We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Joo Chiat
1.4 km from East Coast Park
Improve this listing
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
39
53
20
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
39
53
20
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prawn noodles ngoh hiang pork ribs fried shallots unagi dry version lime juice al dente lunch crowd soup base worth the wait lard freshness craving sg queue texture
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed August 7, 2020 via mobile

Reputable 90 years and 4 generations of Prawn Mee history, and almost un Singaporean if you haven't heard of or tasted this Prawn Mee located on the East side of Singapore despite their name Beach Road. Mostly famed for their soup version Prawn noodle, as...a fan of Chilli, Crispy Lard and Aromatic Shallots, I will still always prefer the dry version. Always hard to find a parking spot, you will see frequent Super cars flouting the no parking and take a quick risk though their queueing system, the preparation and meal time, usual a visit here will take up to 40 minutes at the least. Menu now starts from $6, $9 and $12. After the 30 mins queue, go big or go home. $12 gets you 2 Jumbo prawns in halves or a mix of 1 Jumbo prawn and 5 pieces of pork ribs. Their noodles, al dente, Chilli is a little sweet and less savoury, loads of fried shallots and bits of lard to coat the savoury noodles. Next the ribs, unlike many famed Prawn mee stalls, usually come dry and bland, here they're not exactly fall of the bones soft but well marinated and tasty. The Jumbo prawns are cooked to the right texture, and you can taste the pure praw. freshness, meaning they were not marinated ahead and thoughts went into the prawns as like it or not Prawns are bottom feeders and scavengers hence there are usually unsightly black veins. Here every prawn prawns are cleaned properly including the head parts which is quite rarely done. The star of the show, is the soup. Nice prawn umami, with a hint of garlic and shallots. Not too sweet, not too overpowering. Perfect Prawn Mee broth in my books. Since we queue for up to 30mins, might as well go the whole nine yards and have some ngo hiang, crispy Prawn crackers, century eggs to go with. All in all a $20 dollar hearty lunch. And whenever I have an hour, I will come back. Constant reminder to order the Soup version, and lated kick myself when I ended up with Dry againMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 31, 2020

This place never fails to satisfy my prawn mee cravings. I really enjoy the wuxiang here as well. Great prawns and pork ribs, with very flavorful broth!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 24, 2020

You can expect a crowd every morning during weekend for breakfast. The shop has great consistency for their broth and noodles. My favorite is the dry noodles with chili. If you are a big eater, don't miss out on the wu xiang. it's pretty good...too. One small thing to note. Parking can be troublesome as lots are limited.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 13, 2020 via mobile

Honestly still the best in terms of the broth, quality of prawns (and also the wuxiang served within the same place) out of the many prawn mee places i frequent

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 19, 2020 via mobile

I would say this is one of my favorite prawn noodle. I will not have the pork ribs cause it is a little too hard. Weekend morning the prawns is fresher, today (Thursday) my first time having it for weekday lunch, the soup taste nicer...but the prawn is not so fresh. If you dare to eat pig's tail. You should try it. It is soft and nicely cleaned.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 11, 2020 via mobile

It’s been awhile since I came here. Was a little disappointed. I ordered the prawn plus pork rib $9. It came with 2 half prawn and some pork rib but the pork ribs were tough. The soup is better than average. But based on their...standards. They were better in the past. I saw they had lime juice and barley and I ask could you mixed it up as I love to drink lime barley and I dun mind to pay the higher priced one. But they told me sorry lime is lime, barley is barley choose one.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 5, 2019

As expected, their prawn mee is really good. But the price is getting more and more expensive. $9 for a medium size prawn mee. The ngoh hiang there is really good though.

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed June 23, 2019 via mobile

Still the best prawn mee in Singapore. Must visit the place at least once a month to satisfy my craving

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 19, 2019

broth was well flavoured and comforting. its on the pricey side but the trade off is meted with fresh ingredients. parking is a challenge though but its worth the wait.

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

My family’s place for prawn mee & Ngoh hiong fix for many many years. Recently the price is hiked up again. Noodles getting lesser too. But taste still as good.

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Joo Chiat
The Joo Chiat area is the traditional home of
Peranakan culture in Singapore, an ethnic group
descending from the blending of Chinese and Malay
families in the 15th century. The neighbourhood is
packed with colourful shops, local characters, and
quiet charm. The main streets overflow with diners
enjoying katong laksa, the signature Peranakan spicy
noodle soup. Signs of youthful entrepreneurship are
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Darlene Hotel
24 reviews
3.80 km away
Regin Hotel
73 reviews
3.94 km away
Hornbill Hotel
92 reviews
3.72 km away
Hotel 81 Orchid
543 reviews
3.78 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Al Forno
350 reviews
.11 km away
Comida Mexicana
90 reviews
.13 km away
JAG Wine
26 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Katong District
250 reviews
.43 km away
Marine Parade Market
29 reviews
.87 km away
112 Katong
67 reviews
.77 km away
Marine Cove Playground
24 reviews
.85 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MinnieL97
January 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Henry L | Reviewed this property |
Just saw this. CNY 2017 has passed, so no answer can be useful to you. Sorry.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing