We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Indian, Seafood, Asian, Singaporean, Malaysian
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
266
375
128
51
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
266
375
128
51
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews satay seafood bbq stingray oyster omelette carrot cake tiger prawns popiah fried rice crab cockles chicken wings sting ray hawker centre table number food stalls stall holders food court
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stay away from this stall. I ordered 3 local coffees and got 3 coffees diluted with water!!! Unfortunately, paid them without trying the coffee and it was the worst ever. We took the coffee back to them only to find out they made 3 in...1 instant coffee packets instead of what we ordered. As we questions them, the Indian lady pretended not to understand and just said ‘sorry’ . Don’t EVER buy anything from them as I feel , they just do not deliver what they advertise and are out to just take your money.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 16, 2020 via mobile

Lively hawker foor centre with a great beer atmosphere has been vanishing in Singapore. Newton since decades ago had been a well known touristy hub for hawker food, beer sessions with friends and a down to earth Singapore street scene feel. Through the years renovations...and trends changed the many stalls here. Today, it still feature quite a few stalls offering bottled and craft beers, many grilled seafood vendors, nice satay and charcoal grilled chicken wings. Still a great place to chill for a beer and some local beer food, though seats are now quite limited, no thanks to social distancing. Teochew Fishball Noodles, Heng Chai Tao Kway, Guan Kee Grilled Stingray and TKR Satay and Chicken Wings, or Michelin recommended Alliance if you're up for some chilli crabs. Lastly go for Asahi Black or 1664 Blanc by the tower for $50 to wash all that down. Great value eat!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed June 20, 2020

We came here on a Monday at lunchtime. It was quiet and quite a few of the stalls were closed. However there were still a lot of delicious options to choose from! Not the best place for Satay, go for some of the other options....Prices were a little more on the expensive side compared to some other hawker centres. It's a short walk from the Newton MRT station, easy to get to. A must when visiting Singapore!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed April 28, 2020

this is where most tourist go to have a sumptuous meal of any local food and seafood you like. Just be careful with the price mark!

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 25, 2020

This place is a super popular spot among tourist to visit and have they local food fix. Honestly, as a local I would really drop by this place to eat as well as there are really legit local food around here. Just that I will...really do it once in a blue moon and if I am coming with a big group of friends. Some of the common dishes that I will order: 1) Hap Kee Fried Oyster omelette- It is really very cripsy and there is really wok Hey within the dish. Waiting time is always between 15-20 mins but personally I think is really worth the wait! 2) Satay- This is a corner stall, located nearer to the washroom area, like how the Satay was well balanced with the charred ends and the juicy meat areas! 3) BBQ Seafood - Basically I am not really very picky with exactly which stalls because it's really hard to go wrong with BBQ seafood. Although yes sambal plays a huge part to a dish but I feel that I tasted better ones, so usually I will just order to get a complete Newton Food Centre experience!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 23, 2020

What a great food crawl experience! So much to choose from so we got a little bit of a few things from different stalls---satay, fried rice, veggies, noodles, soup, dessert! There were also a few people who tried to help get you food at no...extra charge. We loved everything that we tried. The drums and dragon dance entertainment was a bit loud but definitely delightful and enjoyable!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 16, 2020 via mobile

This is a place that tourists go to. Or office workers nearby. Everything costs 20% more expensive here. And parking is pretty crowded. You're better off going to local places like old airport road food centre, bedok North, kaki Bukit, Adam Road food centre, or...Chinatown!More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 10, 2020

Very nice food area mostly for fish, a little bit touristy but high quality of food. Easy to reach and recommended.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 4, 2020

We were introduced to this food delight by our nephew who lves in Singapore. It was so good we returned for a second visit. So many places to choose from and the food was just amazing. The satay chicken and tiger prawns were delicious. Will...definitely visit again in the future. And it's location a short walk from the Newton MRT station makes it a breeze to find.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 17, 2020 via mobile

We weren’t sure which food market to visit but as Crazy Rich Asians was filmed here this was where we chose. It’s mad inside with everyone fighting for your business. As a vegetarian I did struggle to find some food but in the end I...found the Indian stalls to be most suitable so I enjoyed an amazing curry with paratha bread and they ask for your table number and bring it over. My husband said that the chicken satay he had was the best in the whole world. It is a fun place to people watch too as you get a good mixture of locals and tourists from all over the world.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Lloyd's Inn Singapore
1,044 reviews
1.64 km away
Radius International City Lodge
4 reviews
1.59 km away
Orchard Grand Court
320 reviews
1.60 km away
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
3,279 reviews
1.52 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Li Bai Cantonese Restaurant
205 reviews
.34 km away
Chui Huay Lim Teochew Cuisine
330 reviews
.31 km away
The Dining Room
187 reviews
.36 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
United Square Shopping Mall
44 reviews
.75 km away
Beauty World Centre
23 reviews
.43 km away
SK-II Boutique Spa
9 reviews
.53 km away
Spa Rael
44 reviews
.66 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Bigkmc
January 30, 2020|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Vacationer710067 | Reviewed this property |
Yes it’s open ..
1
Vote
travellercolin1234
December 14, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from meanderingsoles | Reviewed this property |
The place is always busy but as a solo Traveller you will find a seat.
0
Votes
alemracpadventures
February 18, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from aakhanna | Reviewed this property |
Newton food centre is buzzing in the evenings . Last orders are around 10.30 pm mostly due to the sea food stocks running out .
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing