We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sage

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
A hidden gem just few minutes away from the city centre, Sage offers an escape from the hustle and bustle with an exciting and ever-evolving menu and beverage list.
PRICE RANGE
US$39 - US$85
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
European, Australian
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (1,219)
Filter reviews
1,214 results
Traveller rating
933
164
72
34
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
933
164
72
34
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews degustation menu amuse bouche parfait tartare duck ice cream bread matching wines gorman house special occasion five courses fine dining dining experience wonderful evening food and wine service was impeccable dietary requirements
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Warm, friendly staff greeted us, degustation was stunning and original. Never felt rushed as some places do; got to eat, drink and talk at our own pace. Excellent wine and cocktail list. Will be back.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed November 30, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I went to Sage for our wedding anniversary and it was truly a great evening. We felt well looked after the whole time, right from the friendly welcome. We had the five course degustation and loved every course. I definitely recommend the...wine pairing. Their wine list is excellent, with plenty of local wines, which is great because there are some really great wineries near Canberra that people might not know about. If you can possibly fit anything in after the gorgeous degustation, be sure to sample the cheese trolley. That’s right - a cheese trolley! Thoroughly enjoyable evening and will definitely be back.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 21, 2020 via mobile

We had our anniversary dinner here at Sage. Food was exceptional. Ambiance was intimate and understated and the staff ( thank you Ainslie) were fabulous. We will come here again. Fine dining at its best here in Canberra

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 16, 2020

Food was well presented but flavours were missing. Staff failed to explain few dishes and recommend wines. Way too dark and hard to read wine menu

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 15, 2020

We had such a wonderful experience at Sage. Every course was exceptional, the truffle tuna tartar was delicious and in particular the broccoli course was a highlight, which is pretty impressive for broccoli! The staff were courteous, engaging and knew their menu and wines very...well. We had paired wines and got to taste some interesting local wines, including a cider that was delicious. I highly recommend Sage, despite the restrictions on number of patrons allowed in the venue, the space still felt intimate and welcoming. 10/10 will be back!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed July 6, 2020

Way too dark. Could not read the wine list without phone torch. First course tasted great (tuna tartare) but a little concerned could not see what I was eating. Beef cheeks are not a meal you should eat in the dark!! Went downhill from there...ending with a bland dessert of sorts which they said was a cheesecake.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed June 18, 2020

A delicious meal in a relaxed setting. Prompt and attentive service. Would highly recommend and will be back!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed June 14, 2020

The degustation menu was devine, my wife doesnt enjoy tuna and it was not an issue to change to suit. The service was amazing and friendly. Highly recommend, we will be back.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed June 12, 2020

During covid-19. Dining with limited capacity of people. We found sage very intimate, and being able to hold a conversation without feeling like youre talking over people was a nice experience,. And the food. We had the 5 course chefs special and it was devine....The succulant chicken breast wich was so tender and juicy was the worst thing we ate during so.. a very beautiful dish . This just lets you know the other food was absolutley devine. 10/10 would reccomendMore

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed June 11, 2020

We had dinner at Sage last night. We had the 5 course chef's choice menu with wine pairings. Flavoursome food and so pretty to look at! The wines were all new to us and we thoroughly enjoyed them. A calm and peaceful setting with friendly...and helpful staff. We'll be back for more.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Woden Hotel
272 reviews
8.50 km away
Ramada Encore by Wyndham Belconnen Canberra
513 reviews
7.29 km away
Sundown Villas
150 reviews
7.95 km away
Mercure Canberra Belconnen
18 reviews
7.28 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Raku
469 reviews
.40 km away
Koko Black
411 reviews
.41 km away
Coffee Lab
193 reviews
.38 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Canberra Museum and Gallery
147 reviews
.68 km away
Canberra Contemporary Art Space
7 reviews
.22 km away
Casino Canberra
49 reviews
.66 km away
Gorman House Markets
6 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
GiftyP2
September 12, 2017|
Answer
Response from 867sager | Property representative |
Hi Gifty, our 3-course menu is $75pp. Hope to see you in the restaurant soon!
0
Votes
GiftyP2
September 12, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 427elisem | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for the delay in responding... I think it says it on their website... but it was expensive but we felt it was totally worth it... a really lovely night
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing