We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

#408 of 6,969 French in Paris
#574 of 15,371 Restaurants in Paris
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, French, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Young chef Grégory Marchand earned his stripes at several great restaurants in the UK and US, before setting up shop in the Sentier neighbourhood. His ...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
One MICHELIN Star: High quality cooking, worth a stop!
Simple restaurant
PRICE RANGE
US$82 - US$146
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
CUISINES
French
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (1,292)
Filter reviews
963 results
Traveller rating
692
146
60
26
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
692
146
60
26
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pappardelle tasting menu foie gras amuse bouche pasta wine bar chef greg rue du nil chef's table small plates dining experience michelin star by the glass small restaurant vins courses hype
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today

The reviews here are a mix of the restaurant and the wine bar, which is a separate place across the street from Frenchie Restaurant. The restaurant does a five course menu that changes. Our dinner in late September had fish, melon, and mushroom dishes. Everything...was incredible and the portions big enough to just reach capacity. Not too much, not too little. We added the wine pairing which was fine. A couple fun whites that did change flavor when paired with food. Service is as great as you’d expect. It’s a small restaurant with a cozy, romantic vibe. There was a chocolate lab puppy under a table napping most of our meal. Adorable. The neighborhood is very interesting as well. Arrive early and walk the streets before settling in for a lovely dinner.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Frenchie Rue du Nil was fantastic. We didn’t have the highest expectations, as we thought it would be a bit overrated and touristy (they’ve opened a London restaurant in Covent Garden), but the Michelin star tempted us to make a booking. After a year of...living in Paris, it was certainly a highlight - and we thought it was better than Septime, our precious favourite! It’s expensive but worth it for a special occasion. Highlights were the tuna and watermelon ceviche, Mexican guinea fowl main course (with a taco!) and the blackberry/cassis meringue dessert. Great option in Paris for vegetarians.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed July 31, 2020

This used to be my favorite wine bar in Paris but not anymore! Huge disappointment for the wines by the glass. The chardonnay is one from the Loire Valley - yes, the Loire that is known for Sauvignon Blanc (Sancerre), Melon de Bourgogne (Muscadet) and...Chenin Blanc (Montlouis, Vouvray) . A chardonnay from the Ardèche would have been must better than what they served! The small plates were delicious but could not be enjoyed with suitable wines by the glass. Grégory Marchand - you must up your game for the overall experience!More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 26, 2020 via mobile

Pretty good place for regular French food. Totally overloaded on Sunday evening so be patient. Otherwise staff was friendly.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 31, 2020 via mobile

We were lucky enough to dine here with friends on a recent trip to Paris. Everything we tasted was amazing, every staff member we encounter was friendly, definitely want to go back when next in Paris. They even were able to cater to my needs...as I don’t eat seafood so some of the dishes were modified for me to accomodate this but we’re still amazing. The wine was Devine. You just book a table a go here!More

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 13, 2020 via mobile

Very good lunch and wine selection ! This small restaurant has a small menu but very high quality food and wind list worth the 1* Michelin. The service was very professional while friendly, loved it !!

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 9, 2020

I have dined a Frenchie 3 times. I say dined because you don't just eat you experience the food. It is a must when in Paris. 2 out of th e3 times were acceptional. This last time I felt like the menu didn't meet my...expectations. Every course was salty, even dessert. After the first 2 courses I couldn't taste the food, just the salt. Maybe this menu just wasn't for me?More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 5, 2020

I had dinner with a friend on February 28 at Frenchie Bar a Vins. We each had gotten a great recommendation for Frenchie before leaving the states. They likely were referring to the main restaurant across the street. It was booked before we left the...US, but we decided we would stop by at opening time to see if we could get in. When we got to Frenchie Restaurant, the staff told us they were completely booked, but directed us across the street as an option. I hadn’t known about their bar restaurant, and was excited because many times the experience at a restaurant’s sister bar is the best experience! There already were a couple of folks in line waiting for the bar to open, so we jumped on. Frenchie Bar a Vins definitely is equal to any formal fine dining experience in my view. In fact, I likely would have been disappointed had I dined at the formal restaurant and not known about the bar first. The bar is a total package of the best dining experience: great staff; great vibe; great music; great, expertly prepared food! And with all of that, not a break the bank restaurant given the big sister restaurant has one Michelin star. Frankly, the bar could have that star also, at a minimum Bib Gourmand. After my experience at Bar a Vins, I don’t have to go to the main restaurant next time I am in Paris. The bar is definitely more my style of fabulous but casual dining, where I can sit back and enjoy without the stuffiness that sometimes invades fine dining. I’m looking forward to returning some day!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 3, 2020

Book three weeks in advance for this great small 8 table restaurant. There is no menu for this Chef's choice 6 course small plate meal with great service in fun atmosphere.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 15, 2020 via mobile

Chose this for our group of six to celebrate our daughter’s 18th birthday on 14th February 2020. The tasting menu was utterly delicious and they made a wonderful fuss of her. The staff were really dood, especially the manager and the sommelier. A wonderful evening...none of us will forget in a hurry. Thank youMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Victory Hotel Galou
101 reviews
.62 km away
Hotel Crayon By Elegancia
756 reviews
.62 km away
Best Western Hotel Ronceray Opera
1,080 reviews
.62 km away
Hotel Vivienne
640 reviews
.60 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
FOODI Jia-Ba-Buay
338 reviews
.05 km away
Hoppy Corner
77 reviews
.03 km away
FTG
475 reviews
.01 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Theatre Comedie Montorguei
102 reviews
.15 km away
Place du Caire
14 reviews
.08 km away
Passage du Caire
17 reviews
.08 km away
Tintin et le Capitaine Haddock.
5 reviews
.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Tiffanyyy
July 22, 2020|
Answer
Response from Sonya B | Reviewed this property |
I just visited the website and they do not appear to be open for seating during the pandemic. Frenchie and the bar appear to be only take out and delivery Tuesday through Saturday during this time. It appears you can order... More
1
Vote
Hwmorriso
May 15, 2019|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Mohab A | Reviewed this property |
I honestly don't know
0
Votes
Illuminata2014
May 10, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from luvroma2 | Reviewed this property |
Frenchie is VERY small and you will be sitting inches away from your "dining companions". They do not have a children's menu so unless your children will eat things such a pork belly and smoked fish, they will not be very... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing