We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlenut

Claimed
Save
Share
MICHELIN 2019
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Contact the restaurant for instructions.
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

#147 of 3,687 Asian in Singapore
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Location and contact

Tanglin
0.9 km from Singapore Botanic Gardens
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

The high ceiling makes the dining room feel open and spacious, while bamboo lampshades and wooden tables add a sense of serenity. Influenced by his mot...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
One MICHELIN Star: High quality cooking, worth a stop!
Simple restaurant
About
The restaurant serves up refined Peranakan cuisine that preserves the essence and complexities of traditional food, with astute twists that lift the often rich dishes to a different level. Helmed by chef Malcolm Lee, Candlenut is committed to continually create inspired and elevated Peranakan dishes using the freshest seasonal produce available.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Asian, Singaporean, Fusion
FEATURES
Takeout, Gift Cards Available, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
230
165
85
25
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
230
165
85
25
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu wing bean salad rendang crab curry kueh pie tee ice cream keluak cendol wagyu beef durian dessert red snapper tiger prawns rice soup curries omakase fries
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Food not bad but was serve in bite size bowls. Felt that it’s very expensive. For that pricing, the restaurant lacks personal touch. Wouldn’t go back for a second time or even recommend a friend

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Cosy restaurant perfect for lunch. Amazing service. We had a set lunch and a bottle of wine. The set lunch came with 3 appetisers, 5 main dishes and 1 dessert. Food was amazing. We had a wonderful meal

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This award winning Peranakan restaurant has a much nicer dining atmosphere in its current location. Their food and desserts are not all consistently impressive though, depending on what you order.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 24, 2020

we booked this with high hopes especially as they rang to check our dietary requirements. I'm vegetarian and my wife doesn't take red meat which they were told, we also told them we'd like the tasting menu when they rang. so it was a bit...of a surprise that on arrival the following happened: 1) I asked if we could sit outside which was completely empty bar 2 tables, no they said even though there was no one there and the place was empty (the option to choose wasn't available when booking) 2) we had to check in which is fine but to be told we had to leave the restaurant because StarHub doesn't work inside is quite ridiculous - get it fixed if you know it's a problem 3) despite being empty then they showed us to the worst table in the restaurant at the back next to the kitchen entrance and serving part 4) the atmosphere was terrible, not conducive to any kind of dining 5) we explained that, as per the phone call, we'd like the tasting menu for both of us. they said that they could only do it for the fish eater and even then they couldn't replace the red meat/pork in the tasting menu which was not very friendly or helpful. I said how am i to match my wife's dishes if I have vegetarian ala carte and my wife has the tasting menu...they said "the chef and kitchen team don't have the resources to create a vegetarian tasting menu". you mean you don't have any vegetables I said sarcastically? they repeated that the chef couldn't do more than a couple of vegetarian dishes..... that was the final straw, we got up and left as they really didn't listen, couldn't care and really don't deserve your business, they are not customer focused at all if Jeremy at JAG can create a different menu for every single person every night who comes in that is 8 courses based on the seasonal ingredients why can't another restaurant in Singapore using the same resources? don't go here if you're vegetarian or you want good service they clearly don't want any customMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed July 20, 2020 via mobile

3.5* if I had the option. Good but not very good. Satay and rendang both tasty. Although I've had better rendang in SGP. Chicken curry was good enough but not amazing, nor was the fish dish we had. Service was friendly and attentive, which tipped...me to 4* rather than 3. Maybe the tasting menu would light it up a bit more, but too much fish on there. A veggie tasting menu would be a great addition. Not in a rush to go back.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 17, 2020 via mobile

Food was decent but service was a real let down. 1. Server served rice bowls with thumb in bowls, likely touching rice. Did the same for all 5 bowls. 2. Uninterested attitude from 4 out of 5 staffs that we interacted with. 3. Wanted to...order more soup, single personal bowl servings, but was told it’ll take at least 30mins with emphasis that they are serving a FULL HOUSE tonight. So I skipped that and thought nothing much of it until that attitude right after our dinner. 4. Was ok with all above until the bill being shoved to us mid way thru our table conversation, right after dessert on the pretense that one of use asked for the bill, real cheap move. “Eh... someone asked for the bill?!” 5. Staff clearing the table emphasising that he had to prepare for the next seating already. 6. Our reservation time 1845 which we kept accurately to and we had no intention of exceeding our 2hr dining allocation time for party of 5. But being rushed off right after the 90mins mark seriously left a bad taste. Attached my receipts to show time stamps. 7. Wasn’t expecting such service at all for a Michelin star restaurant charging such expensive price. Sorely disappointed. This communal dining experience had turned into a mass canteen dining experience in some cheap tour package. I’ve definitely had much better experiences elsewhere for places without Michelin stars.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed July 15, 2020

Chef Malcolm's Buah Keluak simply melts in your mouth. This is a great restaurant with good ambience.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed May 11, 2020

ordered dinner takeaway of chicken curry and satay. curry is good but not the best i have eaten. portion is small for the price charged. overall still acceptable.

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 8, 2020 via mobile

Candlenut clearly looks and sounds like a fine dining restaurant - soft lighting, attentive service, quiet tinkling of wine glasses. The food is good, but not outstanding. That's the disappointment. Everything is a little too sweet. Top grade ingredients are used but they don't enhance...the taste of the end product. The amuse-bouche was a small sliver of rose apple topped with sambal... which makes you scratch your head and go huh? The babi buah keluak is insipid, lacking the bold punch expected of this dish. Using pork rather than chicken for this dish doesn't lift it. The buah keluak ice-cream is another looked-forward to dish that disappointed. Covered with caramel, chocolate sauce and popping candy, the hint of buah keluak is almost completely overwhelmed. At nearly $200 for their 'ah-ma kase' set, I'm not sure true blue Nynonya bibiks will approve.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 6, 2020 via mobile

You can imagine , they take an old barrack and transform it to a up market restaurant but the deco is cheap. The restaurant is promoted as Peranakan but it more fusion and lack authenticity. The herbs and spices don’t feature and the food lack...fragrant. The server tried to introduce each item but his command of the language is mediocre. Poor job. The placed is frequented by tourists and youngsters. Generally these group of people lack experience with cooking and knowledge of Peranakan food. Conclusion: it is a tourist trap and con job for the youngsters who spent previous money on expensive but food of poorer quality than hawker food. However if they like the mood And are willing to part with their hard earned money so be it! The only item I found outstanding was the lamb neck satay.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Concorde Hotel Singapore
4,520 reviews
3.61 km away
Rider's Lodge
116 reviews
3.56 km away
Hotel Miramar Singapore
1,119 reviews
3.60 km away
Lloyd's Inn Singapore
1,044 reviews
3.52 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Red Sparrow
330 reviews
.20 km away
The Dempsey Cookhouse & Bar
269 reviews
.03 km away
JUMBO Seafood (Dempsey Hill)
1,067 reviews
.17 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
National Orchid Garden
13,817 reviews
.83 km away
Singapore Botanic Gardens
19,790 reviews
.95 km away
Redsea Gallery
5 reviews
.17 km away
Istana Woodneuk
7 reviews
.40 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Julie O
August 15, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from BowenKar | Reviewed this property |
Sorry Julie O. I don’t know.
0
Votes
JernYK
June 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 179marilynr | Reviewed this property |
I don’t think so....
1
Vote
LiangH17
May 25, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from 179marilynr | Reviewed this property |
I would not recommend this / it’s s very sophisticated menu so would depend on the ages of your children...
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing