We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#2,617 of 6,950 French in Paris
#4,348 of 15,366 Restaurants in Paris
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Location and contact

Bastille / Oberkampf
0.5 km from Canal Saint-Martin
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Brainchild of Jessica Yang and Robert Compagnon, the concept is inspired by Japanese yakitori and robatayaki restaurants, as well as Italian and French...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
One MICHELIN Star: High quality cooking, worth a stop!
Simple restaurant
Meals
Dinner
CUISINES
French, Japanese, International, Grill, European
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
13
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
13
2
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tempura tasting menu pasta small plates charcoal fusion chef courses dish dessert
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed January 3, 2020

This is one of the best restaurants I have been in Paris. The model is very similar to Momofukuko's in NYC. Small incredibly delicious tasting of 10 to 12 fusion courses designed by the cooking team, based on a quick interview of our table upon...arrival. The welcoming and interaction with staff was very personable. We were celebrating 4 birthdays and were made to feel special by each staff member. The quality of each ingredient was outstanding. The price reasonable compared to some very fancy restaurants of great or lesser quality.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 17, 2019 via mobile

I love what Le Rigmarole is doing. If you make a reservation for a meal at a top restaurant in Paris, you are generally signing up for over 100 euros per person for about ten of the fussiest, most over-plated, blandest dishes you have ever...had. Le Rigmarole turns all that on its head. Less than 100 euros per person. A barrage of flavorful, simply plated, clever dishes. Warm, friendly wait staff and chefs who ask you what you like and what you don’t before starting the experience. I lived in Paris for six months and ate at a lot of the top, trendy, 2-3 month out reservation type restaurants. The one I remember is Le Rigmarole.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed November 24, 2019

Fantastic evening meal at Le Rigmarole. We went with the chef's choice menu which we felt was extremely good value, and although we expected to be perhaps be a little hungry at the end (it's a small plates restaurant), we certainly were not - the...food just kept on coming. Highlights were the orange infused chicken, the pasta dish, the roti bread served with one meat course and the mango and meringue desserts. They catered very well to my partner who was vegetarian. Great wine selection and charming waitstaff.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 20, 2019

The food isn’t fussy but the history is. Opened in late 2017, Rigamarole is a small space in the 11th, around the corner from Clown Bar (see). A counter behind which the 2 chefs work, the French-American husband with the unlikely combination of skills in...yakitori and fresh pasta, and his Asian-American wife, a pastry chef with a distinguished French and American restaurant pedigree. They are assisted by a dishwasher and a single waitress, an unusually thoughtful, articulate and intelligent American. Unlikely, but it works! FOOD A la carte grilled dishes, pastas and tempura, but the 49€ and 69€ tasting menus are the way to go. A seeming unending flow of small plates, including tempura vegetables, multiple charcoal grilled chicken pieces on skewers including organ meats. (they ask first) – every tasting menu customized for the tastes of the table. Grilled white asparagus, whole grilled fish, pastries. Dessert charcoal grilled strawberries over ethereal ice cream. A wine card in a wide range of mostly reasonable prices chosen to complement the food. The food is delicious and pleasant, fresher and better than New York’s premier yakitori table, Torishin, where the chef used to work. The order of the dishes isn’t entirely clear, but it didn’t seem to matter – to me, at least. Every dish was delicious. SERVICE Informal, but highly personal. Only a few degrees away from eating at home. PRICES Very reasonableMore

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?3  
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

Le Rigmarole is the most exciting restaurant in Paris. Period. I’ve had the pleasure of dining here many times.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

Based on Le Fooding nr 1 ranked position, we vistited restaurant Le Rigmarole last weekend and with great pleasure. Special, sober but cosy restaurant ambiance. Very customer friendly staff with good food & wine knowhow. With all fresh ingredients the 10 course chef’s menu was...exiting and very delicious. Especially the oyster was the crown on the evening. Not easy to get a table, so please make your restaurant reservation in time!More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

We did the chef’s menu and ended up having nearly ten courses. Each dish outdid the previous dish. Some favorites were the red mullet and the hand made pasta. The staff is extra attentive creating a menu tailored to dietary restrictions and desire. I can’t...speak highly enough of the service. It was a wonderful experience.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

We had the tasting menu, the more expensive menu, and thought every dish was excellent. There were 9 dishes and each of them were excellent. When we thought it couldn’t be better, the next dish exceeded the prior one! We were asked about our preferences...beforehand, which greatly contributed to our enjoyment for the evening. (Some of our favorites were the salmon, pasta with ramps and lobster pasta.) We ordered wines by the glass and they were perfectly suited to our tastes and to the dishes being served. Service was excellent, friendly and helpful. We could understand why it is difficult to get reservations here. It was one of our best meals, ever.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic evening, the wine was excellent served by Crislaine - a sharp and friendly sommelier who also was managing the service. Behind the counter were the chef and partner. After being asked for any specific requests or dislikes, the chef concocted a series of barbecued...plates that flowed smoothly through the evening. Every dish was a delight, cooked to perfection.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 22, 2019

Have eaten here twice now, and I really cannot express how incredible this place is. I've grown up in and around kitchens, and what the Rigmarole does is so fantastic because it's not overdone, it's just done perfectly: the seasoning, the presentation, the mix of...flavors. The food doesn't have to hide behind excessive sauces, seasonings etc. Brochettes of chicken seem simple, but when there's professionals of this caliber it becomes the most succulent, crispy and juicy at the same time little bit of chicken that you've ever eaten. There's definately some fusion between Japan , France and a surprisingly excellent bit of Italian (never seen puntarelle in Paris THANK YOU for that!) In terms of value, go have a look at the prices for 5 or 6 course tasting menus around Paris and it becomes clear that having 13-15 small plates at Rigmarole, prepared to perfection is the best deal around, in terms of absolute quality and bang for your buck. Thanks to the whole team (3 people!) who keep the restaurant moving so fantastically.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Bastille / Oberkampf
Bastille and Oberkampf are lively parts of town made
for entertainment. During the day rows of unassuming
bars welcome customers for a bite or a drink, but it’s
at night this area really comes to life. Students and
young professionals fill the busy bars around Bastille
and Oberkampf. At Place de la Bastille, crowds flock
to the Opéra Bastille in the evening and groups wait
for coveted tickets during the day. Towards
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Verlain
323 reviews
.64 km away
Le Relais du Marais
320 reviews
.62 km away
Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique
242 reviews
.64 km away
La Chambre du Marais
486 reviews
.62 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Boulangerie Utopie
240 reviews
.04 km away
Chez Imogene
488 reviews
.05 km away
Kushikatsu Bon
159 reviews
.06 km away
Ober Mamma
1,739 reviews
.12 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Le Bataclan
83 reviews
.24 km away
Les Berthom Paris 11eme
17 reviews
.05 km away
La Chocofiserie
5 reviews
.06 km away
Fat Cat Tours
39 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
N7615BZericw
June 21, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from EatFreak1972 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, it is and food is awesome!
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing