We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat., 09-26
20:00

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
58
24
12
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
58
24
12
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones cake rye bread chicken liver parfait sandwich birthday treat pleasant afternoon christmas afternoon tea clear glass leftovers home ear shot an amuse bouche friends birthday lovely venue regency tearoom baubles
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for afternoon tea for my birthday. Lovely setting and the food was nice. This is the 3rd time we have been and it is always lovely.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As a group of six we arrived to find a Covid secure venue and were housed in the beautiful, bright Garden Room. There’s a good variety of tea on the Afternoon Tea menu, the red bush and Earl Grey were both excellent. The finger sandwiches...are a nice selection - though not necessarily the ones listed online. The smoked salmon comes in a neat pastry tart. The scones were warmed, and served with clotted cream and a selection of preserves. We were brought extra ham and cream when we were running short. Cakes and desserts on the top tier were fresh and enjoyable although a couple were short on flavour. Thanks to the staff too, they were very attentive and keen to help.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Bought an afternoon tea for two for my mother in law for Christmas. The voucher is valid until November this year. As she has a heart condition and is very worried about visiting anywhere I contacted the restaurant to explain and see if, like all...other places I know, they are extending their vouchers by the length of time they have been closed as I was concerned she was not going to be well enough in time and was unable to use her voucher when she was well. I was told the only vouchers that are being extended are those that expired during lockdown. I explained once again and asked if they could escalate it to the manager who simply said she can have a take away afternoon tea. I explained it was booked so she could experience the full afternoon tea in a lovely room and was told they are only extending vouchers that expire up to September (contradicting what they said before). I explained again why and they still simply do not care. The manager even replied let me know the date you want to come and I will book you in, clearly ignoring the fact that I wrote and said she had a heart condition and could not come. I only get a reply when I’ve chased them too, that’s locally and the Head Office. It’s the first time I’ve bought a Laura Ashley voucher and will be my last. I bought it believing there would be great service there. If dealing with them on this is anything to go by the service will be very lackingMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 18, 2020

Met with 2 friends to enjoy an afternoon tea, we sat in the garden room & had a great afternoon! The service was fantastic, the staff member kept checking in with us to ensure all was ok, asking if we needed anything else. The afternoon...tea itself was delicious & the small chit chat from the staff member was nice, overall great afternoon. The mans name was Claudio Murgia ( on receipt ) please give him a pat on the back! He made us all smile!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 18, 2020

First time we tried afternoon tea outside London top hotels& restaurants, and I must say it actually beats hands-down many of those, in terms of food quality and the fact that the tea is from leaves (you would be surprised some 5-stars hotels do have...teabags for afternoon tea) We were a family of 4, it was a bit of an eerie atmosphere with the social distancing so you had one table sat and one empty, but we thoroughly enjoyed, great selection of jams for the scones, with free replenishment of the jams or scones, and we liked so much of the teas that we bought a box to drink at home. And the cherry on the cake was than due to Eat Out To Help Out scheme, we paid only half of the price, must be the best value afternoon tea in England for this price!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 10, 2020 via mobile

Enjoyed a gorgeous afternoon of tea and treats today. A lovely, relaxing time in the tea room. Excellent service and food! Would highly recommend. ????

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 6, 2020

Had afternoon tea with 2 other guests.enjoyed the experience and had delicious and extremely filling food. One guest had a gluten free tea and commented how lovely it was.Staff friendly and attentive especially with the refillable hot drinks. My first visit but I will definitely...visit the tea rooms again.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed July 30, 2020 via mobile

We visited the Laura Ashlet Tea Room in Solihull for our anniversary this week. They were able to fit us in at very short notice, which I was impressed with, albeit not in the actual tea room itself but the garden room. Although not as...nice as the tea room, the garden room was still beautiful with Laura Ashley decor. It looked out onto the courtyard which was peaceful. The staff were ever so friendly and attentive, and when they discovered it was our anniversary they brought us a special treat with a congratulatory message which was nice. The afternoon tea itself was lovely. The food was tasty, and well presented. The scones were light and fluffy and evenly baked. The mini cakes were sadly a bit of a disappointment as I didn't think they had much flavour or a good texture, but being a baker myself I am a perfectionist when it comes to cakes! All in all we had a lovely time together and I would recommend it and would go back again. (Although next time I will make sure I definitely book ahead to secure a place in the beautiful tea room itself!).More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 14, 2020 via mobile

Lovely little venue, very cosy and friendly atmosphere. The staff were super friendly and added to the authentic tea room vibe. Would definitely recommend, especially if buying as a gift!

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 22, 2020

Our son had booked us an afternoon tea for 4 on Mothers Day. Unfortunately all places have been closed due to coronavirus. However, my daughter in law was contacted and the 'tea' was packed into boxes which we collected Very nicely done and we were...given instructions on how to store cream, cakes and sandwiches. What was lacking was the tea and I was a little disappointed that no tea leaves or coffee had been included.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Haigs Hotel
227 reviews
10.65 km away
Opal 1
1 review
10.46 km away
Rowton Hotel
460 reviews
10.32 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
2,907 reviews
9.66 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bangla Lounge
262 reviews
1.51 km away
Miller & Carter Steakhouse
1,967 reviews
1.27 km away
The Finest Catch
737 reviews
.19 km away
Cranmore Fish Bar
42 reviews
.72 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Shirley Park
95 reviews
2.32 km away
The Core Theatre Solihull
219 reviews
2.99 km away
Four Ashes Golf Centre
96 reviews
3.18 km away
Shirley Golf Club
21 reviews
1.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sjcooper101
October 22, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from mick l | Reviewed this property |
the vouchers last for 12 months.
0
Votes
525katew
October 14, 2018|
Answer
Response from daisyhall | Reviewed this property |
Im not sure perhaps you can email them direct I would imagine you can order vouchers for this place. Don't see why not.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing