We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

MICHELIN 2019
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Singaporean, Chinese, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating
View all details
features, about

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Bib Gourmand: good quality, good value cooking
Simple restaurant
Reviews (1,415)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveller rating
302
286
137
40
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
302
286
137
40
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hainanese chicken rice bean sprouts maxwell food centre anthony bourdain long queue worth the wait gordon ramsay food court lunch time oyster sauce food stalls hawker centre at lunchtime tender dish tai breast
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had 24 hours in Singapore and had to stop here per Anthony Bourdain’s tip. Chicken Rice is a very popular dish in Singapore, they consume it like air and I would too if I lived here! White rice cooked in the chicken bone broth,...juicy, tender chicken with the skin on, a light mild sauce, and cucumbers & chile garnish. Simple. Wholesome. Worth the hype. Cheers, HoodyMore

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Chow Yun Fatt was seen having it. Even Gordon Ramsay and Anthony Bourdain had TV programs with this Michelin Hainanese Chicken Rice. As a Hainanese myself I had tried and love many famed chicken rice all over Singapore. Always put off by the queue due...to its fame, wherever I am at Maxwell Food Centre, I never had the chance to try this. Now due to the pandemic, we have no tourists, at 130pm pass lunch hour and only 2 to 3 in queue, finally I have the chance to try this. Menu starts from $3.50, $5 to $7.80. Add ons include $1.50 for a chicken wing, veges sides from $2 to $4. A new dish is the cuttlefish and bean sprouts. Seeing how bloggers been touting how great is their been sprouts, and we hainanese love our cuttlefish, I had a cuttlefish bean sprout $4 (small) to go with my $5 medium size chicken rice. The chap just before me ordered a $3.50 small chicken rice thus I get to compare what is the $1.50 difference. On collecting i get it. Its a $1.50 chicken wing add on. And nope, not a whole chicken wing but only the mid wing bit cut into 2 halves. Somewhat felt short-changed since Hainanese Chicken Rice always come with a clear and light chicken soup. Nope. None of us in line got any soup to go with one by one. Staffs not as arrogant as most written about, just mechancially go about your order, period. Ok star of the show, the apparently fluffy rice. Nope. Sorry. Had better. Not as aromatic as most I loved, and in fact dry and lumpy in some parts. Single portion orders from what i can tell, you will get Chicken Breast, the least loved part of Hainanese chicken. While it is not dry, I wouldn't call it juicy, nor tender. The add on chicken wing is somewhat smoother. Though in all, I had more flavourful ones. They drench a light brown sauce on your chicken is neither sesame oil nor soy sauce or dark sauce based. More like a Western Chicken brown sauce. Nothing Hainanese about that if you ask me. Now to the Bean Sprouts, while it is crunchy, its nothing like what some bloggers had written that the cut chillies pack a punch and aromatic shallots add flavour to crunchy sprouts blah blah. 2 pieces of cut chillies add what punch? Miserable bits of shallots added thats drenched by the same brown sauce. While the sprout dark shells had been picked out the roots had not been trimmed. No one does that extra service anymore I guess. And while springy, unfortunately the cuttlefish were quite tasteless. So in all, I would say a little above average since the chicken breast were not dry. Value at $3.50 since you probably can't get much choices at this price these days but I wouldn't be in a hurry to come back for this Hainanese Chicken Rice and if I had to brave a queue? Hell no. Better Hainanese Chicken Rice elsewhere anyday.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 16, 2020 via mobile

Tian Tian Hainanese Chicken Rice is listed in just about every guidebook of Singapore. Even Anthony Bourdain and Gordon Ramsay rave about how flavoursome their chicken rice is! Talk about fresh, tender and juicy chicken meat served with spicy chili sauce, minced ginger and piping...hot rice… need I say more? Just Yum!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 10, 2020 via mobile

Very poor attitude from staff. Totally no manners. Please do not be in the F&B Industry if you do not have the desire to engage your customer properly. Had a very bad lunch experience here. Told my orders to the cashier and I hear her...conveyed it properly to the food handler. Came out that the order was wrong. The food handler blamed me immediately why I did not say the order early. The cashier then acknowledged that the order was wrong. But the food handler began to start scolding why I made a big fuss. This is totally uncalled for. Throughout the incident, there was absolutely no desire to apologise or be sorry for. Why bother to eat there and be subject to their abuse? I will not patronise them again.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 15, 2020

I'd heard the queues were bad but as it was already late afternoon we found the place empty and had our chicken within minutes. The chicken was so tender and juicy and we really enjoyed the dish, plus it was definitely one of the most...affordable meals I had in Singapore.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 8, 2020

I had been in and out of SIngapore since we left this country in 2010 and this time with a group of friends I had to bring them to reputed to be the best chicken rice in Singapore.. Located close to Chinatown, within one of...Singapore’s iconic hawker centers – Maxwell Food Centre, Tian Tian is well known for its Chicken rice. The portions are huge and the skin of the chicken is glistening with chicken oil. The chicken and the rice are both delicious.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 13, 2020

This is probably the most famous of all Hainanese chicken stalls in Singapore located at the Maxwell Food Centre. Of course this stall is the one that is recommended by Anthony Bourdain. It was a special mission to eat at this stall. I was so...overwhelmed by Bourdain's endorsement for Tian Tian that I forgot that some reviewers actually liked the other stalls located in this area. As this was my first Hainanese chicken experience, I was not disappointed. However having venture further to other chicken rice stalls on this trip, I am able to say that there are far tastier chicken specialty dishes around Singapore and for that fact, some located in the same food centre. Of course Tian Tian grabs the majority of tourists here because of Bourdain's endorsement. Obviously a personal preference.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed February 22, 2020 via mobile

The chicken is incredibly tough and offers no soup. Staff handling the chicken were laughing without mask. Impolite staff.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 16, 2020 via mobile

We were recommended by Uncle Ong and found this place very easily. Food was delicious, experience was unforgettable. Highly advise to visit if you are in the area.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 12, 2020 via mobile

This is still the best hainan chicken I had, as it is fresh, tender, and juicy but not fatty at all. We order half the chicken (S$12) to share among the 4 of us, while to save room for other food stalls’ dishes.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Robertson Quay Hotel
1,204 reviews
1.24 km away
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
7,460 reviews
1.18 km away
Hotel Miramar Singapore
1,119 reviews
1.23 km away
Jayleen Clarke Quay Hotel
80 reviews
.96 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ah-Tai Hainanese Chicken Rice
168 reviews
.00 km away
Casa Tartufo
188 reviews
.08 km away
Zhen Zhen Porridge
71 reviews
.02 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum
6,424 reviews
.11 km away
Singapore City Gallery
513 reviews
.06 km away
Maxwell Food Centre
3,269 reviews
.01 km away
Sago Street (Street Of The Dead)
79 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
katee232
July 11, 2019|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Bazface | Reviewed this property |
No, most hawkers centres don't.
1
Vote
lulu C
January 31, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 74kst | Reviewed this property |
Almost all chinese businesses close during Chinese New Year. That is the only time in the year they are closed. Tian Tian should be no exception.
1
Vote
mimi_tea
August 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from cobbdouglas | Reviewed this property |
It depends on when they run out of chicken. Sometimes as early as 4PM. If it's closed, you can always try out the nearby Ah Tai Chicken Rice stall. It's run by Tian Tian's ex-cook, and closes by 8PM :)
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing