We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 09-27
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#63 of 3,687 Asian in Singapore
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Asian, Singaporean
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Art and sculptures aren’t the only treasures found in the National Gallery – on the 2nd floor is this restaurant from Violet Oon, Singapore’s own natio...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Comfortable restaurant; one of our most delightful places.
Reviews (1,149)
Filter reviews
1,053 results
Traveller rating
583
310
113
31
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
583
310
113
31
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef rendang coronation chicken butter prawns ngoh hiang roti jala assam fish tapioca ayam chap chye kueh pie tee coconut ice cream cod mee siam eggplant cake wings soup
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Highly recommended! Each dish - prawns, beef, fish and the starters was amazing and distinct. Truly a modern take on Peranakan that keeps the tradition alive. The service was awesome especially the manager Krishnan, a true customer focused guy who elevates the experience

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

I brought a Japanese client there to try out the Southeast Asian/spicy dishes and he was super impressed by the quality of the food. I was super impressed by the service and the renovations! Fantastic location and I will go back again.

Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well you don't come to National Kitchen just for a casual meal. At the price point, you probably come for either a celebration or to impress your foreign friends on peranakan food. The beef rendang is a must try because the texture is incredibly soft...to bite while still firm enough to scoop up to your plate. The dishes served are rather small. Please look into the option of a larger serving option in the menu.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing food and THE BEST service. Jess was attentive and a real gentelman. We can’t wait to come back. A must do in Singapore, peranakan food at its best. Don’t miss it!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 9, 2020 via mobile

Frequented both Ion outlet and National Gallery within a matter of 2 weeks and noticed a great difference in the types of food served. Disappointed with the former but satisfied with the latter. Jessie at NG was immensely helpful and friendly with her recommendations making...the night so joyous for 3 seniors like us. She even improvised with a ‘kueh bingkah slice cake’ on hearing of friend’s birthday followed by a complimentary photo of me and company. What a surprise and how sweet and thoughtful of her. Not forgetting other staff here who were equally attentive and friendly. Definitely will recommend NG for its fine dining.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 4, 2020

The food was incredible, the service was really attentive and the restaurant was beautiful. It took us a little while to find it (it's tucked away on level two), the toilets are a little far away and the aircon is on the cooler side, but...none of those were showstoppers. We will be back!More

Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 1, 2020

We went on a Thursday evening for dinner for 5 pax. The chicken satay, ayam Pong tay and bubur hitam were absolutely delicious. However we had doubts for the chap chay (the traditional kim chiam was missing from the dish, and the cabbage was too...crispy, as though the dish wasn't stewed long enough).More

Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 29, 2020

Ambience - Cosy Food - Mediocre, Ordinary Service - Passable Value - Depends (In terms of Food - Poor; Ambience - Fair) The Roti Prata was the highlight of our dinner on Saturday 18 July 2020. Other dishes were unimpressionable.

Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 17, 2020

I had the ngor hiang, which was rather crispy and flavourful. However, the sayur lodeh was disappointing. The coconut milk smell was very strong and thick. The chicken buah keluak was so-so; two of us couldn’t finish 3 pieces

Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 16, 2020 via mobile

This is our second time here. Love the food, the Beef Randang is so good. We also ordered the butter prawns. Overall the service and food is excellent with value for money.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Marina Bay Sands
29,189 reviews
1.06 km away
Marrison Bugis Hotel
357 reviews
1.01 km away
The Southbridge Hotel
366 reviews
1.06 km away
Somerset Bencoolen
357 reviews
.99 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Fu Lin Men Chinese Restaurant (SRC)
146 reviews
.26 km away
Odette
434 reviews
.11 km away
Yan
239 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
National Gallery Singapore
1,271 reviews
.11 km away
Esplanade Park
436 reviews
.16 km away
St Andrew's Cathedral
401 reviews
.18 km away
Singapore Cricket Club
168 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
GJPKEM111
November 9, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 292joym | Reviewed this property |
Don’t know if you can sit outside. Such a nice fun inside space why would you want to ??
0
Votes
TrailBlazer798496
October 24, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from neutrinos80 | Reviewed this property |
I am afraid that I cannot recall this detail exactly; however I don’t have memory of an uncomfortable seat.
0
Votes
Google Translation
AnnaFowler
December 22, 2017|
Answer
Response from A6312LYsharonl |
Hi, I dont think they do but maybe you can try emailing them. Their food is great but will be a bit on the high side.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing