We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Bookatable

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Two friends who worked in London’s Gymkhana own this simple restaurant in a parade of shops. Its name means ‘story’ – their story – and they even made ...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
Bib Gourmand: good quality, good value cooking
Simple restaurant
About
Though our food will tell you our story. Modern Indian Cuisine brought to you by world class chefs in a rustic but cosy setting.
PRICE RANGE
US$19 - US$26
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Indian, Asian
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
444
62
24
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
444
62
24
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb chops pani puri butter chicken pistachio kulfi prawns curry rogan josh naan mango kebab starters and mains potatoes best indian book well in advance black pepper incredible food michelin star
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Another return visit and as before (see other review) it was overall excellent, especially the starters which are delicious. My girlfriends chettinard was lovely but my vindaloo had changed from previous visits, then it was subtle and flavoursome, this time it was mostly just hot,...i wonder if the recipe has changed??More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After having been told ' you must go to Dastaan' , we booked a table. Oh my, we were not disappointed. Cosy seating but socially distancing. Although a reduced menu the food was out of this world. Very few restaurants can create that delicious blend...of flavours. We had chicken lollipops, bhajees, pork cheek vindaloo...amazing! Staff we wonderful. Very polite and attentive (without being in your face). Definitely going back!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As before this was a should I shouldn't Ishare, in the end I had to think of the owners and staff of Dastaan as they really deserve credit. If you want Michelin food at Surrey prices then this is the place to go. The food...is amasing as are the staff. I have had nearly everyting on the menu now but if I had to pick my winners well they would be, to start; Pani Puri, the Lamb Chops (most definately) and the Lolipop Chicken. As for mains where do I start, Butter Chicken is fantastic, Lamb Rogan Josh to die for, Pork Cheek Vindaloo oh my goodness and no it is not hot (vindaloo is not supposed to be) as well as the Malba Prawns. Don't beleive me? Go and try it, you will keep going back, of that I have no doubt - this is REAL Indian foodMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 5, 2020 via mobile

Incredible food, amazing staff, well organised and always exceptionally clean. Very enjoyable experience and would highly recommend.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 2, 2020 via mobile

We had a delicious lunch here as a family of 6. The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. First time out a restaurant since lockdown, so we were all a little anxious but the staff were considerate and tables were kept socially distant....One minor point - this restaurant has no baby changing facilities.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed July 27, 2020

Really top notch restaurant Indian street food ate here on Saturday night gad baby chicken which came With a great garnish we also had chicken lollipops pork vindaloo dhal they recommended steamed rice and bread the vindaloo had a real tangy zeal everything really great...finished with. Kulfi and a type of Indian donut which was really lovely Only tiny they cope very well with covid regulationMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 25, 2020

Let me get right to it- we ordered Chicken Tikka, Lamb Chops, Dahi Sev Puri to start our meal, followed by Tandoori Prawns and Half a Tandoori Chicken. For the mains we had Lamb Rogan Josh and Chicken Chettinad with Naan, Paratha and Roti. the...chicken was oh so tender that the knife sliced right through it with loads of flavour and ditto for lamb chops. These came with cucmber and radish salads that were NOT an afterthought. They were downright fresh and delicious with a dressing of crushed mustard, lemon and corriander. Excellent! The tandoori prawns-actually tasted like prawns and not at all overpowered by spices. Tandoori chicken-100/100 for Chicken Chettinad and lamb Rogan Josh- looked and tasted like two distinct dishes and not like they were dunked in the same 'tomatoey' curry that is so rampant. Naan- soft Paratha- scrunched and flaky Roti- all wheat, tasted of the tandoor and not chewy at all. Service- very fast, very courteous without an iota of attitude and best of all our serve spoke Hindi when spoken to in Hindi. All this with the extra side serving a parking sport right next to the restaurant! I say go for it. Dont think twice before eating at Dastaan!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 23, 2020

Had a wonderful evening. Lovely food and excellent knowledgeable service. Will be going back very shortly.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed June 26, 2020

Last night we ordered a take away - three dishes, dal and two different breads. We spent £52. I asked for the butter chicken (which was to be my dish) to not be spicy (it is normally a very mild dish). However, it would have...got three chillis in terms of hotness. It was by far the hottest dish any of us had known in years. Only one person could eat it, and he found the dish too bland and didn't want any. The biriyani was delicious, but again incredibly spicy in places. I did not expect this. So, sadly, I could only eat the dal and the bread. My son, who loves spicy food and eats it frequently, said it was all too hot for him and he didn't enjoy the meal. On another note, we did not know there would be a 2 hour wait until the order was placed. There was no warning. In fact, we waited 2 hour 20 minutes. We were very disappointed and will stick to our normal favourite.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed June 12, 2020 via mobile

As an Indian living in London, this is the same food as you get in Delhi, just fresher! The Butter Chicken tastes just like Mughlai food (with a slight kick to it, just like it should). I actually asked the chef and he explained the...number of ingredients and their cooking method which shows why the taste is just like back home. The starters are exceptionally good as well. This is the best Indian I’ve had in London. Save yourself a trip to India and go here for authentic Indian food.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
London Croydon Aerodrome Hotel, Signature Collection by Best Western
1,012 reviews
10.44 km away
Travelodge Twickenham
70 reviews
10.05 km away
Travelodge London Richmond Central
439 reviews
10.44 km away
Premier Inn Epsom South hotel
777 reviews
7.93 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Topo Gigio
282 reviews
1.21 km away
Oottupura Restaurant
39 reviews
.20 km away
Ewell Court Tearoom
98 reviews
.80 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Goals Soccer Centre
5 reviews
1.24 km away
Surbiton Raceway
39 reviews
.74 km away
Jupiter Jo's
15 reviews
.95 km away
Court Farm Garden Centre
5 reviews
.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kevinhalst
December 25, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from T7577DPchrish | Reviewed this property |
It does have level access straight from the street.
1
Vote
n111kpx
November 22, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dastaan_447 | Property representative |
Dear Nikesh All of our curries are without bone. Kind regards Dastaan 447
0
Votes
TyQu
June 3, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from molly21 | Reviewed this property |
I doubt it very much, but you could enquire.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing