We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#3,145 of 8,318 Italian in Rome
#3,358 of 10,036 Restaurants in Rome
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Italian, Bar, Wine Bar, Deli
Meals
After-hours, Drinks
FEATURES
Seating, Serves Alcohol, Table Service

Location and contact

Centro
0.3 km from San Pietro in Vincoli
Improve this listing
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
28
19
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
28
19
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed February 19, 2020

Amazing place in heart of Monti with wide range of excellent wines to choose. Also starters were excellent and local.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 4, 2019

This came as a recommendation, and we loved it. Just had glasses of wine, but both our white and red was great. The caponata was so delicious! Worth the visit for sure. Check opening times (like anywhere in Rome) to be sure that you're not...there when it's closed. All 'round a terrific place and gets busy quick! Enjoy.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Great wine bar with a good collection of wine. Side dishes included caponata and parmigiana di melanzane which was fantastic!!!

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

Casual, friendly wine bar with lots of wine choices and option to buy a bottle. Open early evening with simple appetizers that could be a light dinner.

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed July 9, 2018

I met with some friends there and it was fantastic! The staff was really nice and helpful. We had a couple bottles of wine and the food we had was delicious and very traditional. Is located in the pure centre of Rome, few minutes to...the Colosseum and a metro station and lots of bars to go out at night!More

Date of visit: April 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

We loved this place so much we visited twice in our four day visit to Rome. It’s small but is packed floor to ceiling with wine on big wooden shelves which gives the place a cosy old fashioned feel. There is a small list of...wine by the glass but each we tried was excellent especially the prosecco. We saw others ordering plates of cheese and meats that come served with bread. The other guests were a mix of tourists like us and locals on their way home from work. Absolutely loved the authenticity of this place and would go back in a heartbeat.More

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed January 14, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Monti. We arrived at night after our flight and walked into this quiet family run wine bar. Great vibe. Amazing wine selection. Friendly service, and surprisingly good food -we had the cheese and meat platter, eggplant caponata which were spot on. It...was a great start to our stay in Monti. Highly recommendMore

Date of visit: January 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed December 5, 2017

Even if I have lived in Monti for 7 years, I always have to be careful to not miss the entrance to this small, not much advertised lovely wine bar. It somehow remines easily unnoticed as there are so many colourful shop-windows and taverns o...modern take-away places nearby... and of course maybe the Colosserum in the end of via dei Serpenti takes all attention of your eyes! But if you manage to find it, you enter in the atmosphere of a simple, a bit "retro", quite rustic Italian wine bar - come una volta - like they were once for italians... The list of wines is excellent... the choice of cheeses or "salumi" of best taste! In fact, it has been and is a beloved wine place for many local people in Rome and it is just quite recently found by tuorists. If you happen there, I would recommend you to taste (beside the great wines) the sweet-sour eggplant "caponata" that is made daily by the mother of the owner. Or if you prefer just a snak, the small best quality cheese or "salumi" plate is acctually enough to give a special flavour to your wine. For me, Al Vino al Vino is a place in Monti you should experience... but I would even consider it one of the best wine bars in Rome.More

Date of visit: December 2017
Helpful?2  
Reviewed September 13, 2017

We stopped here for a bottle of wine and cheese plate. The owner was wonderful and the wine and cheese were outstanding.

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

We went to Al vino al vino by the recommendation of a sommelier and were not disappointed. The atmosphere is very warm and relaxed and when we visited, 99% of other customers were local which is always a good sign. Notheworthy: menus seemed to be...only availabe in Italian but the staff was very helpful so you will surely get what you are looking for, wine-wise.More

Date of visit: July 2017
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Boutique Hotel Galatea
96 reviews
.46 km away
Hotel Valle
454 reviews
.45 km away
Hotel Canova
402 reviews
.45 km away
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
570 reviews
.42 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Fehu
200 reviews
.05 km away
Il Gelatone
637 reviews
.03 km away
Al42 by Pasta Chef Rione Monti
2,440 reviews
.11 km away
Tacos & Beer Monti
257 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Chiesa di Santa Maria ai Monti
60 reviews
.12 km away
Fontana dei Catecumeni
33 reviews
.10 km away
Ex Galleria
33 reviews
.17 km away
Sacripante Art Gallery
41 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Al Vino al Vino staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing