We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

#325 of 1,659 Chinese in Singapore
#1,529 of 9,575 Restaurants in Singapore
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Mentioned in

  • Food Courts In Singapore Are Full Of Delicious Street Eatsyoutube.com

Details

CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Singaporean
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
116
142
111
55
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
116
142
111
55
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sour chicken roast pork char siew noodles combination platter hor fun the cheapest michelin star michelin restaurant air conditioned worth the wait a late lunch tiger beer chinatown queue tender liao branch
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Legend has it that Hawker Chan apprenticed for a decade at Ma Li Ya before setting up shop a few stalls away at the same Smith Street location, offering $2 chicken rice and shot to fame. More than a decade ago that was and slowly,...it was still an affordable $3 for the longest time, an hour queue at the Chinatown Food Centre for tender, juicy and sweet Soy Sauce Chicken Rice, a little sweeter than Ma Li Ya, no frills, white rice no soup to accompaniment. From the queue estimate and what you can see hanging, I am not surprised if they sold like 60 chickens per day. Soon from 2016 they got awarded Michelin. They thought of selling to cash out, recipes and all. Failed. Then with group investments expanded wildly. Now they have three other mall style Restaurant locations at Smith Street, Funan and Tai Seng. At Funan they even opened a Thai Food Restaurant that lasted less than 8 months. These days, Hawker Chan seem nothing like a Hawker, Smith Street Hawker Stall had since closed, instead across the road a new restaurant. Moral of the story, wildfire fast expansions only screw quality. My order, $6 Soy Sauce Noodle. Cheapest Noodle. Lowest price item on menu is $5 Soy Sauce Chicken Rice. Everything else from add ons to sets in the regions of $8.80 and even $20 up. Not quite Hawker prices. Given the 3 outlet locations, I am sure everything is now mass factory made and no longer fresh in store. As I guessed, while the sauce and skin tasted the same, more sweet than savoury, the chicken is no longer as smooth, tender and juicy but quite dry. From the bone colours I suspect they may not even be using fresh chicken anymore. Their Char Siew hanging, from the machine cut lines I can tell it is not fresh pork, then why use fresh chicken. Who would chop a winglet drum in this way? Leaving more bone bits in my noodle than anything else. Vegetables were pre-blanched and dried up. As noodles and chicken were done by different staffs, the noodles were cooked ahead and left to dry while waiting for the chicken, whom had to chop a whole chicken takeaway order. From pictures you can tell my noodles were dried up. And yea, lastly, staffs more interested in chatting than service. I waited at the counter like a fool until they finished their banter. Seriously Mr Chan. Your legacy down the drain.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited Chinatown Complex Market and Food Centre to join the queue at 02-126 for their famous soya sauce chicken rice. Not worth the wait as their rice was a disaster. It was too soft and a little soggy. The chilli sauce is sweet with a...little spicy and tangy. I would prefer the usual chilli and ginger. The one star MICHELIN-listed soya sauce chicken is average with a mild herbal flavour. Tenderness of its meat could be easily compared with any other chicken meat sold thorough out Singapore. Nothing much to brat about. Disappointing meal with Hawker Chan stall.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had to try the cheapest Michelin star meal to see what the hype is all about. Tastes good but definitely nothing to rave about. Better chicken rice at other hawkers for cheaper!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 12, 2020

We ordered the half chicken, a 2 combination platter (char siew and roasted pork), soya sauce hor fun and yellow noodles. The price was reasonable for a restaurant with a Michelin star. However, having been a fan since their "hawker days" there has been a...very noticeable dip in food quality and each time I visit, I leave more disappointed..More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 20, 2020 via mobile

With stricter travel advisories across the globe after COVID-19 is declared as pandemic; this renounce Michelin’s restaurant in Singapore Chinatown is also affected, as locals are observing social distancing and number of tourists have significantly dipped. This World First Hawker Michelin-starred Meal” that dishes out...tasty soya sauce chicken noodles is also feeling the impact of Coronavirus. As precautionary measures, I have ordered take away instead of dinning in. Despite take-away, the noodles tasted great. Great comfort food for all Seasons!! Restaurant cleanliness is great and servers observed good hand hygiene ??More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 15, 2020 via mobile

I got part of the neck of the chicken which I really didn’t enjoy - admittedly, I can be quite squeemish about chicken anyway so not necessarily their fault, but other members of our party got chicken breast and no bones. The sauce was nice,...but not outstanding. The egg was over cooked and the cucumber not fresh. I am very glad I tried it, seeing as it’s the worlds cheapest Michelin star, but I would say it’s overrated.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 1, 2020

Like others, drawn here for the cheapest Michelin-starred meal. New outlet at Funan Mall's ground floor facing the main road: Totally air-conditioned, clean and bright, with spacious seating area, digital menus and ordering system like those at MacDonald's. They do have service staff if you...don't want to use the digital ordering system. If you didn't dare go try it at its original location because it was hard to find at a local neighbourhood, you could totally try this outlet since it's at Funan Mall, just two hundred metres from City Hall MRT station, one of the most central and easily accessible part of Singapore. From local foodie's point of view: The meats didn't taste well-seasoned, for instance the flesh of the soya sauce chicken tasted like a white chicken. Good that it's still juicy and soft, but just not well seasoned. Wonder if it's because this is a franchised outlet and not the original outlet where the original chef is at? From practicality point of view: We're still pretty pleased that for US$5, we've got a pretty good portion of chicken (a fat and juicy quarter chicken) + vegetables + good quality handmade bouncy egg noodles. For US$20++, we ordered and got to try all four kinds of their meat offerings - Soya chicken, crispy roasted pork belly, well-seasoned barbecued ribs, Char Siew (Asian caramelized pork), a rather unique papaya pork rib soup AND really good portion of fragrant, crunchy sprouts. Not to mention this venue is much more comfortable, easier to get to AND in the middle of an expensive/convenient part of town. Overall, still a totally satisfying meal that's very worth its price+location+comfort.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 25, 2020 via mobile

We didn’t have in the restaurant at 78 smith street. We had the soy chicken in Chinatown complex 355 Smith street. This is the original place which we found it taste better and we came in a quiet season but still Q in the line....They open at 10:30am.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 17, 2020 via mobile

I'll start by saying this is probably a bit overrated but still good. Maybe it's gone downhill since becoming famous and franchised, but it's still worth a visit. Service was very quick, it took longer to get to the front of the order line than...it did to get my meal. $5 for the soya chicken with rice was great value. The chicken was very tender and tasted good. The original store is called Hong Kong soya (or something like that) and is in a more traditional hawker centre, might be worth giving that one a go instead as that's where it all started. I'd reccomend getting some of the free jalapenos and adding them to give the dish a bit of spice and tang.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 14, 2020 via mobile

Authentic Singapore soya chicken rice. The soya chicken and the BBQ pork are must try. Very reasonable price - Michelin Bib award.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Studio M Hotel
2,974 reviews
.96 km away
Oakwood Premier AMTD Singapore
261 reviews
.95 km away
Furama RiverFront
3,452 reviews
.95 km away
The Warehouse Hotel
313 reviews
.91 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mei Heong Yuen Dessert
463 reviews
.07 km away
Tiong Bahru Hainanese Boneless Chicken Rice
82 reviews
.05 km away
Yi Xin Vegetarian Food
33 reviews
.10 km away
Hong Kong Soya Sauce Chicken Rice & Noodle
603 reviews
.01 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Chinatown
14,401 reviews
.13 km away
Pagoda Street
94 reviews
.14 km away
Singapore Food Festival
11 reviews
.13 km away
Singapore Art Week
7 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
faruk_ebrahim
October 15, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from goh_ginny | Reviewed this property |
Not at all
0
Votes
173pratikb
September 9, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from J4489ZOmichaelg | Reviewed this property |
Yes
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing