We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

#16 of 115 Mexican in Paris
#2,529 of 15,371 Restaurants in Paris
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Location and contact

3rd Arr. - Temple
0.4 km from Musee Picasso-Paris
Improve this listing
Sponsored by: Candelaria

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Best cocktails in Paris
1. Best cocktails in Paris
"The staff were friendly and the cocktails fantastic!"
Rahnelle
See reviews that mention cocktail
2. Homemade tacos
2. Homemade tacos
"The tacos are flavorful, the coronas cold and the service hip!"
X7542XZkevinv
See reviews that mention tacos
3. 7/7 nonstop & Weekend brunch
3. 7/7 nonstop & Weekend brunch
"This was the highlight of our weekend. The bar staff are very friendly"
Smi230
See reviews that mention weekend
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
108
84
23
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
108
84
23
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tacos guacamole hidden bar mexican food great cocktails taco shop small portions taqueria margarita verte
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed May 22, 2020

incredible food quality. Everything very tasty. Nice ambient like a Mexican taverna. Nice and friendly staff. The "la guêpe verte" very recommended. Good price quality relation.

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed February 24, 2020 via mobile

Once we had found the door to the hidden bar (clue, it's at the back of the taco shop and looks like it leads to the kitchen) we were so taken with this gorgeous, candlelit speakeasy. Google says Candeleria offers 'world class cocktails', a statement...I would whole-heartedly agree with. Friendly staff, great ambience and - even better - you can order incredible tacos from the taco shop at the front and eat them in the comfort of the bar. 10/10.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 1, 2020 via mobile

Great margaritas and guacamole- a must visit. Loved the little surprise behind the door in the kitchen. Will have to try it next time I visit.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

This was my husbands first trip to Paris and I decided to take him to Candelaria to kick off our date night. This place is amazing!! I loved the secrecy of it all. The staff were friendly and the cocktails fantastic!

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed December 15, 2019

If rudeness, a cold welcome and tragically hip is what you fancy, then look no further than this pretentious speakeasy. The scowling waiter made a big deal of asking me if I had a reservation even though there were six free tables. I was so...put off by his rudeness, I waited outside in the cold for my friend (and the tables were still free 20 minutes later). I’m a longtime Paris resident who loves speakeasies and this is the kind of place that gives Paris a bad name. There are much better venues. I would avoid.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 22, 2019 via mobile

What a combo - cocktails and enchiladas. This place is a find, what a find! You walk through this random taco bar with one table and find yourself in this wooden cocktail bar. Go for the margarita’s, stay for the music and atmosphere.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 6, 2019

Even if you discount the surprise of having to enter through the back door of a dodgy taqueria, this is a fantastic place. Loved the atmosphere, the cocktails (pisco sour: highly recommended), and the mexican snacks (possibly the best guacamole on the planet, just in...very small portions). Don't miss it!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 2, 2019 via mobile

I wish I could give separate reviews for the taqueria and for the bar, but luckily both were great. The tacos were authentic and delicious. If we were in Texas or Mexico, these guys would have a good business (though in that context they would...have received a 4). The staff are friendly and helpful in the taqueria. The bar is wonderful for a tequila and mezcal lover like me. What an amazing oasis. And all three bartenders I interacted with friendly and knowledgeable. I could have gladly spent many more hours there if not for meetings the following morning. I will be back every time I am in Paris.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed September 23, 2019

We visited this restaurant for lunch. The place was nice & the staff was pleasant & friendly. We didn't try any cocktails, we just ordered tapas which unfortunately were not good at all & also very expensive considering their size & quality.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 5, 2019

This is a nice place for the evening. There aren't many places like this in Paris so it's worth visiting if you're sick and tired of cafes and bistros. Drinks are good and food is ok, but fo the bar it's more than enough.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Cosmos Hotel
218 reviews
.72 km away
Luna Park Hotel
743 reviews
.68 km away
Hotel Beaurepaire
363 reviews
.71 km away
Hotel Nemours
327 reviews
.67 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Little Red Door
367 reviews
.09 km away
Ob-La-Di
138 reviews
.01 km away
Popelini
112 reviews
.07 km away
Iovine's
75 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Marche des Enfants Rouges
1,014 reviews
.16 km away
Yvon Lambert Bookshop
6 reviews
.14 km away
Devour Paris
157 reviews
.06 km away
Esprit de Paris
8 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
anitabZ2150YI
November 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from StoriesOf_Pixels | Reviewed this property |
No, I don’t think they do. Been there many times but haven’t seen any gluten free options. But check with them in advance maybe.
0
Votes
W6498EFcarolynb
August 26, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from L305SU_ | Reviewed this property |
I've seen couple kids with parents there
1
Vote
debsonator
April 28, 2018|
Answer
Response from MikeyinParis2013 | Reviewed this property |
No reservations.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing