We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Chinese, Seafood, Asian, Singaporean
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly

Location and contact

Bukit Merah
3.0 km from Singapore Botanic Gardens
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

This popular cze char restaurant may not be the most conveniently placed, but it does some great dishes, like fried salted egg crab, coffee pork ribs a...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
57
59
17
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
57
59
17
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salted egg crab liver hor fun pork ribs coffee ribs cereal prawns seafood clams yam basket fries mantou kai lan noodles bee hoon burger yam ring aircon room
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very popular eatery serving tasty local Chinese dishes. For first timers, their signature dishes are a must-have and these taste just as good as takeout.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 28, 2020 via mobile

The same restaurant has also branched out to burgers as well using Zi Char dishes incorporated into burger. Bought the salted egg York pork burger and it is super delicious! It comes with fries and a drink as well. Must try when you are here.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed February 11, 2020 via mobile

Typical Asian menu with good food. Not a real vibrant atmosphere but the food is nice, serving various range of food types. Prices are definitely ok.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 26, 2019

Good zi char restaurant in reasonable price, salted egg crab is fresh and tasty and service is prompt

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 1, 2019

had a wonderful dinner at this busy zhi char restaurant. we chose to sit al-fresco as the aircon room is too congested and the food cooled too fast. Anyway, we had good vegetable dishes, and homecooked fish with bittergourd, and the pork ribs too. All...under $150! the disappointment came in the takeaway orders as we need to feed some hungry folks at home. ordered the hor fun and yee mee. The hor fun was yummy with wok hei, though at $9 (for medium order), there is little meat, fish in the gravy. and hardly any greens. The biggest disappointment is in the Yee Mee. This is suppose to be al-dente noodle that has a distinct flavour. The takeaway pack was sadly lacking in flavour and texture. The noodle was soggy (we suspect they actually got a wrong breed of noodle!). At $5 (for a small portion), there were 3 slices of pork, and 2 slices of fish, and no greens! I wouldn't recommend anyone with this takeaway dish at all. better luck with the zhi char stall at the nearby hawker center.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 13, 2019 via mobile

Very good chinese food and a lot of people know about this place. Reserve ahead or Come early because there is already waiting by 7pm! We ordered steamed fish with light sauce, their signature coffee pork, kway teow and mushroom veggies. Everything was good.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed November 1, 2019

Crabs were good and fresh. It was a hot day and so we were pleased we had opted for the air conditioning part of the restaurant. There are actually 2 different parts of the restaurant... I wonder if there is a price difference. Anyway, 2...crabs at 72 dollars a kilo.. I miss the days when it was just 28 a kg... anyway.... plus some duck, yam ring, veg and noodles.. it came up to exactly SGD300 .... okay for a table of 8. I mean the crab price has just gone crazy these last few years...More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 14, 2019 via mobile

The food here were just average. Even the Prawn Paste Chicken doesn't taste as good as the usual ones. They were just not crispy at all. It just tasted like the usual fried chicken with prawn paste but failed on the texture. And they're mostly...boney parts (ribs), not the usual chicken wings. The only food that's good here was their Coffee Pork Rib, fragrant and tasty. I wouldn't recommend anything else out of the 7 dishes I'd ordered during my visit there. A total no no on the yam dish and their "famous" mushroom wrap (I don't know what's the actual name for that) which was recommended by their waiter. Definitely not worth the trouble of getting to the restaurant.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 31, 2019 via mobile

Local friends took me to KEK for lunch. Understated local ‘kopi tiam’. Greeted by the friendly staff and owner. Introduced to some unusual and sumptuous food, things that I had not had before when I left Singapore 23 years ago. Fried fish skins, marmite burgers,...pork marinated with coffee, chilli crab and clay pot liver. My God, the food was delicious! Real gem. Turned out that all my other friends knew if this place. Probably a restaurant known to locals, less likely to foreigners without local knowledge. Check it out and you will surprised how good it is. No MRT stations nearby but a quick ride on a taxi, or if you prefer a ride with Grab.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 23, 2019 via mobile

After seeing this restaurant on Netflix’s ‘Street Food’ knowing I was coming to Singapore 2 months prior I anticipated something amazing. KEK surpassed my expectations. Authentic ‘street food’ in true Singaporean style if you’re in Singapore KEK is NOT to be missed an experience I’ll...never forget!More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
12,126 reviews
4.04 km away
The Seacare Hotel
260 reviews
4.03 km away
Orchard Grand Court
320 reviews
4.04 km away
Fragrance Hotel - Ocean View
28 reviews
3.99 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
La Saigon
21 reviews
.10 km away
Alexandra Village Food Centre
35 reviews
.10 km away
Joe's Kitchen Thai Cuisine
40 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Southern Ridges
1,167 reviews
.77 km away
Hort Park
132 reviews
.86 km away
Reflections at Bukit Chandu
89 reviews
1.30 km away
Gillman Barracks
59 reviews
.84 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
trinaparis
October 29, 2019|
Answer
Response from agogoadventure | Reviewed this property |
I don't think they serve gluten free dishes.
0
Votes
Rockmaniac89
May 1, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Danny K | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, couldn't remember the actual price but I know it's fairer than most similar outlets in Singapore.
0
Votes
kingd934
July 1, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from joannachak |
Yes
3
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing