We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#69 of 218 Bar in Leeds
#296 of 1,152 Restaurants in Leeds
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$13 - US$32
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
28
5
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
28
5
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews truffle chips tempura sardines parfait chocolate cake lamb sunday roast salad fine dining food was served quickly presented beautifully cooked to perfection wonderful evening lunch menu last night maddie sides
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Nothing was wrong, but then it was hard to find what was right. The ingredients were clearly good, however, each meal missed the mark and considering the price we expected more. The decor is lovely, and it should be a special night out. However, we...left feeling it was ‘nice’, nothing more. Of note is the pet hate of a 10% service charge. I hate to leave anything less than a great review considering the difficulties of the times and hope this very attractive venue rectifies these issues soon.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Just had an amazing meal. The food was amazing, service excellent (thank you Cameron) the atmosphere great me the kids loved their food as well. This place has got so Much better since Matt Healey has left

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

WOW WOW what a place. This was my gift from my work pals as a leaving gift from Spire hospital. They know I love my food and love to cook. What can I say about this place 5 mins away from me. So sorry I’ve...not been sooner. From start to finish absolutely fantastic service. For starters we had the scallops cooked to perfection with freeze-dried chorizo left you wanting more. My main was halibut with new potatoes and mussels. Sounds boring on the menu but OMG off the scale, Hubby had the fillet steak. Was cooked to perfection.. but this is where i get a pain in the ass, as my hubby says lol. Steak to me a tad tasteless get it hung 28 days and you’ve smashed it. The only thing I could say to improve my experience is the plates need to be hotter as food was just warm. I will be returning and guys if you like a good cooked meal. If you know me then you know this is a good place to eat. I defo will be returning and with a crowd when we can. Well done guys. Hopefully see you soon and thank you for a great evening xMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Rebecca_tobin, Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Good afternoon Madame, Firstly i would like to thank you for joining us, it was our pleasure. I am pleased to hear you will be joining us again and will pass on your feedback to the kitchen and rest of our team. They will be...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This pub has been a great place in the past, now taken over again and a change of style, now offering a English menu with a fine dining twist with the main a' la cartel menu. Lunch over great value set menu and lovely sandwiches....We had the Reuben salt beef and a skirt steak focaccia both served with salad and hand made fries (fries a bit thin for me) but really very tasty and substantial.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Rebecca_tobin, Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Good afternoon, Thankyou for joining us and i am pleased to hear you enjoyed your afternoon here at The Beehive. The Reuben sandwich and skirt steak focaccia are two of our best selling sandwiches so it am delighted you enjoyed them. Thank you again for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

26.8.20 lovely evening at @beehivethorner - had 3 course- starter-fillet beef, main pork and dessert strawberry and cream . Thanks to discount too! Lovely staff esp Curtis! Thank you! Lovely deco and have hand sanitizer arrival . Plenty car park at the back . Be...aware that when arrival, waiter may ask if you want water as I assume tap but realise pay for water but proper water / they should inform us beforehand that if I want chargeable water #filletbeef #pork#apple#potates#harrogatewater #coke#eatouttohelpout #dinewithzara #strawberry#pannacotta #sorbert #leedsrestaurantsMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Rebecca_tobin, Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Good Afternoon Madame, Firstly I would like to say i am delighted you enjoyed your experience with us here at The Beehive. I will pass your comments onto the staff as I am sure they would appreciate your positive feedback! I do apologise about the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

rarely do I stay in for sunday lunch so i am somewhat surprised ive never had this little gem recommended before. I had beef & chicken and they were both cooked to perfection and the oodles of potatoes & veg did not all get eaten...there were so many. The Beehive is a great venue decorated well throughout & clearly nurtured by the owners . we will be backMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Rebecca_tobin, Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for your positive feedback, it is greatly appreciated by everyone here at The Beehive. Our Sunday roast is very popular so I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were impressed by the attentive waiting team, the great cocktails and how seriously they took the safety measures for COVID19. Unfortunately, the food wasn’t worth the price especially for such a small menu. I would have expected to have the wow factor to match...everything else based on the overall cost.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Rebecca_tobin, Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Good Afternoon Madame, I’m sorry to hear that on this occasion we failed to match your expectations. At this time we only had a small team in the kitchen and had to work around this. We now have much larger team and a menu to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came with a friend for dinner on the first Saturday night after they had reopened post covid. It was the first time I’d eaten there, my friend had previously and loved it so had recommended that we go there for food. As we were...going out afterwards, we opted for small pares and sides. I had the skirt steak, truffle chips and the tempura cauliflower and broccoli. It was delicious, could not fault anything. Highly recommend the tempura cauliflower and broccoli it was amazing and really big portions too. I also wanted to add that I have allergies, I made them aware of this and Jess who is one of the managers, came over went through the menu, explained what my options were and showed me the contamination list. It’s very rare that restaurants go to that level of care, I wish all did as for someone with allergies, eating out can sometimes be quite daunting. I was very impressed and am looking forward to returning.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Rebecca_tobin, Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Good Afternoon Lisa, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience here with us at The Beehive. Thank you for your positive feedback, it is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Becca & The Beehive Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were looking forward to coming for a meal here because from the outside it looked very high-end and the menu prices meant we were expecting very delicious food and professional service. When we visited early in the evening the staff were still prepping tables...and chairs and a member of staff saw us and loudly said to the rest of the team "oh god, customers are here" then abruptly and hastily took us to a table, which is not the warm welcome we expected. We were the only diners at this point but the staff behaved as if no customers were there and were dancing about and acting quite childish. Obviously it's lovely if staff have good rapport with each other but it wasn't professional in view of customers. Also the staff were running about seemingly very unprepared, talking loudly amongst themselves near our table and it all appeared very disorderly with too many staff on, which you don't expect at the beginning of service when everything is supposed to be at its most calm. There appeared to be no strong managerial presence from the staff behaviour. The food was presented well and did taste good for the most part, although some of the dishes on offer weren't as adventurous as they should have been considering how expensive it is. The Beehive charge high end prices due to the location but the taste itself was lacking. Also there was only one Ale on when we were there, which for a pub is disappointing. The lady who took our drink order was very attentive and friendly and when taking payment made friendly small chat. To sum up, the interior and exterior is attractive but we found the food over priced for what it is and the majority of unprofessional staff made it an unpleasant visit.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Rebecca_tobin, Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Good Afternoon Sarah, I sincerely apologise about your experience with us at The Beehive. I would like to here more about what happened on your particular visit and get to the bottom of this. If you would please email my General Manager Jessica so she...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The start; the welcome wasn't the best. Have you got a booking; Good evening would have been a better start! the walk to the table needs to be accompanied with some chitchat makes the guest relaxed. the main; Great personality from the new waitress; nice...bottle of over chilled Rioja; and food that was a step up from what was expected. In fact the food was very good. The dessert; We didn't have room so will need to go back.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Rebecca_tobin, Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Good Afternoon, Firstly i would like to apologise about your greeting, that is not usually how we do things here at The Beehive and i can assure you it won’t happen again. Aside from this, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the rest...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Crowne Plaza Leeds
2,133 reviews
10.61 km away
Hilton Leeds City
2,804 reviews
10.27 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
4,977 reviews
10.42 km away
Ascot Grange Hotel
553 reviews
10.54 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Milk Churn
57 reviews
1.73 km away
Fox and Grapes
39 reviews
2.53 km away
The Red Lion at Shadwell
107 reviews
3.56 km away
The Inn at Scarcroft
236 reviews
2.16 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bramham Park
33 reviews
5.93 km away
Bramham International Horse Trials
10 reviews
3.72 km away
Leeds Festival
80 reviews
3.36 km away
Tropical World
2,297 reviews
5.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
DLMinskip
March 10, 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from manybeers85 | Property representative |
Hi Nomad, I wanted a fresh start as I acquired as to give it the best chance of succeeding, below is the actual situation. I will not deny that there were problems, but I hoping to do my best to take it forward. I hope to... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing