We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#811 of 8,318 Italian in Rome
#820 of 10,036 Restaurants in Rome
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
0.1 km from Pantheon
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

This small restaurant just a few metres from the Pantheon has been run by the Gargioli family since 1961, with the third generation now at the helm. Po...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
Bib Gourmand: good quality, good value cooking
Simple restaurant
About
This italian and familyrun restaurant is excellent and has been there for decades
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Italian, Mediterranean, Soups, Romana, Lazio, Central-Italian
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (2,131)
Filter reviews
1,078 results
Traveller rating
621
251
113
56
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
621
251
113
56
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pasta cacio e pepe tripe saltimbocca lamb chops buffalo mozzarella cake bread tiramisu antipasti roman classics small restaurant wine list main dish al dente an appetizer tourist trap
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Da Armando last Saturday evening and were to made to feel very welcome. The food was excellent and all the staff we encountered were extremely professional and very friendly. The cacio el pepe and lamb were delicious, as was the wine. Will be...back on our next trip to Rome!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had the chicken with peppers. Anyone who knows how to cook knows that with the cheaper cuts of meat, you slow cook them so they fall off the bone. A wing and a thigh arrived on my plate and I soon discovered why my regular...knife had been replaced with a steak knife. If it had fallen off the bone as such a cut of meat should have, I would have finished the tiny portion of protein in 5 minutes as opposed to the 40 minutes it took me to surgically remove the tiny morsels of my dinner. To be fair, they are not alone - nobody, to my knowledge, knows how to cook in Rome.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 6, 2020 via mobile

Excellent restaurant with most of the traditional Roman dishies. Great food and great service. Although the Roman wine served by the glass was not great it must be accordin to my taste.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 25, 2020

Our saltimbocca and carbonara were very good. During our visit, in the summer, the crowd was composed entirely of travelers. The tables are very close together, so much so that one member of the couple next to us accidentally rearranged the items on our table...with her derrière on the way to the restroom. Not entirely the restaurant's fault, but a couple more centimeters would've been appreciated. Perhaps because everyone was eating in such close quarters, there was almost a reticence to speak in the dining room. I appreciate a calm, quiet restaurant, but this is something different. It was sort of eerily quiet until a noisy, larger group came in. Still, I could hear everything said on either side of our table. It was our only dinner in Rome that didn't make us want to linger.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 18, 2020 via mobile

Traditional Roman cuisine prepared impeccably well. I went for dinner and returned for lunch the next day. Both times, I could not resist the Tortino di alici fresche fritte, pomodoro, aglio e prezzemolo (‘Pie’ of fresh anchovies fried and cooked with tomatoe, garlic and parsley);...out of the extensive list of traditional Pasta dishes, I chose two, that I had never seen on a menu: Tagliatelle con le “regaje” di pollo (interiora), pomodoro e parmigiano (Fresh pasta with heart, liver and lungs of chicken, tomatoe sauce and parmesan cheese) and Rigatoni con la Pajata, pomodoro e parmigiano (Short pasta with intestine of young veal. There were a number of less adventurous options as well as a good list of main courses, including pheasant, duck and veal. The wine list is extensive and favorably priced and many of the wines are also served by the glass. Armando dal Pantheon is one of the few Slow Food Restaurants in the historic center and I have been returning whenever I visit Rome.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 18, 2020

I read reviews that this restaurant was great - and they were all correct. All portions sizes were perfect - plus when I asked for help with the wine - i got a stunning bottle of campo pieve which is now on my favourite list...- but the best was their tiramisu - mind blowing, amazing, brilliant - i have never had tiramisu like it before - next time i am in rome i will be going back (but if you go make sure you book as this restaurant is not enormous)More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 2, 2020 via mobile

Best carbonara ever, mellanzane parmigiana . Full of Italian local people! Would really recommand this.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed April 13, 2020

To me, this is the best restaurant in Rome. Very hard to get a reservation so need to call at least a week in advance (unless one is lucky). Well worth the wait if you have time to spend in Rome or maybe book before...actually arriving in Rome. Food is delicious.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed March 11, 2020

I found this restaurant on TripAdvisor with rave reviews and booked about a month ahead of time. The service was top notch - very welcoming, eager to help with recommendations, etc. I ordered an appetizer of artichoke & buffala mozzarella and pasta carbonara as my...main course. While everything was delicious, I really did not love the atmosphere. The tables are extremely close together and there is no background music. So it's basically silent with touches of hearing everyone else's conversation. It is also the only place I ate that I felt a little awkward as a solo diner. Of course this could be my own issue but I didn't feel it anywhere else. The appetizer menu also lends itself towards sharing so I think I would have enjoyed it more with a companion so we could try more dishes. My check came to 35 euro for bread, the appetizer, the pasta, and a glass of wine (one of the more expensive meals I had in Rome).More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 10, 2020 via mobile

Ended our day drinking a birra outside the restaurant enjoying people watching at the end of a busy day touring. Great place to hang out , have a drink and catch up with friends.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
With three of Rome’s most beloved piazzas within a
five-minute walk of each other, the
Navona/Pantheon/Campo area may be the prettiest and
most picturesque area of the city. Join the beautiful
throngs hanging out in cafes, boutiques, art
galleries, and wine bars, or peek at a neighbourhood
museum or monument. If you want nonstop movida, the
streets here are busy with chic bicyclists and Vespa
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Pomezia
390 reviews
.49 km away
Hotel Marcus
73 reviews
.47 km away
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
3,116 reviews
.48 km away
Hotel dei Barbieri
167 reviews
.44 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cremeria Monteforte
363 reviews
.04 km away
Antica Salumeria
1,499 reviews
.03 km away
Ritorno Al Passato
893 reviews
.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Pantheon
78,268 reviews
.06 km away
Piazza della Rotonda
584 reviews
.07 km away
Fontana Di Piazza Della Rotonda
115 reviews
.05 km away
Basilica di Sant'Eustachio
61 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
BOOLsheet
August 22, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from DCviews | Reviewed this property |
They are very flexible
0
Votes
Dundonald100
June 18, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from davidpR6081WA | Reviewed this property |
Hello there, there aren’t any outside tables, you can only eat inside. Regards DAVID
1
Vote
Google Translation
Explorer678022
April 16, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ElSueno3000 | Reviewed this property |
Not on TripAdvisor...
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing