We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

#2,140 of 8,318 Italian in Rome
#2,253 of 10,036 Restaurants in Rome
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

PRICE RANGE
US$24 - US$41
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Italian, Mediterranean, Romana, Lazio, Central-Italian
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Street Parking
Reviews (3,799)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
253
147
84
49
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
253
147
84
49
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cacio e pepe carbonara tiramisu tripe trippa fried artichokes bread pork fries monte testaccio food tour traditional roman food tomato sauce house wine olive oil amphorae piramide
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

So disappointed we took taxi specifically to go to this restaurant because of outdoor seating which we were told was popular with locals. We were the only brits in there and felt treated as second class citizens. We were given a table on a tiny...landing yards away from anyone else on an almost empty terrace. In the end we had to laugh at the really dour, sullen service where menus were almost flung at us, it was clear we were not particularly welcome. Such a shame because the main courses we ate were lovely. Not so the tiramisu, made with yellow custard? Would not return nor recommendMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 6, 2020

Get on the tram, escape the tourist spots and head here. Lovely neighbourhood to explore and enjoy a pre.dinner spritz (don't overeat on the spritz sides) if you can book ahead and secure a seat outside on their charming terrace do this. The food is...phenomenal, easily one of the best meals I have had. Oxtail Ragu as so many people have mentioned is rich and deep...unmissable and sensible prices.....don't miss it!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed April 12, 2020

If you are in Rome and you are looking for a typical place, just go for it. Flavio al Velavevodetto is an iconic restaurant in Testaccio. Highly recommended are the "Tonnarelli Cacio e Pepe" and the "Carbonara"

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 26, 2020

Food was a mixed bag. Poor knuckle very good, tiramisu delightful, Tonnarelli cacio e pepe passable, meatballs in tomato sauce not good. Long and keenly priced wine list. Our waitress Andrea was excellent and stuck the right balance of being helpful but unobtrusive. Front of...house brusque. Was told we had a reservation initially then 30 seconds later we didn't. Suspect they would have preferred we were locals who conspicuously were treated better. Other waiting staff bit too cool for school, messing around with each other, doing their make up in the toilets, happily ignoring you. Menu boasts that they don't serve lasagne, meat balls and spaghetti in its smug, aren't tourist crass fashion. Is this really necessary or funny ?. Plenty of other establishments unashamedly do in Rome and they are all the better and dare I say friendly for doing so ?. OK but wouldn't return.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 23, 2020

We were really looking forward to this because we read the food was amazing. The food was good, but the service was awful and that ruined our whole experience of it. I don’t recommend it due to the rude personnel.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 22, 2020 via mobile

This is authentic. And excellent. And I still think of the crisp pork and asparagus pasta we had the joy of experiencing. When 10pm rolled around we were surrounded by locals and people thoroughly enjoying their meals while enjoying an excellent bottle of house wine...and dining on the best local cuisine on offer. Just go.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 2, 2020 via mobile

Amazing Flavio in Testaccio. Really outstanding family meal and wonderful wine list. The Cacio E Pepe is considered one of the best in Rome but I would have to say that the simple Ravioli in tomato sauce was also to die for. The romans stored...their wine in the caves in Testaccio and the ancient stone arches and overall ambiance. historic pictures gave this restaurant a really nice vibe. The Tiramisu is considered the best in Rome and was by all measures delicious but different and definitely worth trying. Definitely coming back to Flavio.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 1, 2020

Service was impeccable , food best in Rome (take polpette and carbonara and u will never regret it). We toke our time and no one rush us . Perfect .

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 27, 2020

our airbnb host recommended us to this restaurant and my college aged son checked tripadvisor seeing decent rating. So we went. We ordered apetitizers and they were good. Then our pasta came. Mine chewed hard. At first I thought maybe it was roman style. But...when I looked close, I saw a white ring in the middle of the pasta, It was not cooked through. We showed the waitress, and she immediately took it back without a word. Half an hour later, I got my newly cooked pasta back. Tasted the same hard, saw the same white ring. Still not cooked. We could not believe it. We cancelled our secondi and left. By that time, more than an hour has passed. We were not only disappointed, but also no longer hungry.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

I’m surprised by the negative reviews. We had an absolutely lovely lunch here. Fantastic pastas and lovely service. And the tiramisu was just about perfect for me. It was also a huge plus to get to eat inside Monte Testaccio.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Testaccio
Put the house music on replay and you have Testaccio,
an ancient Roman port and former working class
neighbourhood where the bass is set to high almost
every night of the week. Its collection of discoteche
(nightclubs), street parties, and crowded restaurants
give it its well-deserved party reputation. During the
daytime, Testaccio is more easy listening than club
hit, the area is full of locally owned small
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Domus Ester
316 reviews
1.88 km away
Hotel Arenula
448 reviews
1.84 km away
Hotel Locanda Cairoli
65 reviews
1.86 km away
HT6 Hotel
461 reviews
1.80 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Masto
462 reviews
.18 km away
Pecorino
1,373 reviews
.19 km away
Junsei Sushi Restaurant
335 reviews
.14 km away
Osteria degli Amici
604 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cimitero Acattolico per Stranieri
739 reviews
.27 km away
Nuovo Mercato di Testaccio
323 reviews
.22 km away
Monte Testaccio
35 reviews
.12 km away
Fontana Del Boccale
9 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ebandflow
June 2, 2018|
Answer
Response from jjkcjb | Reviewed this property |
Piazza navona ..great sights but hit or miss on food
0
Votes
W7881YDanned
August 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ZvonimirSiljkovic | Reviewed this property |
I ate at both, the newer place is slightly better.
0
Votes
Chickadee252
February 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Alco D | Reviewed this property |
E' il menù di mezza Roma: cacio e pepe, carbonara, amatriciana, ravioli alla ricotta.. Lo stesso menù lo trovi anche a Felice a testaccio.. Tranquillo che Flavio non s'è inventato proprio nulla...
1
Vote
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing