We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#312 of 1,321 Austrian in Vienna
#544 of 3,731 Restaurants in Vienna
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Mentioned in

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$22 - US$104

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

The location on the 18th floor of the lifestyle hotel SO/Vienna is undoubtedly spectacular – the view of Vienna is phenomenal! Add to that attentive, l...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
One MICHELIN Star: High quality cooking, worth a stop!
Comfortable restaurant
Reviews (1,239)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
222
125
67
46
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
222
125
67
46
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu lamb sofitel hotel table by the window special occasion food and wine courses concierge europe
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed August 14, 2020

We came for the views and although it was 6pm and the restaurant was vastly empty, we were told to sit in the lounge where views are quite limited due to their blinds. Our waiter was wonderful however when I asked to take a photo...of the stunning Vienna views from the 18th floor at the end of the experience, they declined my request due to Covid. Meanwhile the restaurant is still half empty and none of the staff are wearing masks. Peculiar rules.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 12, 2020

End of July we made a reservation for a dinner with our business partner (two weeks in advance). We reserved a table on the window. When we arrived, we were offered seating in the bar area and there was no way to get a decent...table, despite valid reservation. Our business partner was very disappointed and left immediately. We were not the only party with this issue on that day. A couple which came in after us, faced the same issue. We left and looked for another restaurant in the area. The online reservation system is flawed as it always requires a phone call as well as an online reservation.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 12, 2020

Wanted to treat some very well-travelled friends from NYC and London to a modern high-rise / vue experience in Vienna. The unprofessional, tacky, provincial "handling" @ the elevator doors, made us turn around and leave the property for the lovely Skopik & Lohn and Prunkstück,...both with great service.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 10, 2020

The place is a kind of bar with a nice view. the only good thing about the bar is the view and its roof. Nothing else. It is extremely expensive. I even did not look at the food menu after see the drink prices. If...you are student or mid-budget tourist don't go to this place. I only saw American tourists there making lots of noise. The waiters and bartenders only deal with them. Since I only ordered a beer the barman didn't look at me again:) I accidentally change the place of something on the bar and he was angry too. Anyway, really not recommended place. Music was bad also. If you go there it is better to go daylight so you can make a better photo.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed March 10, 2020 via mobile

This was not the first time I come in this place but first time since it’s management has changed. Let’s take it from thé beginning, you enter the building and a nice hostess shows you the way and where to leave your jackets. You arrive...at the desk and you learn that is obligatory to leave the jacket and pay 2€ for each, you decide to pay and they don’t accept credit card and don’t give you a receipt as is stated. You go upstairs and you find yourself dealing with arrogant staff who bring you different wine from what you ordered for and bigger size refresh drink just to charge you more. It is such a petty for such a perfect architecture to have a bad management.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 2, 2020 via mobile

I went with my wife and friends to celebrate a birthday . We experienced no problem in sitting. The food was good and the view and architecture amazing. What can I say about the staff!!??!!?? Ignorance , impolite and with no sense of humor. You...should expect at least to have the basic education of hospitality. I read all of the previous critics and answers of the managers operating trip advisor that promise to take care of that. But, I experienced the worse service ever! It is unbelievable for such a place ... we end up talking about the bad service and forget completely about the food. If the the hotel and restaurant want to be in business they should get this message serious. Regards , hotel owner Vladimiros RizosMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed March 1, 2020

Extremely overpriced, but also huge disappointment from the service and food point of view. The waiters unprofessional. Handling the menu even without looking at me, comments they are giving is definitely not the level of a 5 star hotel. One of them squat down to...the table next to us just to chat. The main course arrive after a huge break. The waiter explained that he was taking a break, that's why. As an excuse he brought us extra bread (Wow!). The main course was cold at the end. Also the fish oversalted. General impression mediocar. The only good thing was the view.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
SOGeneralManager, General Manager at Das Loft, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2020

Dear Stasla07, thank you very much for having dinner in our restaurant Das Loft and for taking the time to write a comment. It is absolutely wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the view. Our culinary team is putting a lot of thoughts and effort...More

Reviewed February 29, 2020

On a family holiday in Vienna, we came here to enjoy a nice dinner and the views. Our first waiter was horrific. Did not want to go over the menu with us and really did not make our table feel welcomed. We are paying customers...who came here specifically for the four course menu, yet we were treated like chopped liver. I approached the floor manager to let him know about how crappy the service was. He apologized and then changed our waiter and to let us know they want to turn the dinner experience around. Our first waiter also came to the table and then proceeded to start arguing with me. Super unprofessional and rude. Our second waiter was great and more than made up for the lack of service we initially received by simply properly waiting on the table. I am not sure how and why this restaurant has a Michelin Star. I would not recommend this place unless you are paired with Fahed. If not, take you money somewhere else...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
SOGeneralManager, General Manager at Das Loft, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2020

Dear Marie C, thank you so much for choosing our restaurant for having dinner. It was our pleasure to host you. I would like to also thank you for your honest and detailed feedback. It is certainly delightful to read that you enjoyed the friendliness...More

Reviewed February 27, 2020 via mobile

I don’t understand how this restaurant can have a Michelin star, because it’s a joke, not a high class establishment. We came here on our Christmas trip in Vienna, as we were staying at SO Sofitel and opted for the special Christmas menu with wine...pairing (the bill came approx 550 eur for two people). Well, these were the most stupidly spent 500 eur! Yes, the view is amazing and the ceiling decor is very impressive, but that’s it for the good things. The food was average, main fish dish was very over salted, other dishes were ok, but nothing close to innovative. The service was chaotic, messed up and left the strong impression that all those young waiters just don’t have a clue what they are doing. Some dishes came rushed, for some we needed to wait too long, they didn’t follow the pattern of our eating speed and just brought out whatever the kitchen gave to them. At the end our waiter literally killed us when he brought us the bill before the dessert and asked us to pay because “he ends his shift”. He then came back after 5 min, standing there and asking for money to be payed immediately. As customers we don’t care for his shifts, the bill should be brought at the end of the meal and this kind of service is not appropriate in any restaurant, not even speaking of a high class one. Speaking of dessert , I guess that for 550 eur the Michelin star restaurant could at least offer a coffee with it. Instead, our waiter informed us that it is not included. He could bring us a coffee to excuse himself for the rushed bill, but I guess it didn’t come to his mind. It is very nice that the restaurant manager so eagerly replies on each comment, but he could instead go “above and beyond” to finally train his staff, otherwise this restaurant is a true shame on Michelin guide, despite all its potential.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?3  
Reviewed February 25, 2020 via mobile

Definitely not vegetarian friendly, truffle risotto and few appetizers were the only veg options, the risotto tasted like a milk porridge:( disappointing. Staff don’t pay attention at you or your preferences. Overpriced and the quality is not the best.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
SOGeneralManager, General Manager at Das Loft, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2020

Dear Irina S, thank you very much for your evening in Das Loft and for taking the time to write a detailed review. We highly appreciate your comment and take it very seriously. As we always aim to go "above and beyond" with every one...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Leopoldstadt
Welcome to one of Vienna’s trendiest quarters. The
second district has witnessed a turbulent ride, from
medieval swamp to vibrant Jewish quarter, from
pleasure ground for the noble and humble to current
hip residence and workplace of Vienna’s creative
crowd. Cross the Danube Canal from the city centre and
take in life on Taborstrasse with its mix of old
townhouses, churches, theatres, discount shops and
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Franzenshof
76 reviews
.87 km away
Pension Lerner
107 reviews
.86 km away
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
1,947 reviews
.87 km away
Kaiserin Elisabeth
1,075 reviews
.85 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Hashi Asian Kitchen
12 reviews
.08 km away
Mochi
638 reviews
.17 km away
Cafe Ansari
401 reviews
.17 km away
Restaurant Stefanie
144 reviews
.19 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Griechenkirche zur heiligen Dreifaltigkeit
143 reviews
.29 km away
Postsparkasse
120 reviews
.32 km away
Twin City Liner
399 reviews
.24 km away
Vienna Ring Tram
494 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sightsee52076578476
September 16, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from James F | Reviewed this property |
I doubt it. But try. It’s better at night when lite up
0
Votes
minihuman01
June 21, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from SOGeneralManager | Property representative |
Dear minihuman01, Thank you very much for your question. During the day we allow people of all ages in to our bar, including children. In the evening however, starting at 18h, we do not allow children under 18 in our Das... More
2
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing