We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

#119 of 218 Bar in Leeds
#425 of 1,152 Restaurants in Leeds

Food and ambience

At The Colton Mill Harvester in Leeds food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Leeds, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Brown Moor, Colton and Halton, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
US$5 - US$19
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Bar, British, Pub, Grill
Takeout, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Free off-street parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sundae pudding free salad salad bar was well stocked lovely meal natalie
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We attended the harvester on Saturday with some friends. We all felt the same about are experience we was rushed from start to finish. We did ask for a brake between corses but they was not messing around food was on the table as we...walked back in after having a cigarette the lady serving was very good with keeping to social distancing rules and told us how things worked for the business. The whole thing was so rushed I felt sick on leaving we had eaten that fast . After are desserts my friend asked for another drink we was told no they needed the table we hadn’t even been offered coffee or nothing. There was free tables all around us with no reserved stands on them the waitress was not the same one that had been looking after us for the meal I think she could have been front of house very rude and cold we paid are bill and left I’d not even finished my first glass of wine . We won’t be returning . We have always enjoyed are experience at the harvester as a family . After a hard week of working in a restaurant my self I was looking forwards to been on the on the other side and sitting and enjoying a meal and relaxing unfortunately was not the best place for that such a shameMore

Date of visit: September 2020
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Colton Mill Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Lauresss, We are so very sorry you felt rushed upon your visit if you could possibly email us some further details such as date/time of visit and a receipt number we will investigate this issue with the team to ensure this does not happen...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were disappointed with our visit. There didn`t seem to be much safety precautions on show. we didn` t see many, if any, of the staff with masks/visors on and the menus were dirty and sticky whereas we have recently been to the Farmhouse group...pubs where new sheet menus are given out and all the staff wore masks/visors. The meal however was at its usual standard. We dont usually comment on singular people but on this occasion we have to say that Steph was outstanding even though she was rushed off her feet. One last comment, our meal arrived before we were invited to the salad bar.More

Date of visit: September 2020
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Colton Mill Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi George, Thank you for providing your feedback following your visit. We would like to reassure you that we have a Covid Secure risk assessment in place. We sanitise all menus between each guests use which if they are not left to dry properly can...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On our way home from holiday booked ahead as no one wants to cook. Food hot and well presented. Staff friendly service quick though not busy

Date of visit: September 2020
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Colton Mill Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Tim, Thank you very much for providing your feedback following your visit. We hope to see you again if you are in the area. Regards Nick

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you to all the fantastic staff at Colton Mill for a great meal this afternoon. Delicious freshly cooked food, friendly, attentive & efficient service.

Date of visit: September 2020
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Colton Mill Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

hi thank you for leaving us such a great review, we will make sure your feedback is passed onto our team.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So first visit since they reopened after lock down was eased. Was nervous as to what to expect but we were put at ease by the staff. Yes things were done differently we had to wait to be told when we could go to the...salad bar & couldn't do our own soft drinks refills. The food was to the usual standard that we expected, the only disappointment which ended up as a positive was no custard for my treacle sponge so changed it to apple pie with ice cream the pie was delicious.More

Date of visit: August 2020
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Colton Mill Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi H7100ZLlynnb, Thank you for coming back after lock down. I am glad to hear you were put at ease by the procedures we have put in place. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your apple pie. Thank you very much for the 5-star...More

Reviewed August 12, 2020 via mobile

Everything was perfect also thanks to our waitress Catherine. Very fast and kind. Food good at an effordable price. Plus, with the Covid bonus better. Menu with a large choice of food. We had the Ribs. Salade is offered and tapas entrée are very tasty....We will be back.More

Date of visit: August 2020
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Colton Mill Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Edoardo, Thank you for your kind review. I have shared your feedback with Catherine and the kitchen team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Nick

Reviewed August 8, 2020

I was visiting my boyfriend who lives close to Leeds. We wanted to go out for dinner as a couple. He suggested Harvester. We booked it easily. (Saturday 8/8/2020) They are maintaining and doing the social distancing really well and are making sure guests stick...to it, which is very reassuring. Other places have been a bit lax, be it shops or other establishments. With Harvester they are not rude or forceful about ensuring social distancing is adhered to. I had the 'spicy crackerjack prawns' starter, it comes with green devil sauce, though its more like a chili jam then a sauce in consistency and with its hint of sweetness. Breaded prawns can be hit and miss, they can be bland or taste of cooking oil but these were the nicest i've ever had. Flavour, not dry, no oily taste. I just with there had been more sauce with them. My main was the chicken triple combo: A quarter portion of our rotisserie chicken, a southern-fried chicken breast and a Cajun chicken breast. With sage & onion seasoned chips, buttered corn and our speciality chicken gravy. It was all cooked perfectly. I didn't have corn or slaw as I don't eat either and normal chips as I can;t eat onion. It was all tasty, especially the Cajun chicken, I could have eaten plenty of that!. My boyfriend tried it and liked it so much he wishes it was also it's own separate dish on the menu as he'd definitely order it (he misses the carribean chicken). My desert was the cookie chaos sundae: With cookie dough, chocolate chip cookie, Oreo Biscuit crumb and cookie dough munchies with chocolate sauce. It was very nice, not sickly sweet. I just wish there had been ore cookie dough chunks in it as I did not get many. The staff were very nice, you could tell they were sincere to. We had a brief chat with our lovely waitress (Chloe M), we didn't want to keep her too long, she was friendly and seemed sweet. The music was a nice low non disruptive volume with none of the kinds of songs that it's an insult to call music, which seems to be almost all songs these days. The place was nice and clean through out and not too warm. The lavatories were spotless. I had been feeling a bit rubbish and fed up recently but the visit ot harvester with is pleasant atmosphere, friendly staff and good food helped me perk up Thank youMore

Date of visit: August 2020
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Colton Mill Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kylie, Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave this detailed review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your visit including the ambiance, the teams approach to social distancing and improtantly the food. I noticed...More

Reviewed July 29, 2020 via mobile

We needed dinner for our family of 5 in a hurry because we stupidly didn’t think to book. Harvester allowed us to book a table online for half an hour later (unlike anywhere else in the area). The customer service was superb from when we...arrived. Both our server, Ellie, and the manager were attentive, friendly and efficient. They took all the extra measures for Covid-19 in their stride and made the experience as normal as possible. The food was fantastic as well, and served in a timely manner. My very fussy daughter (8) was able to get an entire meal that she loved, which is a feat very few places have ever achieved. All five of us really enjoyed our meals and we couldn’t fault a thing. If you are looking for somewhere to eat in the Colton area, I honestly don’t think you could find much better than here. I can not recommend it more highly. Thank you.More

Date of visit: July 2020
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Colton Mill Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2020

Hi Moragd255, We are so glad you enjoyed your last minute visit! It is great we were able to even please your fussy 8 year old :) We hope that if you're in the area again we can welcome you back! Regards Nick

Reviewed July 23, 2020 via mobile

Walked in the restaurant and got totally ignored by 3 team members, finally the manager saw us and told us we would have to wait nearly an hour for a table which is understandable during the current situation with social distancing, we were finally shown...to a table that stunk of old wet cloth and there was food debris and crayons all over the floor, we ordered our food to be told there was no rotisserie chicken left, this was solved by replacing it with a chicken breast my wife also asked for no sauce on her food, when it came out the food was covered in sauce so we had to wait for a new one to be cooked. My food had items missing and looked very scratty and sparce to say it was £22!!! There was also gravy missing from my wife's meal too. The food its self was very nice and tasted very good, I just feel a bit more care should've been taken in plating up our food There was also a really rowdy group of chavs on the table near us effing and jeffing every other word throwing sauce bottles about and not one person said anything to them about the language or the noise which was very disappointing, I would like to thank our waitress, Ellie who looked absolutely worn out bless her, she was running around tending to all the tables, getting drinks, serving food, doing puddings and doing the salad cart all with a smile on her face whilst the other waitress' were nowhere to be seen, one of which had huge false nails and could barely do her job properly, its a shame because we used to frequent this harvester quite regularlyMore

Date of visit: July 2020
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Colton Mill Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Bellwash, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. I would like to apologise for the issues you face on your visit and have used your review to conduct corrective coaching with the kitchen and front of house teams. I have...More

Reviewed July 22, 2020

Visited last Saturday 18th July. I want to comment that our server Chloe was an absolute professional. During these difficult times she made sure we were safe, aware of the guidelines and made the entire evening a pleasurable one. The food was excellent rather slow...but given the processes in place to ensure Covid safe, I totally understand. Chloe checked on us, she explained the process for waiting on tables and made sure that we felt at ease and had an enjoyable experience. She is an absolute credit to the company.More

Date of visit: July 2020
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Colton Mill Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback, I will pass the comments onto Chloe. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
1,327 reviews
8.11 km away
Crowne Plaza Leeds
2,133 reviews
8.30 km away
Premier Inn Leeds City Centre (Wellington Street) Hotel
1,533 reviews
8.58 km away
The Met Hotel Leeds
1,913 reviews
7.81 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Skyliner Fish & Chip Restaurant
538 reviews
.92 km away
Franco's Thorpe Park
569 reviews
.88 km away
155 reviews
1.45 km away
Gino D'Acampo The Springs
375 reviews
.97 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Quirky Ales
35 reviews
3.80 km away
RSPB St Aidan's nature park
174 reviews
3.94 km away
Pulfer Holistic Therapies
14 reviews
3.95 km away
Garforth Garden Centre
62 reviews
4.51 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
February 1, 2020|
Response from Stuart F | Reviewed this property |
not sure. Sorry.
March 23, 2019|
Response from mrsh070914 | Reviewed this property |
Just book what ever time is preferable for you. They should have enough staff to accommodate your party
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing