We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#749 of 8,318 Italian in Rome
#750 of 10,036 Restaurants in Rome
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
Ristorante Salumeria Roscioli is a multi-function delicatessen, an unconventional restaurant, and a rich and varied wine bar, where the cuisine is based on high quality materials selected over the years by the Roscioli brothers and an attentive and ready staff. The menu presents traditional starters and main dishes, as well as the results of conceptions from the national cuisine – raw fish from the Mediterranean and Tyrrhenian, selections of French or Italian Alpine cheeses, classified by typology and maturation, but also cold cuts of Spanish or native origin, all cut by hand.
PRICE RANGE
US$12 - US$59
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Deli, Italian, Mediterranean, European, Romana, Lazio, Central-Italian
FEATURES
Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Takeout, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (4,739)
Filter reviews
2,317 results
Traveller rating
1,489
467
174
95
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,489
467
174
95
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burrata salumeria bread cacio e pepe charcuterie guanciale cured meats pork cheeks hamburger buffalo mozzarella pasta dishes tuna tiramisu truffle salad deli counter wine cellar
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago

We had seen Roscioli featured on a couple of TV programmes and decided that it would be the perfect place to celebrate our 2020 birthdays. We booked well in advance and enjoyed the experience. The interior is eclectic and a sight to behold. The food...was delicious and beautifully presented. The burrata was sublime and the carbonara was the best I've ever tried. The service was excellent too.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 days ago

We came here for a quick dinner the first night we arrived in rome. I asked what the sun-dried tomatoes with cheese was and they brought us the wring one. Pasta was ok nothing memorable. I wish when i asked what the famous sun-dried tomato...and cheese was the waiter had told the real one. Not a different one.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 days ago

My mother and I visited the restaurant on our last night in Rome and it did not disappoint! We both tried the Carbonara and the salted caramel and peanut cheesecake, and both were absolutely delicious. The waitress was friendly and recommended a sweet wine for...me, which was very helpful and tasted great! Overall, an amazing experience and last night in Rome! Could not recommend more!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 1 week ago

Back in the palmy days before the virus, we had an enjoyable dinner here. Fine dining in the Roscioli salumeria close to Campo de' Fiori. Reservations are a must; they seemed to book out every night. Friendly and attentive service; caters mostly to a tourist...crowd. Dinner for two was 104 Euro -- expensive for Rome.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I suggest studying menu online before visiting as it is vast. Mainly made up of deli items ( amazing cured meats and cheeses) but also plenty of other choices. I particularly enjoyed the anchovies but would of preferred with a simple unsalted butter rather than...2 flavoured ones. The wine list is epic. Again study beforehand if you can. If not ask. Raphael was serving us that evening and his suggestions were fantastic. We declined his first choice which sounded delicious but a bit expensive for us and we're more than happy with his second choice. Halfway through that bottle he bought us a taste of the first wine he recommended. Staff like Raphael are a very rare commodity. I hope you reward him accordingly. If honest food was probably a four but Raphael made you a five.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been to this place for dinner with our 5 years old daughter. The staff was really child friendly but the place itself is really small so I do not recommend going with a stroller etc. The service, the food and ambiance were all...amazing. It is slightly more expensive than average but I have to say it is worth it. If you do not like classic touristic places and are looking for something special I definitely recommend. I am a fan of Burrata cheese and I had one of the best in my life here. Also their 3 cheese pasta is great. They do have a great wine selection as well. Only the desserts were average which is not their specialty anyway.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this place for a dinner and was honestly scared seeing the recent reviews of the place. On one of the tours leading up to the dinner a guide mentioned that this place is amazing. They noted the following: 1) the food is normal Roman...cuisine, but the ingredients are beyond phenomenal, 2) its standard Roman service meaning waiters are fast, get your order in, eat and get out. I also want to mention my reservation confirmation clearly noted a 2 hour table limit and to be honest, with the size of the place you understand why. This set expectations. That being said, the tables had dividers between them and were well spaced, waiters were quick and the meal had a good pace. We easily drank a glass of Prosecco and bottle of white wine while having two apps, two mains, and three desserts and still had about 10 min to spare. I will say the food itself blew our socks off. Something simple like a burrata with truffle pearls had so much flavor we questioned all the burratas we’ve eaten prior to it. This place is all about quality and respects the food. Really recommend this place!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The restaurants aims to serve authenthic roman cuisine, and partially delivers on this promise. However, if the style and craftmanship is simple granny home cooking, with severe lack of elegance, the prices should reflect this. The dishes lacked elegance, and everything was extremely rich with...butter and cheese, to the point where both diners felt bloated for hours afterwards. It is clear that the ingredients are all of good quality, but it seems the kitchen is too rushed or inexperienced to elevate them. We were promised a table for four hours, but was then suddenly handed a bill after two hours even though we had only halfway finished a bottle of wine. While a two hour dining windows might be common in many european capitals at this point, it is not the style in Rome, and shouldn’t become the norm. Diners are seated close together (with no proper social distancing possibilities) and often staff is literraly doing their work right over your head while you are trying to eat. Long story short, this should be a ultra-cheap lunch place that has somehow been hyped for years, and I urge you to go elsewhere.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went there because we wanted to try out new restaurants in Rome we hadn't been to before and because of the hype Female Foodie had created around it. However, we were terribly disappointed. The starters were great but that was about it. The pasta...was all average but overpriced. So was the dessert (I had a tiramisu). Those were things you could easily get at other restaurants in Rome for a better price (and often better quality). The wine was crazy expensive and there was no recommendation or anything, like they usually do in an Italian restaurant. We were given the waiter's broken smartphone to read the wine list and pick one. Worst of all, while we were still enjoying our wine, the room became empty and the waiter started rearranging the tables, which was super annoying and stressful. Not long after (around 21:10) we were pretty much kicked out of the restaurant, although when making the reservation we were told we could be there until 23:00. We literally had to leave our wine glasses full of wine and go out of the restaurant. All in all, pretty mediocre restaurant with horrible service and higher than average price. If you're looking for a tourist trap, you can find cheaper ones for sure.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 12, 2020 via mobile

Since the moment that we ordered and we didn't want any wine, the waitress didn't pay us any attention. She didn't bring us the apetizer that the rest of tables enjoyed and the chocolat of the end (we checked and all tables had those things)....In addition, she was kind of rude with us, especially when we ordered a glass of water at the end of the dinner, because we didnt had more dishes left and the minimum bottle was 1 litre size. Finally, she waited for us in the exit with the waitress in charge to check that we pay. She definitely ruined our experience. It was a great place and the food was tasty, but the service was awful during our experience. We wouldnt recommend it.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Antico Borgo di Trastevere
43 reviews
.57 km away
Hotel Santa Maria
3,543 reviews
.56 km away
In Via di Monserrato
5 reviews
.56 km away
Lifestyle Suites Rome
398 reviews
.53 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Taverna Lucifero
725 reviews
.09 km away
Antico Forno Roscioli
1,287 reviews
.03 km away
Pesci Fritti Trattoria
591 reviews
.10 km away
Queen Bee
542 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Santa Barbara dei Librari
60 reviews
.06 km away
Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari (SS. Biagio e Carlo ai Catinari)
32 reviews
.10 km away
Teatro dei Satiri
21 reviews
.12 km away
Chiesa di San Paolo alla Regola
11 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
christianbgauci
August 12, 2019|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Valerio M | Reviewed this property |
I prezzi sono medi ma dipende da ciò che mangi e bevi. Puoi pagare poco o tanto, dipende anche dal vino che bevi. Se bevi una bottiglia di Brunello o un calice alla mescita. Va bene per tutte le tasche
1
Vote
Google Translation
lovetraveling12
May 30, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from tamworthtravelers | Reviewed this property |
no sorry not really its more an adult affair
0
Votes
220loisr
May 9, 2018|
Answer
Response from 220loisr |
Also does anyone know where the next best place to sit is if you can’t get up stairs further back the restaurant?
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing