We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Fri., 09-25
20:00
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Austrian, European, Central European
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (1,589)
Filter reviews
739 results
Traveller rating
262
327
94
32
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
262
327
94
32
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch trout sea bass wiener schnitzel salad cakes potatoes strudel steak palm house imperial palace sit outside greenhouse albertina lemonade waiters tourists
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Average food, nice place, unfriendly staff. If you don’t care about service, the place is nice to visit. Extremely impolite staff.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 16, 2020 via mobile

Great location. Overpriced breakfast. We thought the interior and location was great! But the breakfasts menus were a bit lacking for what you pay for. The drinks are not included in the menus. We enjoyed the location very much, the service was pleasant but a...bit slow, and the portions were standard. Still overpriced and we eneded up paying 32€ for 2 breakfasts and 2 coffees. For that price you’d expect much more on your plate (a small plate of scrambled eggs, a slice of butter, a small plate of jam, and bread) Average for that price.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 7, 2020

This was our first experience of Vienna and we tried the famous Schnitzel there, which was nice and tender. However the service wasn’t great: first of all, they assigned us a small table, even though we had booked in advance, then a second waiter reluctantly...provided a bigger table, in general it felt like the waiter wasn’t too bothered about doing his job. He took over 10 min to bring us back the change, even though it wasn’t too busy. We wouldn’t recommend it or go back, to be honest.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 6, 2020 via mobile

Refreshing in a hot summer. The place is super cool and has a great location. You can easily just go sit in the park after a drink there and just enjoy yourself.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed June 5, 2020

Whether for a small snack or full meal, Palmenhaus offers elegant atmosphere, a wide selection of drinks, snacks, desserts and real food at an unbeatable location. Right behind the national library, in the Burggarten, it is the place to go for a sunny day on...the terrace or a mimosa before the Ball (in the Hofburg, next door).More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 12, 2020

We had the daily menu and the traditional Wiener schnitzel. It was a sunny day so we enjoyed the terrace and a very friendly service from our waiter. Maybe on the higher price range, but the view is amazing, the ambiance is unique and the...food was fresh and great so I would highly recommend.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 11, 2020 via mobile

The food was phenomenal. I had the steak which was very flavorful, along with a potato side which I could have made a meal out of on their own (SO GOOD). The ambiance was great as well. Really cool place, although it was SO HOT...inside - even in March when it was pretty chilly out. The reason for 4 stars is that the staff was kind of rude. And service was slow. But the food did make up for it.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 5, 2020 via mobile

Was a superb day by the Palace and stumbled upon this place by chance. First and foremost it’s pretty much a sun trap on the terrace. The fact it serves excellent beer,wine and food was an added bonus. We all had the superb veal chilli...con carne .. decent portion enough to see through till dinner. Washed down with a nice reisling made for a great stop on way back to our Hotel. If the sun comes out Palmen is a great stopping point for refreshment and rest legs a bit. Recommended!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 4, 2020

We lucked in with an upstairs table where the afternoon sun streamed through on a Winters day. It was a perfect way to end my last few days in Vienna after being here for just on a month. The staff were busy as the place...was packed when we arrive around 3pm for a late lunch. The food was well presented and fresh with flavors. My only comment is that the decor is a little tired and dated compared to the lush moody image implied on Instagram where I saw the posting. I’m still glad we went.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 1, 2020

Saw pictures online and decided we had to go. We had breakfast which nice. Staff were friendly however felt rushed whilst there.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Inner City
In Vienna's best-known district, pedestrian boulevards
K?rntner Strasse and Graben connect you with landmarks
such as the Wiener Staatsoper (Vienna State Opera),
Vienna’s iconic Stephansdom (St. Stephen’s Cathedral)
and the vast compound of Hofburg, the Habsburgs’
former Imperial Palace. Peek down side streets such as
Annagasse and Weihburggasse, and Graben’s Seilergasse
and Habsburggasse, to get a feel for the centre. The
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
2,679 reviews
.84 km away
Hotel Am Parkring
1,174 reviews
.83 km away
Hotel Das Tigra
1,192 reviews
.81 km away
Hotel Lamee
378 reviews
.80 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Guesthouse Brasserie & Bakery
393 reviews
.17 km away
Hao Noodle and Tea
131 reviews
.23 km away
Restaurant Fuhrich
992 reviews
.22 km away
Crossfield's Australian Pub
694 reviews
.20 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
State Hall of the Austrian National Library
2,775 reviews
.14 km away
Albertina
6,813 reviews
.13 km away
Neue Burg
214 reviews
.15 km away
Burggarten
652 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lindasZ439QG
April 24, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Mary V | Reviewed this property |
Yes, no problems with language.
1
Vote
MommaKEB
March 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from JCH0000 | Reviewed this property |
Yes
1
Vote
Google Translation
Riccardo D
November 4, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PepeandHelene | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is recommended!
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing