We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
CUISINES
Australian
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Table Service
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
81
33
11
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
81
33
11
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vegetarian risotto brownie lamb lemon myrtle soup barramundi star talk the bus milky way sparkling wine didgeridoo player viewing platform southern cross star gazing experience uluru and kata tjuta watched the sunset once in a lifetime
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago

Magical night under the stars enjoying gluten free canapes and a wide choice of drinks. Lovely evening.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 days ago

This was one of my top activities at Ayers Rock. I met another traveller in the hotel lobby waiting for the bus and ended up spending the evening with them. We were taken to the desert and walked up a dune to view the sunset....Beer, wine & soft drink were all included, and due to covid, everyone was given an individual box of canapes. They were really good. After the sun set, we walked down to the tables and were given our seating allocations. There were 6 people per table, with chairs grouped in 2's to give space between couples. Entree and dessert were served to the table, and for mains we lined up at the buffet (socially distanced) with the chefs plating our meal choices. After our main meal, they turned all the lights off and we had a star talk which was really fascinating. It was a really lovely evening, with really good food. Definitely well worth the money!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

easy pick up from hotel. really great service. the food is good. the star gaze part with a guide is just epic! - a must do when at uluru - do not wear fancy shoes...walk through red sand!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great experience to see the lights and the sunset over Uluru. A walk through the lights was fascinating and well worth the effort.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 18, 2020

In spite of the drafted bush flies, which did disappear for the night at sunset, the welcome drinks and canapés were excellent. Travelling with a large group, the company was excellent and all of us looked forward to something special in the middle of desolate...yet gorgeous country. Uluru and Kata Tjuta stood in the distance, against a blazing, glorious sunset that finally settled into inky blue, then black sky. The dinner was very good, although there wasn’t enough lamb to make everyone happy. They got more after our raucous group made a good-natured fuss. Food quality was excellent, the buffet was one of the best we had. However, the highlight of the evening was the fascinating talk and the moment the lights went out so that we could see the stars. I don’t think anyone wanted that evening to end, as we sat mesmerized by the sky above us.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed April 7, 2020

A romantic place for couples but I found the experience 'difficult on my own. Quite away from the rock which can be seen in the distance as the sun sets. There's a bit of a steep walk up to the viewing platform, on the sand,...which anyone not so mobile may find a bit of a challenge. After the sun sets everyone is ushered down to an outside dining area. Tables of 8. I was put on a table with a group of young people and a couple. It would probably have been better had I been put with other solo travellers. The food was ok, plenty of choices. Wine and soft drinks included. There was a talk about the stars which was very good. With no light pollution, the sky looked amazing.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 21, 2020 via mobile

Excellent value the food was fantastic and service was very good. The lady who gave the star talk was very informative and made the presentation very interesting. We saw 3 satellites on the night and learned so much. And the variety of food was excellent.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 21, 2020

Arriving by coach a drink awaits you. Juggling the drink, the canapes and your camera whilst swatting the flies is fun. There are great views of Uluru and then as it goes dark, the flies disappear and the stars come out. Dining is at shared...tables of eight, where wine is liberaly shared around. Tables are called one at a time to the buffet, where there was plenty of local food. Later there was a talk about what could be seen in the night sky. Our visit was followed by a walk thtough the Field of Light, which was a bit disappointing, before coaches took you back to the hotels.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 20, 2020

This was a wonderful experience. A large bus picked us up from the Desert Gardens Hotel and we walked to the first area where appetizers were served and we took photos of Ayers Rock. Yes, we had to wear the nets to protect our face...and mouth from the flies but that is part of the Outback. Eating the appetizers was fun attempt and sipping drinks. We were excited that soda was offered in addition to alcohol. The servers were young and friendly and happy to be working. There is a soft sand path that you walk to from the bus area. Make sure to touch the red sand, very fine and soft. We then walked to another area where round tables were set up and we were instructed to go to the buffet line. Challenge was knowing what the food was. Most didn't have labels and it was quite dark so guessed on items. Some times a server or cook would tell us what we were eating. Kangaroo ws one of the meats. At first I was horrified to eat kangaro but I was informed that there are so many of them in Australia that eating their meat is normal. Good variety of potatoes, fresh salad and dessert options. We had a server assigned to our table who refilled wine glasses or soda glasses. We were pleased with the meal options. Also another good opportunity to take sunset photos. As it got darker, a person who used a red laser lighter pen pointed out different stars. Interesting fact that the moon is opposite in Australia than the USA and inverted. The milky way was incredible. All lights were turned off during the astronomy discussion and we were amazed at the stars. then we followed another sandy path to the bus. If you are unsteady on your feet it might be difficult to walk in the sand.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 18, 2020

A really lovely experience.Out in the middle of nowhere having a meal and an entertaining astrology experience.Staff were very good and helpful.The food was a bit disappointing I thought considering the cost.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Curtin Springs Wayside Inn
223 reviews
80.12 km away
Longitude 131°
891 reviews
4.56 km away
Sails In The Desert
4,325 reviews
2.27 km away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
3,793 reviews
2.20 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Arnguli Grill & Restaurant
810 reviews
2.19 km away
Kulata Academy Cafe
1,525 reviews
2.20 km away
Ilkari Restaurant
1,129 reviews
2.27 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Red Desert Reptiles
131 reviews
2.53 km away
Wintjiri Arts + Museum
368 reviews
2.23 km away
Outback Sky Journeys
7 reviews
2.37 km away
Pioneer Lookout
18 reviews
2.97 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Balfournp
August 25, 2019|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from FarawayVictoria | Reviewed this property |
We were there in July, so it was long trousers/jumpers jackets. It is smart casual. There were a couple of ladies in high heel opened toed shoes that ended up with a lot of red dust on their feet so closed shoes would be my... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing