We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Bookatable

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
About
The Peli, as it's fondly referred to by locals, is set in the centre of Chew Magna in the beautiful Somerset countryside. This well loved pub boasts a top notch food offering which will keep you enticed through every course. With a fabulous wine list and even better selection of Butcombe beers on the bar, there's something to tickle even the most refined taste buds. Come rain or shine, you can choose from cosy log fires or our stunning sun trap to while away your hours with friends and loved ones. The Barn - As well as hosting our own regular events in our function room, our private space is available for meetings, parties, baby showers, intimate wedding receptions and more. Contact us to check
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
120
77
31
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
120
77
31
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger tartare potatoes lamb sunday roast yorkshire pudding fish chips ice cream the pub pelican inn enjoyable meal pleasant atmosphere selection of beers enjoyed our food nice food saturday night pelicans
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Lovely food, very obliging about checking vegan ingredients. Nice atmosphere and lovely staff. Good covid precautions in place. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
E1294FSbethanys, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you had a lovely experience with us and we are please you felt our Covid precautions are good and safe our goal is to keep our customers safe. We look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We had an excellent lunch and were very impressed by the virus protection evident throughout. We felt very safe. The food was delicious and the staff, especially Tyler, were faultless. Many thanks to them for a wonderful lunch.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
E1294FSbethanys, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for your review, we are so please you had an excellent lunch with us. I’m so glad you felt safe when visiting us as that’s our number 1 goal. I will pass on the comments to the team and Tyler. Many...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

This was a family Sunday lunch. We were given Table 1 in the corner with pews for seats. We thought ideal away from passing customers. No it backs on to the door from the kitchen. When staff came out of the kitchen they flung the...door open banging against the back of the pew. One waitress managed it 4 time’s apologising but then doing it the next time. We asked to be moved. The problem could be avoided with minor changes with a stop or a slight shortening of the pew. Over an hours wait for food with no explanation. These are difficult times but this was not good enough.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
E1294FSbethanys, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for your review, I am sorry you experienced this when visiting us and that this happened. I will pass your comments onto the team and the kitchen team to ensure this doesn’t happen again. We hope to see you again. All...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Served by a lovely Irish lady think her name was Sophie. All the staff went above and beyond to accommodate us resulting in a lovely evening. Ordered the wrong item, kitchen happily cooked a replacement even though the kitchen was shut. Elegant service - quaint...barn, perfect atmosphere. Service with a smile and the food was delicious. Thank you! XMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
E1294FSbethanys, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good afternoon, Thank you so much for your review we are so please you had a lovely experience with us. I have passed on your comments to our staff and especially Sophie. Thanks again. We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here on our way home back to London and had the roast beef Sunday lunch. The food was tasty and the service great. Would recommend, its a lovely village pub

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
E1294FSbethanys, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for your review we are so please you found us on your way home and we were able to accommodate you and to give you a lovely experience with us. Many thanks

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Nice pub for an evening meal. We’ve had better steaks but we enjoyed our food and drinks and the staff were friendly.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
E1294FSbethanys, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for your review we are so please you had a nice time with us, I have passed your comments on about the food and have alerted the kitchen team so they are aware. Thank you so much. We look forward to...More

Reviewed March 2, 2020

Booked the Pelican for my friend's stag do - the food was excellent and really enjoyed by all. Despite the fact we were clearly an annoying group of boys out for dinner the pub treated us brilliantly, food (ordered in advance) was served quickly and...was hot and tasty. The pub itself seemed really friendly with a good mix of people enjoying their Friday night. Finally the staff were excellent at looking after us (and also in my prior communication when booking). We would all happily come here again. PS The chocolate and salted caramel mousse is LUSH.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
bsutton13, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2020

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you and your friends had a good stag do. We are so grateful for tour review and so glad you had a lovely time visiting us. Thank you from all of us at The...More

Reviewed February 22, 2020 via mobile

Lucky to get a table on Saturday night. Tried to book online, but it was fully booked, took a chance walking by to see if they had a table, which surprisingly they did. Food was priced well, the burger was good, though would have preferred...thicker chips. Game stew was delicious, would definitely recommend this dish. We had a nice evening in out of the cold and would definitely returnMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
bsutton13, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2020

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you were able to get a table and you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed February 14, 2020 via mobile

Visited for Valentines and well decorated (without being OTT). Lady behind bar and waiter were lovely, attentive and warm. Fantastic fish & chips with great home made tartare sauce and hubby said his pudding of sticky toffee was lush too. Really good value and recent...internal changes make the restaurant more cosy which is good. Definitely recommend for a visit.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
bsutton13, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2020

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you had a lovely evening on Valentine’s when you visited us. We like to try and make things as special for our guests as possible. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

Popped in for a drink and snack as we weren’t hungry enough for a meal. Highly recommend, nice bar staff and the food was amazing with a good selection of beers.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
bsutton13, Owner at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Good afternoon, thank you so much for your review we are glad you enjoyed your snack and beverage. We look forward to seeing you again where we hope you try our new menu. Many thanks

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Wookey Hole Hotel
1,397 reviews
16.19 km away
Penscot Inn
123 reviews
14.39 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
1,632 reviews
10.56 km away
Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel
665 reviews
15.88 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Lazy Lobster
158 reviews
.02 km away
The Bear and Swan
428 reviews
.05 km away
Moondance Cafe
68 reviews
.03 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Chew Valley Animal Park
147 reviews
1.11 km away
Stanton Drew Stone Circles & Cove
100 reviews
2.44 km away
Hidden Valley Bushcraft
42 reviews
3.81 km away
Church of St Michael Tower
5 reviews
4.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Pelican staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing