We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sukhothai Chapel Allerton Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 09-27
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Read more
Updated 20-07-31 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sukhothai Chapel Allerton Restaurant
Updated 20-07-31 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

#29 of 148 Asian in Leeds
#124 of 1,152 Restaurants in Leeds
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Asian, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
About
The original Sukhothai is in Chapel Allerton suburb in North Leeds. Sukhothai are purveyors of the finest Thai cuisine and open for dinner serving authentic critically acclaimed thai cuisine every day. The only Thai to be isted in the Good Food Guide for 7 consecutive years.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Asian, Thai
FEATURES
Parking Available, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
308
115
55
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
308
115
55
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai food duck prawn crackers noodles starters and mains sunday buffet extensive menu set menu saturday night birthday meal take away lovely food headingley takeaway branch
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful restaurant with authentic Thai food - Great for a date with thwewe lighting. Friendly service too, really nice place

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
BanKaewkraikhot, Owner at Sukhothai Chapel Allerton Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Heather Myers, Thank you for your kind words! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Booked in here for my birthday and had a great time, the food was outstanding and has been every time we have eaten from here previously, service was excellent particularly as the restaurant was as full as it could be! Tables were well distanced, temperature...checks were performed during entry and all staff had face visors on too. Staff went above and beyond and upon hearing it was for my birthday they gave me some free ice cream and sang happy birthday, which was super sweet of them. Would highly recommend and can't wait to go back soon.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
BanKaewkraikhot, Owner at Sukhothai Chapel Allerton Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jack C, Thank you for the review and for choosing us to celebrate your birthday! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and we hope to see you gain soon. Kind regards

Reviewed August 19, 2020

We visited this restaurant yesterday evening. A lot of effort has obviously been taken to make it safe - temperature check on entry, staff wearing visors, perspex screens, distance between tables - but this is somewhat undermined by customers waiting in the foyer too close...together and customers entering and leaving by the same door. The food was very good but the service was very slow and our evening was spoiled by being chased down the street by a member of staff accusing us of not having paid. They did apologise but it was embarrassing.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
BanKaewkraikhot, Owner at Sukhothai Chapel Allerton Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Rosie55634, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that on this occasion your visit was not up to our usual high standards. Please email us at info@sukhothai.co.uk with more details, including the time of your visit and we will investigate it...More

Reviewed August 9, 2020

Ordered a takeaway from our local Sukothai. On collection, there were plastic screen. The staff were also wearing full face visas, which I have not seen happening anywhere before. The takeaway was great, but I wish there were more potatoes in the massaman. Very nice...that you get a free bag of prawn crackers :). If you do an order, you should DEFINITELY remember to get prawn dumplings - they are the best!!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
BanKaewkraikhot, Owner at Sukhothai Chapel Allerton Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Helpful Reviewer, Thank you for sharing your experience! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your order. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

Reviewed August 5, 2020 via mobile

Enjoyed a celebratory birthday meal. Tables were spaced out well and all the staff were wearing the correct PPE. We ordered from the set menu and all the dishes were delicious. Although not listed on the menu the team were happy to change the meat...for tofu in order to make the dishes vegan. Even brought out a birthday surprise at the end of the meal which was a lovely touch. Would definitely recommend.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
BanKaewkraikhot, Owner at Sukhothai Chapel Allerton Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Vegan Newbie, Thank you for the review and for choosing us to celebrate the birthday meal! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

Reviewed July 7, 2020 via mobile

We had dinner here on Sunday night. The restaurant has gone to great measures to ensure everyone is safe and socially distanced with unobtrusive screening, hand sanitising etc. The food was as usual of a very high standard and we all felt relaxed and safe.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
BanKaewkraikhot, Owner at Sukhothai Chapel Allerton Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2020

Hi Annie-Ding-Dong, Thank you for sharing your experience! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday night with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

Reviewed June 3, 2020

I recently bought the ready meals and they are unbelievable! Just as good as in the restaurant and conveniently frozen. I can’t wait to order more! They are perfect.

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?1  
BanKaewkraikhot, Owner at Sukhothai Chapel Allerton Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2020

Hi Abigail P, Thank you for the review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our ready meals. Kind regards

Reviewed March 14, 2020

Thought we'd try this new restaurant to us. And what a treat it was. The food was delicious, the staff were attentive and very polite, greeting us with a very welcome namaste. The food came quickly, although we did arrive early, and we noticed two...orders nearby were mistakenly delivered to the wrong tables. But, at least, it didn't happen to us. The meals were reasonably priced. We will definitely be coming back.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
BanKaewkraikhot, Owner at Sukhothai Chapel Allerton Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2020

Hi Graham E, Thank you for the review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Saturday meal with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

Reviewed March 9, 2020

Having just visited the town of Sukothai in Thailand, we could not resist trying out local restaurant with the same name. What a disappointment. During four weeks in Thailand we found the food to be, almost without exception, superb. But, as with most oriental restaurants...in England, this one was a poor imitation. Its menu lacks the variety of real Thai cuisine and the dishes lack the subtlety. And the staff certainly lack the excellent manners and true service ethic of their compatriots in Thailand.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
BanKaewkraikhot, Owner at Sukhothai Chapel Allerton Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

Hi Wildfowler3, Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry to hear that the food did not reach your expectations. We are an authentic Thai restaurant with Thai chefs that were trained in Thailand. We use authentic Thai recipes and we import ingredients straight from...More

Reviewed February 23, 2020

Almost everything about this restaurant is authentic, including the food, many of the staff, the decor and the ambience; the main exception is the location, which is Chapel Allerton, Leeds, Yorkshire, rather than Bangkok, and the temperature at 5 degrees, rather than 35 degrees! Having...eaten Thai food in several Thai cities, as well as elsewhere in S.E. Asia, I cannot distinguish the flavours, aromas and quality in this local restaurant from those experienced on my Oriental visits. I thoroughly recommend it.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
BanKaewkraikhot, Owner at Sukhothai Chapel Allerton Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2020

Hi brian_furman2003, Thank you for your kind review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our food, service and atmosphere and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Holiday Inn Express Leeds Armouries
991 reviews
4.33 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
4,977 reviews
4.17 km away
The Queens Hotel - Leeds
4,155 reviews
3.84 km away
Hilton Leeds City
2,804 reviews
4.09 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Pinche Pinche Mexican Restaurant
367 reviews
.07 km away
The Olive
123 reviews
.18 km away
House of Koko
124 reviews
.44 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Meanwood Valley Urban Farm
161 reviews
1.56 km away
Seven Arts
20 reviews
.28 km away
Potternewton Park
9 reviews
.82 km away
Yoga Kula
14 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Gayathri K
October 15, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from andi w | Reviewed this property |
There is on street parking available
1
Vote
shaistak72
September 14, 2017|
Answer
Response from BanKaewkraikhot | Property representative |
Hi, we do. To get the advise please call directly to the restaurant 011 3237 0141 . Kind Regards, Guest Relations Manager
-1
Votes
IlonaLucia
October 29, 2016|
Answer
Response from Rob10001 | Reviewed this property |
hi Ilona. you need to contact the restaurant
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing