French foodie colleague recommended this, and we were very happy with the food. Lobster was my favorite dish! The atmosphere is also amazing, really recommend for a date or night out.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 2, 2020

This is a very French place in terms of the menu and the wine list. We had excellent food save for one fish dish which was fairly plain and monotone (in taste and in fact in appearance too). A good buzzy feel of lots of...people enjoying their meals but perfectly possible to talk and hear each other without any strain.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed January 27, 2020

Absolutely great... this was my fourth visit and still... You cannot choose wrong on their France-focused menu, but I must say the lunch pre-fixe is of great value. Dinner is definitely more expensive. My personal favorite was the foie gras crepinette, but everything was great....Definitely worth the visit for a special occasion, be it a romantic spot for date night, or a group dinner with friends. One of the top French restaurant in NYC.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 25, 2020

We visited this place because of the michelin guide. Good french food with well balanced flavours. a true gem

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 25, 2020 via mobile

This Restaurant obtained a Michelin Star and ever since then it was very difficult to get a reservation. Luckily, our daughter booked it several weeks ago. The interior was designed beautifully by Roman and Williams, with heaps of chandeliers. Linen covered tables with candles. We...had the four course meal and between us tried the Celeri Remoulade au Crabe (excellent), the Foie Gras Artichaut (very good), the Dover sole and the pigeon (outstanding). Their house cocktail is the English Milk Punch, which we enjoyed and then managed to find just about affordable wines from their ginormous wine list: we had Boulay La Cote Sancerre and a Clos Du Marquis, as well as a small bottle Marengo Muscat to go with the Foie Gras. The service was good and friendly (with a hint of attitude by some) and we had a most enjoyable evening.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
1,210 reviews
1.06 km away
The Beekman A Thompson Hotel
1,215 reviews
1.05 km away
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
649 reviews
1.04 km away
SIXTY LES
1,393 reviews
1.02 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Nomo Soho Restaurant
331 reviews
.06 km away
Hampton Chutney Co.
94 reviews
.13 km away
Troquet
69 reviews
.12 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Museum of Chinese in America
125 reviews
.09 km away
Canal Street Market
21 reviews
.09 km away
Fueguia 1833
5 reviews
.10 km away
New York City Urban Adventures
1,806 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Natasha G
December 4, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from doug100worth | Reviewed this property |
Call them
0
Votes
kathytand3
February 22, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from NCR_12 | Reviewed this property |
Call the restaurant or reserve on line
0
Votes
DLGirard
September 20, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from FredericoMeyer | Reviewed this property |
In advance ... lots of advance
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing