We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

JAAN by Kirk Westaway

Claimed
Save
Share
MICHELIN 2019
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$50 - US$200
CUISINES
British, Contemporary

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Veering away from the modern European fare this kitchen used to specialize in, chef Westaway revisits his heritage and culinary experience to present a...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
One MICHELIN Star: High quality cooking, worth a stop!
Extremely comfortable restaurant; one of our most delightful places.
Sponsored by: JAAN by Kirk Westaway

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Michelin Star Restaurant
1. Michelin Star Restaurant
"The tasting menu was incredible from start to finish"
ADSKCB17
See reviews that mention Michelin Star Restaurant
2. Award-winning Chef Kirk
2. Award-winning Chef Kirk
"chef takes such care in presentation and it’s all packed with flavour"
ssantos80
See reviews that mention Award-winning Chef Kirk
3. Breathtaking View
3. Breathtaking View
"the views from this restaurant is spectacular"
puchki2208
See reviews that mention window table
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
630 results
Traveller rating
428
116
53
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
428
116
53
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amuse bouche petit fours chocolate dessert tasting menu langoustines snapper lamb caviar wagyu soup chef julien royer window table special occasion fine dining culinary experience michelin star marina bay
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 23, 2020

I have eaten three times at JAAN under Kirk Westaway. The food is truly superb and beautifully presented. At S$110++ the set lunch comes with many pre and post meal goodies and is a lot better value than the now very expensive Les Amis and...Odette. My only gripe, we have never secured a table by the window. Perhaps you have to book months in advance.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Jaan-Swissotel, Operation Manager at JAAN by Kirk Westaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2020

Dear Mike W, Thank you for taking the time to provide us this amazing review regarding your experience with us! We are delighted to hear that you and your guest had a great afternoon with us and enjoyed the whole experience. Looking forward to welcoming...More

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed January 4, 2020

Good number of staff assigned per table, Simone Macri and his team were attentive without being over fussy, what an old world charm indeed! The wine pairing is highly recommended with the Kirk Westaway’s tasting menu. Hope they will consider juice pairing for non-alcoholic drinkers...in future and I have no doubt they’ll be able to deliver it with the highest standard like their food and service.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?3  
Jaan-Swissotel, Operation Manager at JAAN by Kirk Westaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2020

Dear Theresa, Thank you for the lovely review and thank you for choosing JAAN by Kirk Westaway! We are pleased to hear that you truly enjoyed your experience with us. We have passed your compliments on to the rest of the team and we hope...More

Reviewed March 21, 2020 via mobile

We have been here before, and I’m sure the food and service is still of a high standard. However last evening’s handling of our booking cannot go un-published. Jaan has evidently decided to not admit anyone who had travelled anywhere in the world in the...last 10 days. This is not in line with MOH’a published policy for Stay Home Notice which excluded the country I had visited for the date of my visit. It is Jaan’s own policy. But that is not my gripe. I fully respect each restaurant’s choices to protect their staff and their clients. My gripe is that we were never contacted and advised of this policy. Instead we were turned away at the front desk upon arrival. It was a special Birthday Dinner. We were left with nowhere to go. Surely a restaurant of this standard can plan ahead. They have our number and in fact had text us to confirm the booking, it would have been good to know the policy then, or even to ask clients to complete their form/declaration prior to arrival. That would have given us the chance to make alternative arrangements for dinner. Very disappointed.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed March 7, 2020

Dined here with my better half. We opted for the vegetarian set and the food was fabulous from the get go! The beetroot meringue and the barley in pumpkin sauce were exceptionally good. Jay and reiko took great care of us and took time in...explaining all the components of every dish well. We had a lovely evening and will definitely return.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Jaan-Swissotel, Operation Manager at JAAN by Kirk Westaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2020

Dear dulcedelight121, Thank you for the lovely review and thank you for choosing JAAN by Kirk Westaway! We are pleased to hear that you truly enjoyed your experience with us. We have passed your compliments to Reiko, Jay and the rest of the team and...More

Reviewed February 14, 2020 via mobile

We had an unforgettable birthday dinner at Jaan. glad that we got a window seat with the stunning view. Amazed by the artistic presentation of an incredible array of food. Each dish had a special touch that made our night full of surprises. Only wish...the waiter reminded us that caviar would be included in a few dishes so we wouldn’t have ordered the 30g caviar as our appetizer. Not a cheap meal but it’s definitely one of the best Michelin star experiences.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Jaan-Swissotel, Operation Manager at JAAN by Kirk Westaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2020

Dear Tina Chiu, Thank you for such an amazing review! We are pleased to hear that we made your birthday dinner unforgettable and we will share your kind words to the rest of the team. Hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Alessia

Reviewed January 24, 2020 via mobile

A top class michelin restaurant though it has only 1 star. Book 1-2 months ahead to increase your chance of window seat, it’s worth it Only 1 dinner menu, and each course is very good to excellent. The ribena pre-dessert brought back childhood memories! Been...here during different seasons so the menu changesMore

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
Jaan-Swissotel, Operation Manager at JAAN by Kirk Westaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2020

Dear bcheong, Thank you for taking the time to provide us this amazing review regarding your experience with us! We are delighted to hear that you had a great evening with us and enjoyed the whole experience. Looking forward to welcoming you again at JAAN...More

Reviewed January 23, 2020

The food, Chef Kirk, the mgt team, the view...everything was amazing..loved it!! We will visit again.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
Jaan-Swissotel, Operation Manager at JAAN by Kirk Westaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2020

Dear Meg, Thank you for such an amazing review! We are pleased to hear that we made your dining experience special and we will share your kind words to the rest of the team. Looking forward to welcoming you again at JAAN! Best regards, Alessia

Reviewed December 25, 2019 via mobile

Our daughter organized a four course lunch for my husband and me. In Singapore this is the best food we have had till now. The warm and welcoming service made the afternoon even better. The food was delicious but the presentation made it just out...of the world. I wish they would get a second star. But could not understand why with all this delicious food we had to pay for our water. Kudos to Chef Kirk Westaway .More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed December 25, 2019

Have been to many Michelin stars globally but Jaan is unique in that it is much more welcoming and less formal Went to celebrate my parents anniversary Staff was wonderful, gave us a table with a view Am lactose intolerant so tried to accommodate by...making the food close to lactose free This is my 3rd visit to Jaan - would definitely repeat The only thing that surprises me is the charge for water! They should get a 2nd star soon!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed December 16, 2019

My partner and I have tried most of the finest restaurants in Singapore , London and Korea , and we have to say that JAAN has finally forsaken Chef Julien Royer and Chef Andre’s touch and has come up with fine dishes that I cannot...find elsewhere . It is far superior to Odette , and Odette is only even a benchmark because the first two times I came to JAAN , it tasted somewhat similar to Odette . However , the new reinventing British is truly Chef Kirk Westaway’s original creation , unique and delightful . Every dish blew us away unlike before , and this is the first time I finished fish and Pigeon in any restaurant , even in London’s Alain Ducasse and The Ledbury . Ive never ever finished fish or Pigeon and I usually try to have them swapped for something else because I do not think many chefs know how to make them well . However , JAAN’s Pigeon dish no longer tastes gamey and rubbery and is even tender and delightful . Furthermore , their snapper tastes amazing and even their vegetarian main dish , did not reek of onion or have a bitter onion aftertaste . Very pleasant experience , beautiful view and dedicated service (finally) by JAAN’s staff . Also , the aircon is finally NOT AS COLD as before and the music (still can be better) but is finally not as loud . Do get the window seats 1-2 months in advance to fully appreciate the skyline of singaporeMore

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?3  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Marina Bay
More of a mini city than a neighbourhood in the
traditional sense, the iconic Marina Bay aims to
dazzle and entertain visitors of all kinds. This is
the Singapore found in glossy brochures, featuring a
world-class hotel, casino, shops, restaurants, bars,
and other attractions all geared towards pure
entertainment. The SkyPark at Marina Bay Sands
provides a stunning view of the city, a must-see photo
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
4,525 reviews
1.10 km away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Singapore
124 reviews
1.01 km away
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
3,374 reviews
1.08 km away
Hotel G Singapore
3,488 reviews
.89 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
SKAI
616 reviews
.04 km away
Din Tai Fung
669 reviews
.06 km away
Wooloomooloo Steakhouse
685 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Chijmes
751 reviews
.27 km away
Raffles City
517 reviews
.06 km away
St Andrew's Cathedral
401 reviews
.21 km away
Civilian War Memorial
143 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
conscienciouseater
September 28, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from C2368FVchucks | Reviewed this property |
Not on our visit.
0
Votes
Vinny D
November 4, 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from PatrickTerenceLim | Reviewed this property |
Jaan is an exclusive and posh restaurant so I would not dine there with anything less than a nice shirt, trousers and dress shoes. So certainly no shorts and flip-flops for sure.
2
Votes
NikolinaVujosevic
October 30, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from PatrickTerenceLim | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there is an a la carte menu but we order the chef’s degustation menu which was excellent.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing